Chevron Left
Social Norms, Social Change I(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Social Norms, Social Change I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
872개의 평가
215개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

최상위 리뷰

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

BB

Jan 07, 2017

This is an extremely useful course. There is an effective blend of lecture, quizzes, case studies, essays, and student discussion. The content is highly relevant. I highly recommend this course.

필터링 기준:

Social Norms, Social Change I의 217개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Isabella G

Feb 05, 2019

The course is really interesting and helpful in identify the key components of norms and how to measure them to trigger a change. The videos are clear and the readings are complementary to videos. However, the last lecture is too long, in my opinion, and it would have been more feasible if splitted on two weeks. Moreover, there is scarce or no feedback, both on interventions on the forum and after the quizzes. I understand a person can undertake the quizzes several times, I would rather suggest to set a given number of attempts and after that a feedback on the mistakes, or some kind of guidance in understanding the errors. Overall, a very useful course. I will definitively take the second part!

교육 기관: Karthigeyan

Mar 09, 2018

The course was informative. It showed how challenging is to bring a social change. And it also shed some light on the kind of work Unicef carries on. I would recommend the course to anyone who is interested in bringing out a social change or in knowing how social norms function.

교육 기관: 邹知贤

Nov 11, 2018

Too much overlapping - can be good to help memorizing those complex concepts, but also annoying a bit. It can be helpful to give summary diagrams at the beginning to let the audience have a first impression of the knowledge tree.

교육 기관: Winnifred R L

Jun 11, 2017

This course covers a lot of definitions and basics so is less engaging than the second course but it is certainly worth working through. A great enterprise!

교육 기관: Charlie J

May 26, 2017

This course was a very tough slog for me.

Christina is a philosopher and theorist who spends a lot of time categorizing human behavior in the context of UNICEF behavior modification schemes. I was interested to learn more about FGM and open defecation, as these are two social norms prevalent in Africa, where I live. The theoretical ontology of group behaviors was thorough. I appreciated learning about survey techniques such as vignettes that can be used to access beliefs and behaviors "in the wild," but I must say that it was difficult to maintain my interest as we seemed to circle around over and over again to various "expectations." Perhaps the second course in the series will contain more practical content.

The video content with embedded questions is a sophisticated method of tracking attention, and I found that answering the in-video questions kept me engaged.

The comments by the other participants were somewhat uninspired.

I appreciated the glossary of terms in the resource pack, although there was no definition of a "prudential normative belief" which was mentioned several times in the videos.

The video quality was good, and production values excellent.

It would have been nice to have some of the flowcharts provided in pdf form for later review as a resource.

교육 기관: Armand B

Jul 17, 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

교육 기관: Isha J

Jul 14, 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

교육 기관: Haroon A

Jul 13, 2019

excellent course , helpful , gradual information cascade , sumarrizing from time to another ,practical examples , discussions . thank you

교육 기관: Miryana V

Jul 12, 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

교육 기관: Lillie K

Jun 30, 2019

the terms became quite confusing to follow

교육 기관: Anh Q D

Jun 28, 2019

As a person who works in the development field, I found the content of this course is interesting and useful!

교육 기관: Keifala L

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

교육 기관: Jonas N N

Jun 21, 2019

This are a very complex theory in international development due to the variety of behaviour, culture, custom in the different societies around the world. in spite of globalisation, the world is still not one society. Therefore considering norms, behaviours and believes are very important. this what I gain here.

교육 기관: Daseul K

Jun 15, 2019

Good course!!

교육 기관: Paramjit S

Jun 12, 2019

great learning experience...try practice in my research work

교육 기관: Kevin A

Jun 08, 2019

The course covered the basic components and provided examples to understand the social norms and change, the real life illustrations did make the concepts easier for me to grasp. The discussions at the end of every week also make the course a great platform for learning from other participants.

교육 기관: Zainab M

Jun 08, 2019

This course was really great.I got so many good ideas and learnt so many things.

교육 기관: Tamoghna A

May 16, 2019

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

교육 기관: Sabrina P

May 11, 2019

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

교육 기관: Salman K

May 10, 2019

The course was really helpful and pedagogy used in the course was very user friendly.

교육 기관: umar f

Apr 21, 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

교육 기관: Pramila S

Apr 18, 2019

Helpful Indeed!

교육 기관: Agnetha C S

Apr 17, 2019

Wonderful!

English is not my first language and I have never been in contact with a similar topic before. However, I did not have to study the vocabulary too much as every little detail was explained, and sometimes even twice or oftener. Easy to understand without spending a huge amount on extra studying.

교육 기관: sonia c

Apr 14, 2019

a very interesting course.. thank you

교육 기관: Andreas T

Apr 13, 2019

Great course.

Looking forwards for part 2.