Chevron Left
From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement(으)로 돌아가기

에모리대학교의 From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
299개의 평가
100개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

최상위 리뷰

CP

2020년 11월 20일

The use of interviews is very effective in this course. The content is so relevant to apply today in the U.S. socially, politically, and in business. I only wish I had learned more about this earlier.

EJ

2020년 4월 26일

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

필터링 기준:

From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement의 101개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Lisa A S

2020년 9월 25일

I wish I could have added weeks...even months...more of this class. I have learned so much about the civil rights movements and so many of those involved in it. Fantastic class!

교육 기관: Valeria B

2021년 7월 4일

It was a very useful course to get introduced to the Civil Rights Movement and the different strategies they implemented to fight for their cause. Thank you!

교육 기관: Mary B

2021년 7월 2일

I​ loved all of the interviews with Dr. Bernard Lafayette. This was an excellent course and I'll recommend it to others. With appreciation, Mary Button

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2015년 12월 6일

Nice review of a very difficult time in our history which was favored by some courageous folks who worked and endured a lot to effect a better society.

교육 기관: Aloke N P

2018년 12월 28일

a must do course for every global citizen. Its not just exploring an idea but its also about exploring you as a human being and your capabilities.

교육 기관: Sir T P

2021년 6월 22일

This was a great course. I enjoyed hearing Mr Layfayette speak and share history . I understand my role in being instrumental for social change

교육 기관: Diane N

2015년 12월 1일

Every body black white green or polka dot should take this course, learn to come together non violently thank you all for the lessons I learned

교육 기관: Petisia M A

2021년 7월 14일

A​n abundance of first hand experiences and information from the individuals that actual fought the battles during the Civil Rights Movement.

교육 기관: Aaron L H

2020년 7월 17일

This course was outstanding. There was a lot of information about the Civil Rights I didn't know about. The power of learning never gets old.

교육 기관: Lisa K

2020년 10월 9일

Very interesting first-hand interviews. Dr. Lafayette's insights on nonviolence as a strategy and agape as a way of life were enlightening.

교육 기관: Danielle C

2018년 3월 18일

Thank you for refreshing the history of a time when I witnessed so much change. I really enjoyed it.

Danielle Rawls Carr- Atlanta, Georgia

교육 기관: Barbara S

2020년 8월 25일

Excellent course!!!!!!!! Thank you so much—I learned an incredible amount of information and found this course to be very transforming.

교육 기관: Lisa S

2017년 7월 9일

Absolutely fascinating course - a privilege to have insights from one of the major lights of the civil rights movement

교육 기관: Carolyn C

2021년 3월 13일

Love the class I am getting married to a black man and am white. I am learning his culture and how it is.

교육 기관: Corinne S

2016년 5월 22일

One of the best and most informative classes I have taken on Coursera. I highly recommend for everyone!

교육 기관: Célia C

2020년 3월 2일

Very interesting, in this course, we have al the inside view of what happened, I truly recommend.

교육 기관: Valentina G M

2020년 3월 16일

I usually don't like history but the way this is told capitvated me! Thank so much

교육 기관: David S T

2020년 6월 13일

Just amazing. What a fantastic course. And Dr. Lafayette is a national treasure.

교육 기관: Peter K

2021년 9월 1일

an important history lesson unfortunately urgently necessary in the present day

교육 기관: Carmen

2017년 11월 5일

Very enlightening about non-violence and how the civil rights movement worked.

교육 기관: Alzbeta S

2016년 6월 22일

One of the best courses I took on Coursera. Very informative and practical.

교육 기관: Gretchen A

2020년 7월 8일

Great interviews, Great Information, and thought- provoking questions.

교육 기관: Vitoria G

2022년 3월 26일

I loved it, very inspirtational! I'm very happy with this course!

교육 기관: Felipe T

2017년 1월 27일

This is a marvelous and very inspiring course. Thank you so much!

교육 기관: line k

2019년 10월 5일

This course should be seen by all of us people of the world.