Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics (으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 Moral Foundations of Politics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
3,356개의 평가
673개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

최상위 리뷰

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

필터링 기준:

Moral Foundations of Politics 의 670개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Antoine R

Dec 22, 2015

Great course and teacher! The format is really cool for the topic. Hope there will be some kind of "part 2".

교육 기관: Ofentse L

Aug 10, 2020

I learned a lot in this course, was my favorite actually. The lecture makes things, everything was perfect

교육 기관: ljdover

Sep 13, 2019

Wonderful class that helped to clarify the different political theories for me. I would highly recommend t

교육 기관: Jeffrey H

Aug 03, 2018

Great and challenging course. Will provide you an introduction to the tools to analyze political systems.

교육 기관: Miguelina R V

Jun 05, 2017

Very interesting course !! helped me a lot to know more about Politics !!! Thank you Professor Saphiro !!!

교육 기관: Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

교육 기관: Alan E

Aug 06, 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

교육 기관: Ankita P

Sep 20, 2020

Totally loved the course. Thank you for this amazing 8 weeks. So grateful to have completed this course.

교육 기관: Ilaha Y

Jul 27, 2020

In addition to being instructive, the course was more effective with the materials it shared. Thank you

교육 기관: Andres

Jun 08, 2020

Amazing path that collects elements from different traditions and joining them to a wonderful final !!!

교육 기관: Regene L

Jun 16, 2020

This course was detailed without being draggy and was easy to follow even for a politics noob like me.

교육 기관: Arnaldo M

Aug 15, 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

교육 기관: Bruna C

Dec 06, 2015

Lessons are very objective, while explanations are made clear by useful and easy to remember examples.

교육 기관: Onyekwelu-Udoka T O

Jun 25, 2020

I learnt soooo many things

The course was sooo interesting and less boring made me want to learn more

교육 기관: Özgün K

Mar 03, 2020

It was a course where I got new information. The course was helped to me for my educational in Turkey

교육 기관: Dominique D

Jul 12, 2018

This course was the most challenging and rewarding course that I have taken on the Coursera platform!

교육 기관: Akash B

Aug 02, 2020

Even being a graduate student in political science, this course has been so engaging and insightful.

교육 기관: Carolina O G

Jul 06, 2020

Really great course to get a better understanding of political/social/economical theories/doctrines.

교육 기관: Julieta I O J

Jul 24, 2020

Loved it, very interesting and it really gets you to think about society, past, present and future.

교육 기관: Kayla S

Jun 14, 2020

Amazing course. The lectures were so engaging and helped make connections with contemporary events.

교육 기관: Lori C

Sep 07, 2016

Wonderfully structures course, questions pose critical thinking that applies outside of coursework.

교육 기관: Melissa M Q

Jul 03, 2020

Excelente. Lo super recomiendo. Muy buena traducción al español. El profesor es el mejor. Gracias.

교육 기관: Adam B

May 07, 2020

A great introduction to key political theories delivered in a relaxed and easy to follow manner.

교육 기관: MUNYABUGINGO I

Jul 15, 2020

Every country should found it politic on morality of its people in order to get a general will.

교육 기관: Benedito A d C

Nov 02, 2017

Excelent course. Clear questions and good didactic background. Good organanization of thoughts.