Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,283개의 평가
597개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC
2018년 11월 5일

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

HH
2021년 1월 24일

Very interesting and fun course\n\nDr. Zelikow really captivates the attention of the students and brilliantly explains complex situations to the layman audience.\n\nLook forward to Part II !\n\n:)

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 587개 리뷰 중 526~550

교육 기관: Ethan L

2020년 11월 29일

I found this course to be well presented, interesting, and I learnt a lot thanks. In the presentation where you wrote things yourself, I couldn't read what you wrote, it would be better if it were typed. (I am only in Yr7 doing homeschool and I did your course as part of my History).

교육 기관: Matias B

2017년 10월 17일

Really interesting. I would like some recommended lectures (chapters or text or whole books) per week. Also the last weeks, the professor make extended use of handwriting when some slides would did the same but the plus of some additional notes in the fly are welcome.

교육 기관: Scott M

2020년 6월 12일

Presentation and content are excellent. The only thing I dislike is that some of the videos are excessively long (30+ minutes). Coursera recommends no longer than about 10 minutes per video. It's hard to pay close attention for such long periods in an online course.

교육 기관: Bonnie L

2019년 7월 28일

I thought the instructor was excellent. He engaged with the viewer in the video and was not dry and boring. He really kept my attention and framed information well. Some prompting questions once a week for discussion in the work forum might be nice.

교육 기관: Umair N

2017년 1월 15일

This was great. For em, a person who's just in need of learning new things, this is great. Besides, there's no limit of certifications that you can have. But, I still don't think these videos cover everything covered in a professional university.

교육 기관: Nora B R

2016년 9월 11일

Someone who doesn't know history is destined to repeat it. I'm not a fan of history, so why take this class? Because I believe in the first statement and wanted an overview of how we got to where we are. This is a great course for that.

교육 기관: Derek W

2017년 7월 16일

Excellent overview of the period. Engaging professor who alternates well between zooming in and keeping the big picture. The course could do with some readings or notes separate from lecture transcripts to cement a few topics.

교육 기관: Jack J

2017년 8월 23일

Very interesting, and probably useful too, as a student starting UK A-Levels next year. I thought it was slightly Eurocentric, but unlike many others taking the course, I was quite happy with it being rather self-contained.

교육 기관: Clifford L B

2016년 9월 22일

Interesting course, well presented with just the right amount of charts and graphics, a talk and chalk approach. Some of the diagrams could have been higher resolution to enable better understanding on a first run through

교육 기관: Nadezda T

2015년 9월 17일

I think the course is interesting, but very general.

The lecturer is very good and all presentations are clear.

There is a lack of references and links to self-study.

교육 기관: Rhea L

2017년 11월 14일

Very broad history, good for people who want to cover a lot of basic history. The professor is easy to listen to and gives great examples for better understanding!

교육 기관: Liju G

2015년 11월 26일

I liked the approach of the topic and the narration style. The focus on finding reasons behind historical moments is a good feature of this course.

교육 기관: Mary S

2016년 2월 9일

Very engaging professor, easily understood. The obvious editing was very distracting and made one wonder what was being deleted.

교육 기관: Ricardo C

2019년 6월 27일

Course presentations are very, very interesting. However, quizzes only very poorly assess the knowledge of the participants.

교육 기관: Ms.Supriya A K

2020년 8월 27일

Very glad to have found this course. Thank you Coursera and to the guide Mr. Philip Sir for taking us through this journey.

교육 기관: James D

2018년 12월 2일

Zelikow is great at explaining things. Would love if the slides were downloadable and had a bit more content in them.

교육 기관: Alessandro B

2020년 6월 18일

Very interesting course, Philip was a fantastic guide through this period of history that built our odern world

교육 기관: Dylan L

2015년 10월 15일

This course was great because history has always fascinated me and this helped fuel my love of history.

교육 기관: Melissa R D

2020년 10월 11일

A veces la dinámica del curso fue muy monótona. Del resto estuvo excelente, corto y comprensible.

교육 기관: Vivek

2020년 7월 31일

the colonisation of Indian subcontinent and its economic degradation was not properly reflected

교육 기관: ANDRES A G L

2020년 9월 13일

Increible. El facilitador hace la narrativa muy interesante y entretenida. 100% recomendado

교육 기관: Laura B

2016년 7월 7일

The course was very interesting and the professor explained really well in simple ways.

교육 기관: Vikash R P

2015년 10월 9일

Excellent Oration packed with wonderful analysis. History has never been so much fun.

교육 기관: Gonzalo G

2020년 3월 28일

Is a very good course. It will be better if multimedia tools are included as well.