Chevron Left
Social Norms, Social Change I(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Social Norms, Social Change I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,852개의 평가
477개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

최상위 리뷰

EC

2022년 2월 21일

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

PE

2019년 3월 5일

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

필터링 기준:

Social Norms, Social Change I의 467개 리뷰 중 451~467

교육 기관: Harry J J

2021년 9월 2일

A fairly simple approach to complex components of society. It's a good way to become familiar with the terms used by sociologists for societal behavior.

교육 기관: Sharon S

2021년 9월 21일

Interesting but: too much jargon, hard to follow and missing examples in western world. Would like to see more the limitation of this theory

교육 기관: Lujain A

2019년 7월 28일

it was so confusing but I tried my best, not cause the instructor is bad, just cause there were too many similar concepts

교육 기관: Rishabh S

2020년 4월 28일

The course is not that interesting but I really like the example from the different countries that was given by UNICEF.

교육 기관: Gilbert H

2020년 8월 15일

I think this course in very important for researchers in order to get the right answers from the communities

교육 기관: Bassel M A A

2017년 7월 5일

Quizzes are very confusing and English translation is awful and full of mistakes a

교육 기관: Anja J

2022년 2월 20일

Overall a good course, however quite repetitive which was often frustrating.

교육 기관: Jan S

2018년 2월 10일

Ok course, the further you get into the course th better the lectures,

교육 기관: Ni N

2020년 8월 7일

the pace is too slow, even for the introductory level.

교육 기관: Annie

2020년 4월 3일

Easy and fun!

교육 기관: Lucia K

2017년 10월 27일

Good course!

교육 기관: Ibrahima

2019년 3월 22일

Excellent

교육 기관: Suraj k

2020년 5월 13일

I learnt to critically question how peoples behaviors are motivated. Examples from different communities were good. The language jargon could be lesser so concepts could be understood more easily.

I wish the course could have been more valuable in terms of teaching us how to measure behaviour and also in terms of the hours spent.

교육 기관: Mohamed A

2017년 7월 15일

Very very boring course and old English to understand , i don't recommend it to anyone who isn't interested in those things , if you are not , you will just stuck in it and cannot go through it , hard to understand , lake of info and lake of teaching ability , i really didn't like it , the worst online course i have ever had

교육 기관: Spyridon P

2016년 6월 23일

The quiz in this course is not helping this learning experience to be positive

교육 기관: Makawa C

2020년 4월 30일

How can I access my certificate after course completion