Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Economics of Money and Banking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
1,222개의 평가
339개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

최상위 리뷰

BG
2017년 7월 16일

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM
2020년 6월 26일

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

필터링 기준:

Economics of Money and Banking의 334개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Bojie S

2017년 1월 7일

The content and idea provided in the course are simply amazing! The best ever I had on Coursera and I really appreciate all the research effort made by Professor Perry Mehrling. Hope many more people using Coursera could have a look at the innovative ideas explained by Professor Mehrling in money market and finance.

교육 기관: Jennifer H

2020년 1월 7일

I am very lucky to find this course as my PhD thesis is about "the Banking evolution and bank performance". I looked for relevant literature to understand the phenomenon of Banking evolution and this course is exactly what I needed. Thank you very much! I am the one holding the minority view as well.

교육 기관: Nabilah N

2017년 8월 26일

A great way to revise a course that I did during my undergraduate. Especially because I have always found financial economics boring or hard to understand but Mr. Mehrling's lectures and reading materials are great resources to make it a fascinating subject to re-learn and finally understand.

교육 기관: Tay M

2021년 1월 4일

As a student that took A levels economics, this course gave me significantly more exposure to the world economics. I might not pursue a career in economics, but I understand a little more about the world banking system compared to before. This will serve useful for me in the future for sure.

교육 기관: Sebastian S

2017년 4월 3일

Excellent course, excellent professor, extremely interestig topics, presented in an understandable manner. the only little con might be that the assignments are not appropriate (too easy). This course is a teaser and a perfect starting point for any substantial engagement in modern finance

교육 기관: Giovanni B

2020년 3월 8일

The most insightful economics class I've ever taken. After completion, I'm gonna join the Young Scholars Initiative of INET in order to further develop "my money view" and, hopefully, one day contribute to this thinking with new ideas. Thank You Professor Mehrling! And thank you Coursera.

교육 기관: Zbigniew P

2021년 4월 11일

If You want to know something about how real world works that course is a must.

Even if I don't agree on general conclusion that that system is fair and useful (I'm an Austrian guy) that course is best explanation I was able to find. For me great job and respect for Prof. Mehrling.

교육 기관: Hp F

2020년 3월 28일

Being a central banker, I liked this course a lot - it showed me many new aspects of our role, not just in the area where I am working in (which is Treasury). I also liked many of the suggested readings a lot, especially those on the history and development of monetary policy.

교육 기관: Spencer H

2020년 10월 9일

A thorough walk through the money and banking system. Accountants beware, use of T-accounts in this course are sometimes truncated and counter intuitive. Would have liked more depth on cdo, cds, rmbs, etc... Mr. Mehrling is consistent, forthright, and suitable engaging.

교육 기관: Carlos A D J

2017년 4월 23일

I indeed appreciated this course! Now I can build a general view for both money and capital markets in an evolutionary and in a global perspective. I am able to understand and talk about all the players, their funtions and perspectives in the macroeconomic environment.

교육 기관: Addison L

2018년 12월 10일

Fascinating course that has well-explained in depth information about viewing the financial and economic landscape from the "Money View" and studying the evolution of banks, hierarchy between money and credit, liquidity vs solvency, the survival constraint, and more.

교육 기관: Marek D

2017년 7월 28일

Superb course. I work for an investment bank. I couldn't find single resource to understand broad picture of financial markets until I found this course. I recommend it to everyone, not only people working in finance but everyone who wants to understand modern world.

교육 기관: Renan G M

2020년 9월 25일

Curso que fornece uma visão geral do que é realmente o dinheiro e como o sistema financeiro funciona (principalmente os bancos centrais e os dealers). Entretanto, para aqueles que pensam em se inscrever, tem que realmente gostar do assunto e estudar com paciência.

교육 기관: Herve Y

2018년 5월 19일

Thank you professor Mehring for this great course. Understanding Economics under the lens of Money is not very taught. This course gives us a starting framework analyze money impacts on Economics, based on number of years of experience and studies. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Varun C

2020년 9월 19일

It is a very informative course, dealing with the evolution of bank and the mechanism at which they worked in different phases. I would recommend people to take the course if they are interested in knowing more about finance and economics in money and banking.

교육 기관: Carlos H

2016년 12월 2일

This is one the best curses that I ever taken, it is a wonderful oportunitie to understand the money view, and how the monetary system realy works, with very preciseness and accuracy lessons, if you take this course, you are going to learn amazing knowledge.

교육 기관: Sheraz K

2019년 2월 5일

Simply the best. A well constructed course with some excellent reading material. Professor Mehrling was excellent. Thank you Professor, Columbia University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available to thousands of students all over the world.

교육 기관: Ryan C

2019년 10월 21일

Professor Mehrling is outstanding. Such a well structured and cogent explanation of the plumbing and funding markets that too many market commentators do not wholly understand. He has started me down a path of further exploring these concepts. Thank you!

교육 기관: Iulia A P

2017년 11월 3일

I'm grateful that I had the chance and inspiration to take this course online (even if only the free version of it) because it was one of the most fascinating presentation of original thinking I ever witnessed. Intellectual, convincing and inspiring.

교육 기관: Yingjie W

2020년 11월 15일

Definitely one of the best online classes I've ever taken. Thank you so much Coursera and Columbia U and Professor Mehrling. This class completely changed my view on banking and money. It's particularly important to learn in a strange time like now.

교육 기관: Richard K

2021년 2월 16일

Professor Mehrling has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the subject but rather than overwhelming his students with too much, too fast information, he doles it out in just the right amount so the students can understand and retain what is being taught.

교육 기관: John M O C

2020년 2월 15일

This is very insightful on how banks and dealers are the ones who make the world go round. It also showed me how shadow banking is actually very useful and how the history of using money has developed over time and affects how we use money today.

교육 기관: Bertrand K

2017년 3월 7일

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

교육 기관: Sam K

2018년 5월 30일

The course lectures and materials are excellent that they explain the real economic situations in clear and simple ways. They help the students to understand the complex real world of economy without difficult quantitative models.

교육 기관: Qi W

2020년 8월 28일

I enjoyed learning Prof. Mehrling's money view. During this class, I am impressed most by the importance of the lender of last resort during crisis and the impact of liquidity constraint has on both shadow banking and dealers.