Chevron Left
Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
639개의 평가
164개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

최상위 리뷰

TT

2020년 5월 16일

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

2016년 9월 21일

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

필터링 기준:

Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why의 161개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Claire G

2020년 6월 17일

very interesting course

교육 기관: Stephanie T

2017년 5월 20일

Incredibly good :)

교육 기관: Valeria S

2016년 8월 9일

Excellent course!

교육 기관: David A M

2020년 9월 3일

Excelente curso.

교육 기관: Harini

2020년 7월 2일

It's very useful

교육 기관: Julio C G L

2017년 8월 9일

Excelente curso.

교육 기관: Praveen K

2017년 7월 26일

A great Course !

교육 기관: WATUTHANTHRIGE K G S P

2021년 2월 2일

Great content .

교육 기관: HERNAN S L

2020년 5월 6일

Great for me.

교육 기관: Alfonso B A

2020년 3월 6일

very helpful

교육 기관: Natouchka M F

2020년 2월 25일

Excellent 🤩

교육 기관: Sarah G d S

2018년 10월 3일

Fantastic!

교육 기관: Krisztian H

2017년 6월 13일

Very good!

교육 기관: Abellot a

2017년 12월 6일

Genial :)

교육 기관: Juan A C B

2017년 11월 30일

Excellent

교육 기관: Hooman S

2016년 3월 24일

Fantastic

교육 기관: Camila P

2020년 9월 8일

Accurate

교육 기관: Miguel Á T

2018년 6월 24일

Great.

교육 기관: Taozheng Z

2021년 7월 12일

Good

교육 기관: Yana Y

2020년 4월 28일

The course was very interesting and created for me a new way of thinking about music. However some subjects were very difficult for me to understand. In simple words - things which I didn't know before (biology) I could hardly follow. And also the music theory - if I wasn't a professional musician, I couldn't have understood the explanations. I understood them, because I knew them.

교육 기관: David B

2016년 8월 3일

Interesting and well presented. I completed the entire course, all lectures and assignments. However, week 1 is persistently listed as "overdue" even though it was actually completed ahead of time. Please remove from the "overdue" status which incessantly prompts me to join an upcoming new session. I enjoyed the course but this technical snafu is annoying.

교육 기관: john d

2018년 10월 19일

I enjoyed the course even though it seemed to raise as many questions about music as it answered. As a song writer, I am constantly searching for that special melody which combines both voice and guitar, a combination not mentioned in the course. It seems like voice and music instruments for a unique relationship in music that I love.

교육 기관: Tim M

2016년 12월 21일

A well presented course introducing good background material regarding the physiology of human sound perception. It loses marks from me because of its seemingly obsessive fixation on the vocalization similarity hypothesis as the basis for aesthetic preference in music without a rigorous presentation of supporting evidence.

교육 기관: Helen W

2020년 6월 23일

As a student currently studying music, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It has given me a greater understanding of why we enjoy music from a perceptive that is not usually covered from a musicians perspective. I am sure that this will make me consider many things differently in the future.

교육 기관: Ana L M T

2017년 10월 16일

Para una persona que se dedica a la educación musical, este curso es de suma importancia , muestra las cuestiones biológicas que son el punto de partida para aprender sobre este maravilloso arte, esta completísimo y explicado de forma progresiva.