Chevron Left
Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
637개의 평가
164개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

최상위 리뷰

TT

2020년 5월 16일

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

2016년 9월 21일

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

필터링 기준:

Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why의 161개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Vinod L G

2017년 9월 13일

I used to believe that the concept of music is purely mathematical and physical.

But this course has made me realize the biological aspect of music perception, and how it has been effected by emotional evolution of humans.

Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Tim G

2020년 2월 29일

A window into why music has the appeal that it does, and also into how neuroscientists work. Professor Dale Purves' own interest in music is obviously very genuine as is his respect for the constraints of the scientific process.

교육 기관: Sandy A K

2020년 3월 25일

As a medical student and a musician this course was a huge interest and gave me a great information in a simple and beautiful way.. I finally can answer people's questions about how music is explained simply

교육 기관: Taiba

2020년 5월 17일

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

교육 기관: Patricia J

2020년 11월 21일

I enjoyed this course. It made me appreciate music more as it relates to our emotions etc. Thank you to all the lecturers who were instrumental in putting this course.

교육 기관: miguel a g p

2017년 5월 18일

Muy completo e interesante, didáctico y muy intuitivo, aprendí demasiado... definitivamente lo recomiendo para aquellos que apenas inician en el mundo de la música!

교육 기관: Olivia J

2020년 9월 22일

I really enjoyed this course. I am really passionate about music and evolution, so this gave me a lot of really useful information for my future research.

교육 기관: Sanja P M

2021년 8월 7일

It was an incredible experience! Mr. Dale Purves's way of explaining the material is just wonderful! and goes into details which was really helpful!

교육 기관: Cecilia G

2020년 6월 15일

Enlightening & complete & progressive. A bit dense at times (for me at least, as a non-scientist) so don't be afraid to watch some videos twice :)

교육 기관: Ignacio A P C

2020년 10월 11일

Great course. The information is thorough and easy to understand. The presentation and rythm is excellent and the instructor is well informed.

교육 기관: Christel R

2020년 10월 14일

Very clearly laid out in lecture and slides. Was able to learn a great deal, even though I have little previous knowledge of this area.

교육 기관: Jean P G C

2020년 7월 6일

Excelente curso. Valiosa información para quienes deseen introducirse en la Psicoacústica y sus alcances en la música. Muchas gracias.

교육 기관: Geo S

2017년 6월 11일

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

교육 기관: Gisel C

2020년 3월 22일

Thanks so much Dale for your teaching! I'm highly interested in this and would like to know more about this and get more involved!

교육 기관: maria e b m d

2020년 1월 27일

muy didáctico aun cuando no seas médico ni músico. explica bien un analsis de la música como parte de la expresion del ser humano

교육 기관: Jooe D V

2020년 3월 30일

M encanto el curso porque pude aprender muchas funciones del habla generado por la música y sus distintos Orígenes culturales

교육 기관: Fernando V

2018년 4월 12일

It was a nice experience to learn about the Biology of the music. Very complete and explained course. Thanks

교육 기관: Manuel P Y

2020년 9월 14일

Excelente curso. Creo que no se ve la música desde un sentido biológico, si no también físico y matemático.

교육 기관: Ian C

2017년 11월 19일

Supremamente interesante y completo. Dio respuestas a varias preguntas que me formulaba frecuentemente.

교육 기관: ALEJANDRO J S G

2021년 8월 22일

Great information and an excellent explanation in each module. Thank you very much and congratulations

교육 기관: A.k.m. N H ,

2020년 4월 16일

If u wanna learn about Music Theory, Evolution & Neuroscience at the same time, hurry up and enroll...

교육 기관: Ebraheem S

2020년 8월 10일

I have really enjoyed learning through this course and I wish to take my PHD about the course's topic

교육 기관: Noel A

2020년 8월 22일

It was well organised, and I learnt more than what I expected myself to learn from this course!

교육 기관: Isabelle M

2021년 10월 30일

It was a very good and fun course the format of every test was very badly messed up though.

교육 기관: Peregrine H

2018년 1월 2일

Muy buen curso, bastante interesante y muy educativo. En otras palabras esta muy completo.