Chevron Left
From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement(으)로 돌아가기

에모리대학교의 From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
299개의 평가
100개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

최상위 리뷰

CP

2020년 11월 20일

The use of interviews is very effective in this course. The content is so relevant to apply today in the U.S. socially, politically, and in business. I only wish I had learned more about this earlier.

EJ

2020년 4월 26일

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

필터링 기준:

From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement의 101개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: fumi o

2016년 4월 12일

This is a great course.

It is more than a history lesson.

I

교육 기관: Link C

2016년 1월 4일

A great course for understanding US Civil Right history!

교육 기관: lia m

2021년 7월 10일

muito conhecimento !!! gostei muito deste curso !!

교육 기관: Alex R

2015년 12월 29일

Very interesting course - Thank you very much

교육 기관: Anthony C C W

2020년 11월 29일

Fantastic course. I really learned a lot.

교육 기관: Rachel B

2017년 3월 17일

Amazing course. Thank you for sharing!

교육 기관: Shavonti W

2020년 7월 9일

I absolutely loved this course.

교육 기관: Fran

2016년 2월 17일

Wonderfully engaging stories.

교육 기관: Jeffrey f

2020년 4월 25일

tremendous and informative

교육 기관: Amanda L S J

2020년 7월 24일

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Tracy S

2021년 4월 25일

Very informative

교육 기관: Uilson C

2017년 6월 28일

Excelente Curso!

교육 기관: Alexandra S

2016년 12월 30일

Fantastic class.

교육 기관: Abu M I U

2019년 3월 13일

Thanks Bernie!

교육 기관: Renan S

2020년 12월 15일

Excellent!

교육 기관: Steven P

2017년 12월 5일

Love this!

교육 기관: Katherine A P

2018년 5월 29일

Excellent

교육 기관: Sirui T

2021년 6월 17일

Awesome

교육 기관: M A R

2021년 7월 8일

G

교육 기관: Richard J

2021년 8월 11일

D​r. Bernard Lafayette is a national treasure and provided the core foundation of this valuable material. The videos will be a lasting legacy and will hopefully be available to the general public. As for structure and organization of this course, the material could have been spread out more evenly and not broken nor arranged into so many segments. Definitions and philosophy separated from historical timeline would have allowed for a clearer unstanding and applicaiotn of the priciples as they were played out over time. Course would have been better to focus solely on the 60's and not deal nor tease with 21st century civil rights references, as that can be a separate course in itself.

교육 기관: Steve J

2019년 6월 24일

My thanks to Dr. Bernard Lafayette for an interesting & helpful introduction to the history of nonviolence in the civil rights movement as well as suggestions on how this methodology, philosophy, and techniques are relevant and necessary for antiracist activism today and into the future. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to know more about nonviolent direct action, its effectiveness, and its continued pertinence. I am also grateful to Andrew Young, C. T. Vivian, Connie Curry, Dr. Carol Anderson, and all the other interviewers and guests that contributed to this interesting course.

교육 기관: Linda B

2021년 10월 11일

This course presented many interesting videos on nonviolence and the civil rights movement. The instructor was engaging and the videos were informative.

교육 기관: Elena C N D

2017년 2월 5일

A profound analysis of the Civil Rights Movement, told from the perspective of an active participant.

교육 기관: Eva B

2020년 4월 26일

It was an honor to hear Dr. Lafayette, a civil rights icon.

교육 기관: Kent L

2016년 4월 14일

Learned a lot of new things in this course. Very inspiring.