Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Economics of Money and Banking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
778개의 평가
192개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

최상위 리뷰

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

필터링 기준:

Economics of Money and Banking의 188개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Vusal H

Dec 10, 2017

This course is something priceless. Best course about money and banking in internet. The tutor was great. There is not a word to discribe the perfectness of this course.

교육 기관: Udit P

Aug 15, 2017

Probably the best course I've ever taken! The money view approach is very unique in itself. Professor Mehrling's old school way of teaching is very refreshing indeed!

교육 기관: Priyam O

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

교육 기관: Gudmundur O

Jan 12, 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.

교육 기관: rohit r

Nov 02, 2016

As far as I have come, the course is depth driven having real life applications than most of the other courses I have come across and completed. Thank you.

교육 기관: James K

Feb 25, 2020

I loved the structure and the content of this course. I cannot thank Professor Perry enough for posting his lectures online for all to see and learn.

교육 기관: Chen L

Jan 21, 2017

The course teaches systematically, links up money markets and capital markets and at the end opens a new way of thinking about economics and finance.

교육 기관: Jesus S

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, substantial breadth. Explains many details usually left out in standard International Finance/Money courses. Thank you Profr. Mehrling

교육 기관: Kolybina A

Mar 28, 2017

I was impressed by the manner of professor to tell this money story! It was really fascinating to view complicated money schemes as an amazing quest

교육 기관: Steven R

Feb 13, 2017

This course blew my mind. Our professor was interesting, lessons well planned and content important. I now read the Financial Times daily. Thank you

교육 기관: Agustin P

May 10, 2019

Excellent course, new and insightful approach on the subject matter. Highly relevant for modern day finance and economics and the challenges ahead.

교육 기관: Pramanshu R

Jul 29, 2017

Quite exhaustive course covering details about banking and finance. Amazing Professor, good content. The focus on current events is good too.

교육 기관: Mahmood A K E

Aug 03, 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

교육 기관: Yechen H

Jul 05, 2017

A different way to look at today's Financial World. The material is well structured and easy to understand. Thank you Professor Mehrling.

교육 기관: Thoshitha

Jan 02, 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!

교육 기관: Atulya S

Jun 11, 2017

Amazing insights into the evolution and working of money markets.Last chapters tying to economic theory could have been more detailed

교육 기관: Ilias M

Jan 10, 2018

Professor Mehrling will make you connect the dots. Masterfully conceived and delivered. Many thanks and much appreciation Professor.

교육 기관: Pablo S A

Oct 06, 2018

Incredible teacher. A lot of useful information that provides you with an eagle view of monetary and financial markets as a whole.

교육 기관: Parth G

Sep 20, 2017

Mind Blowing approach to teach. Got the new angles of the economy and banking. Expanded the vision significantly on the subject.

교육 기관: Erik M

Sep 06, 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

교육 기관: Jiao S

Apr 07, 2018

Probably the most amazing course I have ever taken in economics and finance. I would definitely recommend to every student!

교육 기관: sarah a m a a r

Jun 07, 2019

An amazing course that show the light on many economic monetary polices and banking and many more overall very usefull

교육 기관: Yiannis B

Aug 27, 2017

One of the best courses I have followed!

I am expecting an update on the course.

Thank you for this wonderful experience.

교육 기관: Borja P O

Jun 05, 2019

he content of the course is very complete and rigorous and the teacher is excellent. Very good additional resources.

교육 기관: tomer z

Oct 05, 2017

Excellent professor and intersting topic. the reading material is unique and expands on the material in the course