Chevron Left
Old Norse Mythology in the Sources(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Old Norse Mythology in the Sources 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
98개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course is an introduction to the religion of the Vikings as it is recorded in Old Norse and Scandinavian literature from the medieval period. You will learn about the different written sources and what they can teach us about pre-Christian religion in northern Europe in the Viking Age. The course surveys the primary collection of Old Norse poetry about the pre-Christian Scandinavian gods, the Poetic Edda. We will also work with the main collections of stories about the Old Norse gods in prose: Snorri Sturluson's Edda and Saxo's History of the Danes....

최상위 리뷰

JH

2021년 11월 23일

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

ST

2022년 5월 9일

Just finished 'The Last Kingdom' and found the Saxon/Danish world so fascinating. This further deepened my knowlegde of the history of the broader Scandanavian world. Loved it!

필터링 기준:

Old Norse Mythology in the Sources의 43개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Ramon v O

2022년 2월 24일

​While the topic is highly interesting, and the teacher clearly knows his stuff. The course itself is hardly interactive, and only a powerpoint presentation with a voice reading the exact text of the slides. I stopped the course.

교육 기관: Rafael M C

2022년 2월 1일

I didn't like this course. I stopped after the first module (first week) because I checked and the rest of the course follows the same structure. T​he videos are monotonous and the instructor could be easily subtituted by a list of bullet points. He rarely makes any observations and the tests are atrocious quizzes wanting people to remember specific dates from an infinity of dates provided. After teh first week, I felt that I didn't teh information I had hoped to learn. The quality of this course is really poor and I don't hink this is a good introduction to the topic. A suggestion is for the videos to be a little more dynamic and interactive. Another thing that could be different is teh presence of the instructor in some of the videos. Finally, I would like to suggest you don;t foucs the quizzes into a bunch of dates only scholars would know by heart.

교육 기관: Steven S

2021년 11월 30일

D​r. Nordvig presents interesting information. It is not just the dates and places, it is the who and the why. I took everything I thought I knew, and flipped it on its head. I am glad I took the class and look forward to further classes presented by Dr. Nordvig.

교육 기관: Tomasz G

2022년 4월 7일

E​xcellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

교육 기관: Paul G

2021년 12월 2일

Useful intro with good course content, spoilt by errors in test questions and lack of responce from coursera to reported issues.

교육 기관: Thomas W

2022년 3월 7일

I​ really do want to offer my thanks to Dr. Nordvig for offering such an in-depth course for free, and greatly admire his philosophy behind doing so. I was trying to prepare for a Masters degree in Medieval Studies, and already had some experience with medieval Icelandic sagas, but this course hugely informed me about Eddic poetry and Old Norse mythology as an academic study.

F​rom this course I have learned, amongst many other subjects, about gods, monsters, and heroes; about the structure of pre-Christian Scandinavian society and religious groups, and the consequent influence of Christianity on medieval authors; finally about the concept of euhemerism, which was both new and intriguing for me.

F​or anyone considering taking this course, whether for academic purposes or simply to learn more about a mythology that has permeated Western culture for centuries, I cannot recommend it enough. Dr. Nordvig is clearly an expert in his field, though his presentations are easy to follow and to understand, and I encourage anyone who finishes the course to read his own publications and to read more into the subject matter.

1​0/10.

교육 기관: Elizabeth G

2022년 1월 29일

This course gives a brief but fairly comprehensive introduction to Old Norse Mythology as found in the early sources, around the 12th to 14th centuries. The lectures are concise and interesting. The instructor has chosen the topics well and also has done a good job condensing the stories for students. I wish there was more explanation about Skaldic and Eddic poetry (meter, rhyme, structure??) but maybe that is best left to another course.

교육 기관: Viking G R

2021년 12월 4일

Good Introduction to Norse Mythology, definitely learned some interesting details especially regarding historical evidence of runic inscriptions, age of written records and how written compositions were influenced by the author and the dominant religious dogma of the time.

교육 기관: Linda B

2022년 3월 8일

Through this course I was able to become acquainted with the foundations of Old Norse Mythology-- the terminologies, important texts, important dates, and the historical contexts. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to get a quick intensive on this subject.

교육 기관: Rheged-armer T

2022년 1월 31일

A really good overview for anyone wanting to have an objective academic approach to Old Norse Mythology. It would be a real help to all those discovering Norse mythology so that they could be objective and not take things out of context.

교육 기관: ad k

2022년 3월 28일

An amazing course indeed, and I'd say the most user-friendly course from Colorado system I have taken so far. I have taken a bunch of history and mythology courses, this course taught me a lot though, I gotta admit

교육 기관: Justin H

2021년 11월 24일

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

교육 기관: Shawn T

2022년 5월 10일

Just finished 'The Last Kingdom' and found the Saxon/Danish world so fascinating. This further deepened my knowlegde of the history of the broader Scandanavian world. Loved it!

교육 기관: Autumn R

2022년 8월 17일

This covers the basics of the myths and establishes a basic understanding of the historical and cultural context and knowledge that we currently have surrounding the sources.

교육 기관: Victor R

2021년 11월 22일

This was a most fascinating and interesting course that I completed on Coursera so far! Looking forward to complete it with honours as well! Skål and may Odin be with you! :)

교육 기관: Jake H

2022년 8월 1일

Absolutely love your course. Your breakdown of Old Norse Mythology was easy to follow and understand. Thank you so much for your knowledge and time!

In Regards, Jake H

교육 기관: Diane F

2022년 7월 31일

V​ery interesting and well done. My only negative is that I would like to have 2 chances on the quizzzes before having to wait 24 hours.

교육 기관: Gregory J

2022년 5월 5일

Incredibly insightful and well put together; highly recommended for anyone intersted in learning more about this fascinating culture!

교육 기관: Mary R S L

2022년 5월 6일

I really love it. I enjoyed this course so far. It made me learn more about Old Norse Mythology and learn more about history.

교육 기관: David H

2022년 2월 5일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, well presented and easy to follow. Now I've got a much better understanding of this topic.

교육 기관: JUAN C O C

2022년 1월 1일

It's been fantastic to take this course, I can't wait for the next one of this compilation of courses

교육 기관: Ragnar L

2022년 4월 24일

Great course. Fun course. I learned a lot and am inspired to learn much more about Norse Mythology.

교육 기관: Julie T

2021년 12월 2일

A​ great way to get an overall view of Nordic Mythology. Good content!! Easy to understand.

교육 기관: javier a

2022년 7월 28일

A very good introductory course on the written sources we have for Norse mythology

교육 기관: Linda R

2022년 7월 14일

I​t was very interesting but I really wanted to learn about the stories themselves