Chevron Left
Molecular Evolution (Bioinformatics IV)(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Molecular Evolution (Bioinformatics IV) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
55개의 평가
16개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In the previous course in the Specialization, we learned how to compare genes, proteins, and genomes. One way we can use these methods is in order to construct a "Tree of Life" showing how a large collection of related organisms have evolved over time. In the first half of the course, we will discuss approaches for evolutionary tree construction that have been the subject of some of the most cited scientific papers of all time, and show how they can resolve quandaries from finding the origin of a deadly virus to locating the birthplace of modern humans. In the second half of the course, we will shift gears and examine the old claim that birds evolved from dinosaurs. How can we prove this? In particular, we will examine a result that claimed that peptides harvested from a T. rex fossil closely matched peptides found in chickens. In particular, we will use methods from computational proteomics to ask how we could assess whether this result is valid or due to some form of contamination. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to reconstruct an evolutionary tree of ebolaviruses and identify the source of the recent Ebola epidemic that caused global headlines....

최상위 리뷰

DD

Oct 24, 2019

Yet another course in this series with really high quality content. If you want to learn something about bioinformatics, you're in the right place.

RG

Jul 20, 2017

Covers the most important algorithms for phylogenetic trees. Fascinating exam

필터링 기준:

Molecular Evolution (Bioinformatics IV)의 15개 리뷰 중 1~15

교육 기관: Robert G

Jul 20, 2017

Covers the most important algorithms for phylogenetic trees. Fascinating exam

교육 기관: Zack X

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

교육 기관: clearclouds

Sep 16, 2018

.

교육 기관: Dr S C

Aug 17, 2018

Fascinating material, and excellently presented!

교육 기관: Weidong X

Oct 30, 2016

good.

교육 기관: Yulan W

Oct 02, 2016

very useful!

교육 기관: Arun P

May 09, 2017

It was an excellent & informative course !

교육 기관: Daniel D

Oct 24, 2019

Yet another course in this series with really high quality content. If you want to learn something about bioinformatics, you're in the right place.

교육 기관: 龔峰榆

Oct 20, 2019

The two professors are really excellent teachers. It's a pity that I have to quit the course for some reason, so I only finish 88%. But I'll be back someday. Good luck to you all !

교육 기관: Christiane A

Nov 06, 2017

Good course material and challenging code problems!

Onde remark : the peer review was almost impossible to correct because the diagrams (trees) where of such lpoor quality that the numvers where almost completely unreadable!

교육 기관: Ari B

Dec 05, 2016

At some point several instructors lost necessary passion to keep us focused. Otherwise it was a very informed and enjoyable presentation. Historical references are extremely important.

교육 기관: Hercules P N

Aug 15, 2017

Although certain aspects of it were positive and in line with the quality of previous modules, this course had its problems. The biggest was the lack of alignment between weeks 4 and 5 (which would be better placed in Module 2) and the rest of it. It got worse due to the lack of Stepik support and material in the textbooks that would in theory accompany the course. This misalignment is also evident when we look at the quizzes and the final challenge, which hardly tackled the material of those two dreadful weeks.

교육 기관: Bryan G

Aug 15, 2016

I would have enjoyed it more if I had had enough knowledge to do the Honors quiz!

I downloaded all the videos so I could play them over without chewing up my data, but the quality is so poor you can't always make out the writing - i's and j's all look similar. It would be better if the presentation material was bigger and the facilitator images smaller - you need only see a face, not the whole upper body in the foreground.

Nevertheless, I have been enlightened !

교육 기관: ZIHAN X

May 05, 2019

The contents of last two weeks are very obscure. Without interactive text, it's very difficult to comprehend by watching short videos.

교육 기관: Chan H Y

Jul 28, 2019

The programming assignments are difficult