Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
1,648개의 평가
243개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

최상위 리뷰

JT

Nov 13, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

DP

Nov 26, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus의 248개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Tanuj J

Jan 19, 2019

Topics need to be covered more in depth. Too much information packed into this course. Instructor's explanations are also not clear most of the time. It will be hard to follow this course if you don't have some background with calculus.

교육 기관: Valeria B

Jun 17, 2019

The first part of the course is fine. Towards the end, lots of interesting concepts explained too quickly. I'd rather have more detailed explanations, especially about linear and non-linear regression.

The examples are quite good.

교육 기관: Yan

Mar 31, 2019

Some errors confused many students. And they are remained unfixed.

교육 기관: Marc P

Apr 28, 2019

The course is led by two instructor and my ratings is an average of the two performances. The videos in week 1 to 4 are absolutely outstanding and a pleasure to follow. The ones in week 5 and 6 are ok but not great. The use of quizzes and coding assignments throughout the course is very engaging and of great use for retention and application of the learned subjects.

교육 기관: João C L S

Apr 17, 2019

I liked the course specially because I finally understood Backpropagation, an old frustration from Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course. It covers the main topics for Mathematics for Machine Learning as promised. Two weak points: (1) the Newton-Raphson convergence problems, superficially covered in the lectures, but has a challenging test, no forum support, no other source indicated for helping us. (2) The forum is abandoned. I've set two problems, one of them about an error in a lecture and the second about the problem with Newton-Raphson lecture. No responses from the lecturers or mentors.

교육 기관: Andrii S

Jan 20, 2019

Excellent.

교육 기관: James L T

Nov 13, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

교육 기관: Clayton

Jul 22, 2019

teachers are awesome but the last notebook needs a little work i believe.

교육 기관: Greg E

Jul 22, 2019

Another great course from Imperial College London. I highly recommend this specialization.

교육 기관: Nushaine F

Jul 18, 2019

This is my first time learning calculus (I'm a 16 y/o high-school sophomore), and I'm satisfied with this course. The instructors were great, and the assignments are awesome.

If I would suggest one improvement, it would be to give more examples in the lectures. Some lectures were packed with examples, and some had none at all. I had to often refer to Khan Academy and YouTube to learn the concepts which the instructors did not provide an example for. (Especially in Week 4). Sometimes this would frustrate me because it would take me hours to grasp a concept.

Having said this, this course is for you if: (1) - you want a refresher on fundamental calculus concepts that relate to machine learning, or (2) - if you want to learn calculus for the first time, and you have a strong desire to learn these concepts. But no matter what, DON'T GIVE UP and don't stop until you've completed the course.

I hoped this has helped and good luck on your ML journey!

교육 기관: Shubham T

Jul 18, 2019

Great course. It provides good insights on Calculus used in Machine Learning.

교육 기관: Eric G

Jul 17, 2019

A brief but also very in-depth course

교육 기관: Alkis G

Jul 14, 2019

There is a decent space for course improvement.

교육 기관: Nitish K T

Jul 12, 2019

Very relevant course. It was very helpful to me.

교육 기관: Fang Z

Jul 11, 2019

I really love Samuel's teaching style. He strived to make people understood by showing a lot of graph and I can easily follow him step by step. However, David's teaching I couldn't follow up his mind much maybe because less explanations given during the lecture.

In addition, I found some quiz have huge amount of calculated amount which I really spent a lot time to verify the answer.

Finally, I hope more detailed explanations could be given if I made mistakes in some quiz so I could boost what I've learned so far.

Thanks,

Fang

교육 기관: Manjunath H

Jul 10, 2019

Very organised. Assignments are great to practically apply the concepts into practice.

교육 기관: Chika

Jul 09, 2019

Feedback on assessment could be improved, and there could be more practice questions relevant to the final assessments

교육 기관: Andrew L

Jul 06, 2019

Amazing as usual. Very clear and highly engaging content. Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

교육 기관: Sunil M

Jul 04, 2019

Very good course

교육 기관: gaurav k

Jul 03, 2019

well explained details on Calculus

교육 기관: Khandakar A H

Jul 02, 2019

This course was amazing for me . I've learnt both the use of calculus and coding with it . now I can better understand mathematical tools and it's use.

교육 기관: Eric

Jun 30, 2019

quite challenging. when get confused dont give up; look for other sources for explanations. great course.

교육 기관: shubham m

Jun 27, 2019

good introductory course

교육 기관: Narayan B

Jun 25, 2019

good mathematics course, but the things and concepts are explained in a very abstract way. Need to think a lot on your own while solving the quizzes as the videos are not going to help. Most of the concepts i learnt were from the quizzes rather than the videos