Chevron Left
Social Norms, Social Change I(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Social Norms, Social Change I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,871개의 평가
482개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

최상위 리뷰

EC

2022년 2월 21일

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

PE

2019년 3월 5일

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

필터링 기준:

Social Norms, Social Change I의 472개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Kevin A

2019년 6월 8일

The course covered the basic components and provided examples to understand the social norms and change, the real life illustrations did make the concepts easier for me to grasp. The discussions at the end of every week also make the course a great platform for learning from other participants.

교육 기관: Manuel G

2017년 1월 2일

It is a Great course for who ever is working with Social organizations and with projects dealing with social Norms, even for another people is always good to understand some patterns of behavior. Am liking a lot what am learning, it is good form my work as Project Manager of an Mozambican NGO.

교육 기관: Roy H

2019년 1월 25일

Perfectly constructed course. It opened my eyes to whole set of new perspectives. I highly recommend this course. The professor is very expressive and detailed in her explanations and her techniques are very well adapted to an online experience and to beginners in this field. Best of luck!

교육 기관: Karolin G B

2020년 5월 27일

Aprendi muito no curso , sobre conhecimentos e normas que eu não imaginava haver tanta pluralidade. A didática é incrível e a professora está sempre recapitulando os termos para que não haja confusão. No fim , você aprende tudo sem problemas. Estou ansiosa para a segunda parte do curso.

교육 기관: Mariya K

2017년 8월 11일

The course is really great and very interesting! The only point that would make it even better - any feedback from the lecturer for the tasks with questions for discussion. As for me it was really not so easy to find the answers and examples and I am not sure if all of them are correct.

교육 기관: Nora S

2019년 8월 27일

Very interesting, useful and intriguing course and a topic to me! The combination of the main lecturer knowledge and experience with the specific stories of on-the-field practitioners all over the world makes the course more practical and realistic. I wouol definately go for Part II

교육 기관: Nikolaos L

2019년 12월 4일

The course is very interesting and worths every minute. I feel I have learnt a lot about different behavioural patterns we engage in, how to identify norms and how to measure them. It is strongly recommended to those who want to work in NGOs and/or carry out field social research.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 5월 24일

Very informative course with a focus on structuring rather routine terms which allows you to see it from a different angle. Strongly recommend to those who are involved in any social voluntary organisations as well as those who are interested in phycology or related topics!

교육 기관: aspiration

2020년 4월 28일

It's very important roles that online courses play on this period of time..social studies are meeting what the wold needs to progress..The slides are well prepared and the voice is so clear as well most important thing is that the subject it selve is interesting and valuable

교육 기관: Maria A M

2019년 1월 31일

Really interesting subject, well presented, even better explained, quite complete as a first touch with this topic. I felt like it put an order in my mind on things I already knew or had noticed happening around me and helped me a lot about how to use them consciously.

교육 기관: Evelyn M

2020년 8월 27일

The course was very empowering, rich in many better ways of interpreting social norms .

I struggled with the many new terms, coming form Physics background, it was really tough for me.

In fact I had to take some test more than once.

Nonetheless, the course is very rich.

교육 기관: Raj K S

2017년 1월 31일

This course was very effective in earning orientation and skills on understanding social norms, expectations (empirical and normative) and measuring norms through tools. Its really critical in delivering our activities and programming in more effective and efficient

교육 기관: Ramesh B V

2020년 8월 15일

The course is very useful, and beneficial for me to learn the new concepts and technical terminology. Some of the examples are very useful and productive in learning. Some needs to be elaborated or changed. Continuous use of the same examples idea is excellent.

교육 기관: NLEMADIM P C

2020년 6월 12일

The above course is very impacting as it addresses most of the issues that we are facing here in Nigeria. The topic that really stood out for me was PLURALISTIC IGNORANCE. I thank UNICEF,COURSERA AND THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA for this wonderful opportunity.

교육 기관: Linda J

2020년 11월 29일

I found it to be a very informative course. The concepts and terminology were challenging at first, but for the most part flowed once the basic terms were clear. I enjoyed the course structure and the use of videos, reading, quizzes, guest examples. Thanks.

교육 기관: Durba G

2022년 3월 20일

​Thank you, Dr. Biccheri and Coursera, for this enlightening and thought-provoking course. This is a must-attend course for anyone interested in working on norm change. The framework and tools I gained from this course will be invaluable in my future work.

교육 기관: Shweta B

2017년 12월 5일

It was useful and informative. What it helped me is with providing a different perpective of viewing a social set up, how the issue can be tackled and what could be the alternate way of solving it.

As a professional working in CSR it has been an aid me for.

교육 기관: Balaji V

2017년 7월 7일

An excellent course to pursue. Cleared number of doubts about society and the decisions made by them. learning from this course will definitely benefit me in upcoming time. Many thanks to instructor, the university and coursera for such enriching course.

교육 기관: Vivek R

2019년 8월 26일

It's a wonderful experience of mine as it was my first online course. The way the things have been taught was awesome. Clear Voice, subtle statements with a bunch of examples to elaborate. Subtitles to make it more clear. Regular assessment. Everything!

교육 기관: Hannah A G

2018년 11월 4일

This is a very useful and informative course for me, especially in my line of work in research and public administration. I hope more people could take this course and appreciate the process of understanding and perhaps changing social norms.

교육 기관: Yazhini M

2020년 5월 31일

The alternating between videos and text kept me interested in the course. In my experience, I have had very little to learn from online courses, but I learned new concepts in this course. I am definitely going to do the second parts as well.

교육 기관: Desi C

2017년 8월 12일

Great course for those who have a concern for social change and a non prudential personal normative belief to bring a social change for benefit of all. Greatly structured course and very well explained by

Cristina Bicchieri.

Thanks a lot :-)

교육 기관: Riccardo R

2022년 3월 30일

B​rilliant. It's a perfect companion course (and more) to Bicchieri's books and papers. Highly recommended.

Sad to see so many people faking their replies in the discussion prompt exercises just to get - I guess - that 100% achievement (?).

교육 기관: Maira C

2021년 11월 27일

A social norms approach to trade calls for identifying behaviors you would love a group of people to undertake, at the same time as increasing perceptions of that conduct as something individuals in their group do or are starting to do.

교육 기관: Macseline B M

2020년 4월 15일

This is a good course that gives one an in debt knowledge of societal norms, community reactions to the norms and how they can be evaluated and the bad norms can be eradicated. i am very impressed and hope to continue when time permits