Chevron Left
From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement(으)로 돌아가기

에모리대학교의 From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
261개의 평가
83개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

최상위 리뷰

CP
2020년 11월 20일

The use of interviews is very effective in this course. The content is so relevant to apply today in the U.S. socially, politically, and in business. I only wish I had learned more about this earlier.

EJ
2020년 4월 26일

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

필터링 기준:

From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement의 82개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Kenyatta D B

2020년 4월 20일

I really enjoyed this course and learning about the Nonviolence movement from Dr. Lafayette. I will definitely use some of these principles in my daily life. I am writing a book that takes place during the Civil Rights movement and this course will definitely help frame the story.

교육 기관: David K

2017년 7월 24일

The lectures with Dr. LaFayette were excellent in their coverage of the topic, and they introduced me to many unsung heroes of the Civil Rights Movement. I also really appreciated the interviews with Dr. CT Vivian and Ambassador Andrew Young--I highly recommend taking this course.

교육 기관: Chaundra W

2017년 9월 24일

Dr. Bernard LaFayette is an excellent storyteller and he recalls many of the events of the Civil Rights movement with great passion and reflection. All of the guest speakers and interviewers were excellent. There is a lot of important American History in this course.

교육 기관: Ignasi I

2016년 12월 3일

Exceptional information and lessons to better understand what was the struggle for Civil Rights. The teachings of Dr. LaFayette invite to take the brief experience as a case study, worthy of being analyzed and considered when comparing it to other social movements.

교육 기관: Kathleen R

2020년 7월 26일

Dr. Bernard Lafayette is a national treasure and his insights into one of the most important movements in American history are of incredible historical value and offer excellent instruction to new generations of change agents. Fascinating course.

교육 기관: Christine

2017년 10월 29일

Thoroughly enjoyed this course, particularly the breakdowns about nonviolence as a way of life/philosophy. The bonus interview with Rev. Vivian was amazing as well! A must-take class for the sheer volume of oral history you get from Dr. Lafayette.

교육 기관: Nisha A

2020년 9월 8일

It is a great course for anyone who wants to learn how one can participate in bringing about a social change. The course also covers the aspect of organizing the masses and that, for me, was the most helpful part in understanding such movements.

교육 기관: Joanna D

2020년 2월 16일

Fascinating course featuring living civil rights activists. Focusing on the thoughts of those involved in the nonviolent approach of activists, it brought more depth to me on how this attitude to the civil rights struggle was successful.

교육 기관: Sheila A

2021년 1월 23일

This was an excellent explanation for the Civil Rights Movement and the work of Dr. King. Some of the links don't work at all in the reading sections. Others you need to have a subscription to read, so that would be my only critique.

교육 기관: Kerry T

2017년 6월 29일

This course provided valuable oral histories of the Civil Rights movement in America. My sincere gratitude to all those who put together this course, and of course to those who participated in advancing the cause of Civil Rights!

교육 기관: Karl M

2018년 1월 13일

Done this course as a beginning to a new Shabbat practice really enjoyed it learned so much.As a Millenial and one who has dealt with domestic violence it helped me realize how nonviolent action can change a lot of things.

교육 기관: L W

2020년 7월 27일

I love this course. It offers so many insights that you wouldn't be able to access anywhere else. The pace and level of depth is perfect, and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the videos. I have learnt so much. Thankyou.

교육 기관: Joni L

2016년 2월 4일

I'm learning so much, and it's a wonderful format. We're going to need to know these principles of Nonviolence if we're to deal effectively with the regenerative changes needed. I'm so glad i heard about this course!

교육 기관: Blaise L

2018년 9월 7일

Fascinating. I recommend this course for anyone who wants an in-depth understanding of the role of non-violence in the success of the Civil Rights movement, and its relevance to the world of race relations today.

교육 기관: Jackson M

2020년 7월 31일

I love this and have been recommending it to everyone I know. Am also going to see if components of it can be added to our First Year Experience classes. What an inspiration and education this has been.

교육 기관: Christine P

2020년 11월 21일

The use of interviews is very effective in this course. The content is so relevant to apply today in the U.S. socially, politically, and in business. I only wish I had learned more about this earlier.

교육 기관: Edward B

2018년 4월 25일

Among the very best courses led by the participants in the struggle for civil rights. Helped me to gain a better understanding of what has been gained (and lost) in our nation's story.

교육 기관: Haley M

2020년 7월 2일

I thoroughly enjoyed this class and learned so much. This was very eye opening to me and all of the principles taught here are very valuable. I highly recommend taking this course.

교육 기관: Fernando E B N

2018년 10월 23일

It was an amazing experience to learn with Dr LaFayette about nonviolence practices, methodologies and foundations in US history and considering a worldwide and human perspective.

교육 기관: Lisa A S

2020년 9월 25일

I wish I could have added weeks...even months...more of this class. I have learned so much about the civil rights movements and so many of those involved in it. Fantastic class!

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2015년 12월 6일

Nice review of a very difficult time in our history which was favored by some courageous folks who worked and endured a lot to effect a better society.

교육 기관: Aloke N P

2018년 12월 28일

a must do course for every global citizen. Its not just exploring an idea but its also about exploring you as a human being and your capabilities.

교육 기관: Diane N

2015년 12월 1일

Every body black white green or polka dot should take this course, learn to come together non violently thank you all for the lessons I learned

교육 기관: Aaron L H

2020년 7월 17일

This course was outstanding. There was a lot of information about the Civil Rights I didn't know about. The power of learning never gets old.

교육 기관: Lisa K

2020년 10월 9일

Very interesting first-hand interviews. Dr. Lafayette's insights on nonviolence as a strategy and agape as a way of life were enlightening.