Chevron Left
Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
272개의 평가
95개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 5, 2020, and will conclude on November 16, 2020. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 5 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

최상위 리뷰

WC

Mar 21, 2017

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

MF

Dec 30, 2016

Enriching, wide reaching in scope. The Prof. Al Filreis lets ideas, not necessarily his own, in for debate and comment. The TAs are simply brilliant both in form and content. Bravo!

필터링 기준:

Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)의 92개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Wes F

Nov 15, 2019

ModPo is a brilliantly-designed course with a deep bag of resources and a welcoming community of instructors and students. It makes modern poetry accessible without sacrificing the rigor of academic discourse. ModPo not only delivers high-level analyses of complex poetry to its students, it makes the tools for that kind of analysis available to them, too. Many of my fellow students in this course were returning students who re-take this class every year! And who wouldn’t want to spend 10 weeks re-encountering dozens of attractive, engaging poems that demand your consideration? This course is a real experience.

교육 기관: Pearl K P

Dec 11, 2019

ModPo is/was a wonderful course that I plan to complete. Unfortunately, my mother’s health rapidly deteriorated and she passed away as the course was in the final weeks

Al Fieres and faculty are excellent and coursework is without parallel - in fact superior to coursework taken in a traditional university setting

Cannot speak highly enough about ModPo in all aspects : coursework, faculty, feedback, interaction with other learners ..... A fast paced and profoundly intensely personal experience . In my opinion ModPo sets a gold standard for all that online learning can be!

Sincerely

Dr Pearl Ketover Prilik

교육 기관: Oindrilla M S

Jun 27, 2020

ModPo imparts a vision both wide and deep. It has unfurled before me an inexhaustible and a quintessential world of the human imagination, of surprises and subtleties. The teaching method of ModPo, so pragmatic and dynamic that it transforms the participant completely, in terms of re-imagining the world of literature and the fine arts. So privileged to be a part of this marvelous program. I am indebted to Prof. Al Filreis and his entire team of the TA's. ModPo has become my second home and I shall keep coming back as often as I can. Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Charles G

Dec 14, 2016

This has been the most educational and well-run course possible. I've played with MOOC's before, but no-one could possibly run a better course than Al Filreis, with his remarkable knowledge, academic bent, passion for the material and passion for teaching and his students. He is remarkable and the energy is palpable and contagious.

Coursera is a 5-Star platform. My hats off to them. I've never seen such a good course platform, and I can't imagine any better. Truly modular, mobile and bug-free.

5 Stars all the way!!

교육 기관: Jessica B

Sep 14, 2016

This is the 5th year that I have been involved in ModPo. Why do I keep coming back? Because the discussions, the poetry, and the class participation are so refreshing that I learn something new everytime. It is like getting together with old friends. If you have never been involved in a poetry class or you know nothing about modern poetry, this class is for you. If you are a veteran to Modern poetry, this class is for you. ModPo is one big family, and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone interested in modern poetry.

교육 기관: William L W

Nov 20, 2016

In this course, I see the future of education. It is light years ahead of any other course I've taken on Cousera or EdX, as the instructor has developed a web pedagogy that gives the course the feel of seminar -based instruction at a top-tier brick and mortar institution of higher education. In this course, students become members of a lively learning community that is always on.

(Please attribute any typos herein to the fact that I'm typing on a smartphone while riding in a subway car.)

교육 기관: Susan E

Nov 22, 2016

This course was an eye opener for me. As a person more immediately drawn to quantitative disciplines, i had always felt sort of guilty about poetry. This course ends that sort of thinking! There is a lot of work if one wishes to complete all the assignments, but then, one need not, actually. Although the course is active only briefly, the materials are available all year. It's so great to know that I can visit all year long. Many thanks to Al, the team and the many participants.

교육 기관: Alan W

Nov 23, 2016

ModPo should be the standard that all moocs follow. It has the feel of a real college experience with its live interactivity between the instructor, TAs, mentors and community TAs-- not to mention fellow students!

More than that ModPo is a gathering of poetry lovers from around the world in a thoughtful discussion and close reading of poems that is mind expanding in so many ways.

I'm so happy to be a small part of this community, and I strongly recommend it!

교육 기관: Alejandro B B

Nov 01, 2017

Es el mejor curso en que he participado. El trabajo constante de Al y su equipo, la interacción constante, a través de los foros, los hangouts, las asesorías semanales, es impresionante y demuestra la pasión y empeño que ponen en este curso. A tener en cuenta que el curso es bastante exigente y demanda mucha dedicación, muchas horas semanales para poder seguir el ritmo, más vale la pena el esfuerzo, se aprende muchísimo, genial, the best mood course.

교육 기관: Wolfgang B

Nov 22, 2016

Having very little to do with poetry since my schoolyears, I enjoyed this seminar-like MOOC, where Al and his enthusiastic assistents in their peer-like joint close reading sessions inspired me to open up to new poetry and try to close read myself poems and collaborate on the interpretation. This concept may inspire millions of "potential" readers to give poetry a significant place in our cultural and spiritual life. Thanks and reach out to the world.

교육 기관: Vanessa A

Nov 22, 2016

No matter your level of interest in or knowledge of poetry this is the most worthwhile class I have taken. ModPo is more than poetry, it's the distillation of our very essence. Learning how to close read instills valuable critical thinking skills. ModPo gives us a way to take a deeper look at poetry, ourselves and our community. I am looking forward to taking the course again. Thank you for all your hard work with bringing ModPo to us all.

교육 기관: Gudrun G

Nov 22, 2016

Al Filreis is wonderfully enthusiastic and has created a unique community of people that love poetry and/or want to know and understand more about the magics and powers of language. It was a special experience to follow what is happening in the course, even though I only read and listened to a small part of what was happening. Now I feel that I am accepted as a part of the ModPo Community for days and semesters to come. Thank you!

교육 기관: Mary C

Nov 22, 2016

ModPo is the most vibrant MOOC that I have discovered in several years of online learning. This is due to the ongoing passionate, hands on participation of Prof Al Fireis and his team. In my experience, many repeat MOOCS can have a stale, dead atmosphere. Not so here. Always refreshed.

If you have any interest in poetry, new or experienced, you will not be disappointed.

교육 기관: Jennifer H

Apr 15, 2020

First, I would like to thank you for allowing the public, during this time of crisis, the ability to further our education! Next, I have enjoyed this course immensely! It's right up my alley, so to speak. as an Author!!

Lastly, I would welcome learning anything from this Teacher as he has successfully kept his audience captivated!!

Thank you! Truly!!

Jenn

교육 기관: Barry T

Jun 04, 2020

I have just enjoyed the course so much, the format and the content. it's a great way to learn and essential to the idea of pedagogy, so eloquently highlighted by Al and the TA's in the final 'workshop' on the Traci Morris poem. It has informed my own poetry and will continue to do so. Many thank to everyone involved in the course. all the best. Barry

교육 기관: Carol G

Feb 03, 2019

Quite simply, the best MOOC out there, and I've completed many, many courses. Al Filreis and his TAs are exceptional teachers and learners. Mentors work their socks off to create a real global community of learners. The discussion forums are used with generosity and enthusiasm by teachers, learners and mentors.

Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Edwin E R G

Feb 14, 2018

Beautiful course, I'm just going trough week 1 and it's amazing feel so engaged, with the content and the videos, I really appreciate the words and toughs of Al Filreis, and all the Team that is working with him, thank you so much to everybody, I'm not a native English speaker, but here I'm loving this course.

Thank you,

Esteban

교육 기관: Alison B

Nov 22, 2016

ModPo is genuinely one of a kind. This is the only MOOC I know that people continue to return to year after year, despite the content of the course remaining the same (for the most part). The reason for this is the community and level of interaction in the fora-- it is incredible. There is no MOOC like ModPo, far as I know--

교육 기관: Augoustinos K

Nov 23, 2016

If you want to live a five star, modern and comprehensive “tale”, ModPo course by Penn University is a perfect way to travel through the pages of American Poetry written by famous poetical names and still alive under the care of Pr. Al reaches to your PC in a fresh and renewed option. “Goal is the right goal”.

교육 기관: Brian E

Nov 13, 2016

This is an incredible course. It is online, but feels very personal. Dr. Filreis, though he may reject the term, is a genius. He and his staff have created a thought-provoking poetry community. I would recommend this for beginners, for published poets, for poetry teachers and for everyone in between.

교육 기관: Zakia S

Nov 16, 2017

I find this course very extensive. I recommend every one to get enrolled in here. I had started other online courses and regretted that i should have completed those first and then embarked on this one. Now that when the course has gone to its 10 week will i be able to earn a certificate for this one.

교육 기관: María d C S A

Jan 26, 2017

This is an extraordinary opportunity to engage with a community of poetry lovers from all over the world. Al Filreis and his team share with the participants in-depth analysis of poems, from Whitman and Dickinson to the wild contemporary experimental authors of our time. You'll never feel alone!

교육 기관: Hariharasudhan

Dec 02, 2016

Very well thought. Amazing selection and gives a complete coverage of the subject matter. Amazing amazing TAs and others who accompany Al. A great way to learn American Poetry. The best that's out there. And them giving a completion certificate from UPenn for free is really kind of them.

교육 기관: Ronald B

Nov 22, 2016

My third year immersed in ModPo experience, and it has been transformative for my poetry and my life. I love the videos, enthusiasm and poetic knowledge of Al (even when I disagree), and the TAs amaze me with their inquisitiveness, poetic understanding, and basic decent humanity.

교육 기관: Ann H

Mar 12, 2019

An incredibly dynamic, exciting and informative course that invites active participation. It also allows for students to take their time and return to assignments and videos throughout the year. An invaluable and multi-faceted resource for teachers and poets and readers alike.