Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Economics of Money and Banking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
1,009개의 평가
263개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

최상위 리뷰

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM

Jun 27, 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

필터링 기준:

Economics of Money and Banking의 258개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: George G

Jun 07, 2017

Excellent!!!

교육 기관: Ariel A M G

Jul 18, 2020

good course

교육 기관: Bolian C

Jan 02, 2017

Excellent!!

교육 기관: Holger R

Sep 04, 2017

Very good.

교육 기관: lingjie p

Mar 09, 2017

wonderful!

교육 기관: Zaza G

Aug 13, 2020

Excellent

교육 기관: Javier N

Sep 09, 2017

Wonderful

교육 기관: Otar K

May 05, 2017

Sublime

교육 기관: Taras V

Jan 18, 2018

A

f

t

e

r

교육 기관: HEYRAMB T

Aug 22, 2019

Nice

교육 기관: Eray

Jan 26, 2017

good

교육 기관: Issah Q

Oct 18, 2016

goo

교육 기관: Nusrat J

Jul 22, 2020

I

교육 기관: Biagio B

Jul 16, 2017

Overall I really liked the course. Many real world examples are provided, the course covers all topics mentioned during the examples and it gives you insight in many world's banking mechanism. Negative aspects: too long, some chapter can be cut off, you need a minimum background in economics to fully enjoy the course.

교육 기관: 肖均

May 10, 2020

The content of this course is very relevant to the real-world financial system, and provide an alternative way to understand how the financial system works and how they relate to each other. This is the biggest difference from those standard books of the money and bank. Overall, it is a very good course.

교육 기관: Поморина М А

Oct 28, 2019

The course content is very interesting and provides a broad view of the history of the development of the theory of money and banking.

However, tests are not always correct. The choice of answer is often ambiguous. We need slides that briefly present the essence of the problems under consideration.

교육 기관: Maximilian S

May 27, 2020

I learned so much about an important topic and Prof. Mehrling keeps you interrested in the course throughout all lectures. I enjoyed the connection to the real world through the real world examples. Just 4 stars, because I missed some balance sheet quizes or more mathematical questions

교육 기관: Ryan K

Apr 28, 2018

Excellent Course.

Well crafted syllabus and text that builds on material and continual ties ideas together.

Stay Liquid and Survive!

Negatives:

Dated materials, article links that do not work, some of the video editing. Quizes are not really benficiall to learning

교육 기관: Julian H F

Feb 24, 2017

Very good course, teacher is great and content is very insightful.

On the less good side, students should not expect all concepts to be clarified from the beginning, so a good deal of research has to be self made.

교육 기관: umwoosung

Jan 10, 2017

I can get the useful knowledge on origin of Fed and other basic source about American finace.

So I want to deeply recommend this course to all of you. Thanks

교육 기관: soto h

Jun 30, 2020

It was awesome to know and learn economics from a different point of view from a view which I'm learning in Japan

교육 기관: Arti K

Jun 28, 2017

A very structured course and content. Interesting teaching methods made it easy to grasp.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Apr 23, 2020

Awesome instructor, great sharing of knowledge

Thank you

교육 기관: Yifei H

Jul 06, 2020

Really an interesting course. Filled with knowledge

교육 기관: Oludamilare A

Nov 22, 2018

Very Insightful and extremely intense.