Chevron Left
Social Norms, Social Change I(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Social Norms, Social Change I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,808개의 평가
463개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

최상위 리뷰

PE
2019년 3월 5일

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
2019년 6월 25일

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

필터링 기준:

Social Norms, Social Change I의 453개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Anthony C A

2016년 8월 13일

I like the course! Very practical! It satisfies my curiosity and interest in answering why people behave the way they do.

교육 기관: Aksheyaa A

2020년 4월 2일

As a psychologist and a human rights major, I felt this course was extremely useful to me and will help me in my future!

교육 기관: Godfred O A

2017년 4월 18일

Excellent program. I really appreciate the new exposure to bring social issues and conditions pertaining to social life.

교육 기관: Josyula K L

2017년 5월 4일

This course was well-paced. The short videos, sprinkled with questions, and interspersed with essays, worked very well.

교육 기관: Hekmatullah K

2020년 6월 27일

The course gives you a clear understanding of the social root of the problems and how to do research in solving them.

교육 기관: Ruby S

2017년 7월 4일

The course was wonderful to make me understand how open defecation is a social norm and make my facts clear about it.

교육 기관: Sarah P

2016년 10월 6일

A very fascinating course if you're interested in learning the inner workings of why people behave the ways they do.

교육 기관: Olha K

2017년 2월 16일

The course is practically oriented and is connected to the most challenging topics in UNICEF practice. Very useful!

교육 기관: Melati A A

2021년 4월 11일

Incridible, this course was really helpful for student who trying to comprehend social norms or sociological major

교육 기관: Marco C

2020년 3월 28일

I am a real beginner in this field, I enjoyed the clear explanations of the basic concepts, definitions and tools

교육 기관: Saori G

2017년 12월 2일

One of the best courses I have taken online. A must if working for outreach programmes in the humanitarian field.

교육 기관: Xiaoyu H

2019년 3월 25일

This course is quite good for me, a beginner of sociology research, to get to know some theory of the society.

교육 기관: Do Q A

2019년 6월 28일

As a person who works in the development field, I found the content of this course is interesting and useful!

교육 기관: Geofrey T

2020년 11월 9일

The course content was delivered in a way that is user-friendly and easy to navigate through and understand.

교육 기관: Marzie A

2019년 12월 8일

Great resource for those designing social surveys/experiment and want to enhance their survey design skills.

교육 기관: Amr M S R

2018년 12월 13일

I was a great course and we learned a lot and learned how to work with society in a different waymany thanks

교육 기관: Nirmal G

2019년 8월 28일

It is wonderful to learn about how our society and the way people living in it behave;cause and effects.

교육 기관: Lucy D

2017년 10월 18일

I was evaluating the 'manageability' of these types of courses and found it very 'manageable'! so 10/10!

교육 기관: Sabrina P

2019년 5월 11일

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

교육 기관: Zark B

2020년 8월 7일

Good and basic introduction to people who want to learn about how other people act and why they do so.

교육 기관: Luz H H

2019년 12월 5일

The content was clear, relevant and contextualized for a better understanding throughout the lectures.

교육 기관: Nirina A

2016년 9월 28일

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

교육 기관: JOY O

2020년 9월 6일

So far, the course has been very interesting and elaborative. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

교육 기관: Kirubhaharan j

2019년 7월 24일

This course social norms and social I can help to understand current situation take in part of world

교육 기관: Ritsu N

2017년 6월 26일

Very useful course. Gave me a lot of ideas on how to go about designing social change initiatives.