Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,175개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

최상위 리뷰

DP

2018년 11월 25일

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

SS

2019년 8월 3일

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus의 928개 리뷰 중 851~875

교육 기관: Mr. S G

2020년 4월 17일

The course was well taught.

교육 기관: Armen M

2020년 4월 22일

It was a very hard course

교육 기관: Elnur M

2020년 3월 24일

Didn't like last two week

교육 기관: Manuj M

2020년 6월 10일

Professors were awesome

교육 기관: danthedoubleD

2019년 3월 14일

hopefully it is useful

교육 기관: Philip A

2019년 5월 16일

Excellent Instruction

교육 기관: Kamlesh K

2020년 6월 19일

It's just amazing.

교육 기관: Dr. T C

2020년 6월 19일

Very Good Course

교육 기관: Jannatul F A

2020년 4월 28일

Its very helpful

교육 기관: raghu c b

2020년 4월 2일

Less detailing

교육 기관: Stathis

2019년 10월 19일

Good refresher

교육 기관: Suyoun K

2021년 9월 15일

Good Course.

교육 기관: Alfian A H

2021년 3월 22일

Very good

교육 기관: hemant k

2018년 12월 17일

Its good.

교육 기관: henry c

2020년 1월 19일

It is ok

교육 기관: R. D B D

2021년 3월 7일

so hard

교육 기관: MUTHUKUMAR P

2021년 9월 26일

Good

교육 기관: Prof(Dr) S R

2019년 8월 24일

nice

교육 기관: Monhanmod K

2018년 10월 10일

g

교육 기관: Tony J

2020년 8월 19일

Pretty good in terms of material covered. This course does a much better job of balancing what you should know vs pace than the linear algebra course (which breezed through or skipped a couple concepts that made it difficult to complete assignments or subsequent lessons).

Both courses so far would really benefit from another couple turns at the wheel in terms of polish, making sure that concepts are covered adequately and nothing is lost in the gaps. Also there is room for more and better 'further reading' pointers for those who are interested.

The biggest issue in both courses so far is the discontinuity when the lecturers (for whatever reason) switch in the last 2 weeks of the respective courses. Things seem to get lost or forgotten.

For example, in this course there's no mention in week 5 of how the previous week's topic relates to the material being covered, even though in the assignment there is a very interesting application of the topics in week 4 being presented, but it's completely hidden. And, judging from the forum posts from that week, the vast majority of students missed that insight.

I'm not sure why this course hasn't received any updates since it launched over 2 years ago. It's rough in more than a couple spots, but it could polish up really nicely.

교육 기관: Maksim U

2019년 1월 3일

I did learn quite a lot throughout the course. The problem is that most of my knowledge came from elsewhere while the explanations by the course instructors were quite unclear till I referred to extra resources. At the same time, some other explanations were on the obvious side, so I'd say the instructions are kind of inconsistent in their difficulty. The real-life examples were relly good though. The same concerns the quizzes, some are absolutely great and intuitive, while the others just leave you puzzled about what you are even expected to do with no extra info offered when failed.

The course is kind of sloppier than the first one and the reviews say the third one is even worse, so I won't be doing it.

Finally, I cannot even complete the last graded assignment and get my certificate as well as some other learners because the thing just throws an error all the time. There is zero reaction from the crew that is supposed to be moderating the forums.

All in all, a fine "guideline" course. But do not expect to be presented much inside the course itself.

교육 기관: Pritam D

2020년 9월 13일

While the topics covered in the course are good, the depth and clarity with which each topic deserves to be explained, remains unfulfilled. The lectures are easy to understand, but sometimes you'll have to jump to other resources to get a better understanding of the topics covered. The difficulty of assignments is relatively very high, compared to their respective lectures.

Moreover, I feel that categorizing this course as a "beginner" course is somewhat questionable, as a complete beginner will face a lot of hurdles, given the number of new topics introduced in each lecture, the succeeding (often difficult) assignment, and the brevity of explanation. This course is more of an intermediate level, and some prior experience of Multivariate Calculus is required. I personally had glazed over Multivarious Calculus during my undergraduate, and even with that background, the difficulty seemed frustrating. For me, other resources, such as 3blue1brown youtube videos and Grant's KhanAcademy videos were necessary to complete the course.

교육 기관: Leandro C F

2021년 3월 22일

I've took the first course about linear algebra and it was brilliant. Unfortunately I did not have the same impression on this course.

The contents of the course is very important, but some topics were covered very quickly and superficially.

I also noticed that many people liked the first instructor, but for me the fact that he emphasizes one in every four words annoyed my learning experience. I spent more time paying attention in the emphasis than in the contents.

교육 기관: Harsh D

2020년 6월 14일

After the first course of the series, I expected more out of this. Certainly, the course covers basics but there's a gap in between the weeks. May be it was done to ensure the course could be restricted to 6 weeks, but then again course 3 is just 4 weeks. Not sure what happened there, this one certainly requires restructuring.

For Imperial College: If you would like to know what I am talking about, please go through the discussion forums.