Chevron Left
Number Theory and Cryptography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Number Theory and Cryptography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
282개의 평가
53개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We all learn numbers from the childhood. Some of us like to count, others hate it, but any person uses numbers everyday to buy things, pay for services, estimated time and necessary resources. People have been wondering about numbers’ properties for thousands of years. And for thousands of years it was more or less just a game that was only interesting for pure mathematicians. Famous 20th century mathematician G.H. Hardy once said “The Theory of Numbers has always been regarded as one of the most obviously useless branches of Pure Mathematics”. Just 30 years after his death, an algorithm for encryption of secret messages was developed using achievements of number theory. It was called RSA after the names of its authors, and its implementation is probably the most frequently used computer program in the word nowadays. Without it, nobody would be able to make secure payments over the internet, or even log in securely to e-mail and other personal services. In this short course, we will make the whole journey from the foundation to RSA in 4 weeks. By the end, you will be able to apply the basics of the number theory to encrypt and decrypt messages, and to break the code if one applies RSA carelessly. You will even pass a cryptographic quest! As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

최상위 리뷰

PW

Nov 22, 2018

I was really impressed especially with the RSA portion of the course. It was really well explained, and the programming exercise was cleverly designed and implemented. Well done.

TK

May 28, 2020

I cant think of any other best way of presenting cryptography to beginners. Everything presented in the course has some connection to cryptography, really enjoyed RSA quest.

필터링 기준:

Number Theory and Cryptography의 53개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Jakub D

Sep 09, 2019

Good introduction

교육 기관: NIKHIL P

Sep 16, 2019

very usefull

교육 기관: DANISH M

Apr 26, 2020

nice course

교육 기관: HaotianWang

Jul 19, 2018

challenging

교육 기관: Christopher W

May 10, 2020

Bravo! Oh man, the "RSA Quest" was the most amazing thing ever! I can't even believe it worked out. And ended with a nod to one of my favorite authors!

This course was one of the most challenging, and at the same time rewarding courses I've done on Coursera. I absolutely love learning from these instructors. Their explanations are so methodical and complete that you really get a good understanding of not only the facts they assert, but the "why" and "how" beneath it. Thank you!

교육 기관: ABHISHEK S

May 28, 2020

Highly recommended. Initially, the course seems to be a bit slow-paced but later you will understand that it was all necessary to build the foundation. The material is very good especially the exercises. The last portion teaches you RSA encryption and its prospective attacks. Overall the course was very well structured and intuitive, it made me think and apply the concepts taught.

교육 기관: T K

May 28, 2020

I cant think of any other best way of presenting cryptography to beginners. Everything presented in the course has some connection to cryptography, really enjoyed RSA quest.

교육 기관: Chandrakala P

May 03, 2020

Faculty gave good explaination

교육 기관: Dhruv P

May 03, 2020

The best!

교육 기관: Satyam K M

Jun 01, 2020

good

교육 기관: Luis M V F

Jan 11, 2020

In general, this course is much better than the previous 3, and I enjoyed all weeks but Week 4. I think Michael Levin should improve his explanations, and also try to give further examples about the algorithms he is talking about. I would say that it is worthy taking this course, but I really hope Week 4 can be improved.

교육 기관: Greg L

Dec 11, 2017

Generally pretty good. Pretty easy level, and the maths is undemanding. Some imprecision in the wording of the tests, and a little too easy on the programming side, but well worthwhile if you still have some holes in your understanding of the principles of RSA encryption.

교육 기관: Stephen L

May 11, 2018

The class was interesting but I felt it was difficult and not explained well...to do the modules I had to constantly go back and re-read the slides, re-watch the lectures. There weren't any examples, I feel it would have been helpful in order to grasp the material.

교육 기관: Arijit S

May 15, 2020

It was challenging and interesting. The only issue what I feel is that I am not from a coding background, so to understand the coding concepts were a bit tough. And I asked my queries through forums, but no reply came. But overall, it was an interesting course

교육 기관: Md. A K

May 07, 2020

The instructor tried their best to explain difficult topics like cryptography to make as easy as possible. For this, they really deserve great appreciation. It can be improved if they did not just read out the slides but explain them in some places.

교육 기관: Aren T

Nov 20, 2019

Final week is a bit rushed, think it would have benefited from being one week longer.

Nevertheless, an excellent introduction to an extremely difficult and complex subject.

교육 기관: Stephen S

Apr 18, 2020

Great introduction to number theory, with little to no assumed knowledge. Proceeds quite quickly, but remains relatively simple and introduces concepts well.

교육 기관: Gautham A N

Dec 09, 2018

Amazing course, learnt a lot. The assignments were a bit difficult [ and time consuming ] but they helped me gain a better understanding of the concepts.

교육 기관: Ivan L F

Apr 08, 2018

Good material and presentation from the professors. Programming exercises were a bit confusing at times. Overall, short but mathematically solid course.

교육 기관: Alex Y

Jan 17, 2019

Sometimes material is very dense. Watching in 1x speed multiple times advisable for some modules later in the course.

교육 기관: Tomáš N

Apr 29, 2020

It was really slow in the beginning, but I loved the RSA Quest!

교육 기관: Ajit C B

Nov 21, 2017

Great course, just felt that the last quiz was a bit redundant.

교육 기관: Abhinav B

May 16, 2020

Some of the questions related to week6 did not behave properly

교육 기관: Nikhil Y

May 12, 2020

a really starter for cryptography!!

교육 기관: Matthew W

Dec 02, 2017

The quiz from the RSA segment is a drag. The reason is that I don't see the implementation of the "given" functions and debugging via the text box provided is annoying. The first 3 segments are well prepared and have enough information for someone like me to pursuit this topic further.