Chevron Left
Classical papers in molecular genetics(으)로 돌아가기

제네바대학교의 Classical papers in molecular genetics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
226개의 평가
58개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You have all heard about the DNA double helix and genes. Many of you know that mutations occur randomly, that the DNA sequence is read by successive groups of three bases (the codons), that many genes encode enzymes, and that gene expression can be regulated. These concepts were proposed on the basis of astute genetic experiments, as well as often on biochemical results. The original articles were these concepts appeared are however not frequently part of the normal curriculum of biologists, biochemists and medical students. This course proposes to read study and discuss a small selection of these classical papers, and to put these landmarks in their historical context. Most of the authors displayed interesting personal histories and many of their contributions go beyond not only the papers we will read but probably all their scientific papers. Our understanding of the scientific process, of the philosophy underlying the process of scientific discovery, and on the integration of new concepts is not only important for the history of science but also for the mental development of creative science....

최상위 리뷰

MM

2018년 5월 31일

Amazing course! Very well designed and delivered. It was specially delightful to have some historical context to the papers, as well as insight into the biography of the scientists themselves.

VV

2020년 5월 30일

The professor was excellent and dedicated. I request the professor to take a course on fundamental papers in Biochemistry.\n\nThank you professor Dominique!

필터링 기준:

Classical papers in molecular genetics의 58개 리뷰 중 51~58

교육 기관: Megha K

2017년 10월 19일

Excellent course content and delivery.

교육 기관: 121910101012 K S S M

2020년 12월 17일

nice :)

교육 기관: 321910304004 g

2021년 10월 9일

GOOD

교육 기관: Paola M A

2020년 4월 30일

Hello!

The course topic is very interesting but the quality of the subtitles is mediocre.

If you need help to review or write the English, French or Italian subtitles of Biology/Genetics/Biochemistry/Chemistry/ Medicine etc... courses I'll be glad to help. Should I get in touch with a specific department ?

Stay safe and happy,

Paola Malaspina Antinori

교육 기관: John K

2016년 8월 6일

Several papers for the course are behind pay walls. No one seems to monitor the forums on an ongoing basis. As someone new to the field of molecular genetics, I took the course to learn about the seminal work. I found the context and explanations by the professor to be very helpful.

교육 기관: Mustafa A A

2019년 8월 30일

Course was very informative an interesting, but needed to read long papers which didn't need to be there, as most concepts were well explained in videos. also its a bit of high level knowledge for high school students

교육 기관: Rosmeli A R L

2020년 9월 17일

no tiene traducciones en otros idiomas solo ingles, se hace mas complicado así realizarlo cuando no es tu idioma natal

교육 기관: Michael H

2020년 8월 4일

I only got into the second week, and I decided to drop this course. I did not wish to devote any more time to it.

I was hoping to hear some good stories of the history of science. And I was looking for some understandable explanations of complicated material, but I was disappointed in several ways.

The explanations were sometimes clear and sometimes not. The illustrations were not particularly good and vastly too complex for me to follow. They were mostly pulled from textbooks and papers and were not adapted specifically to the online environment. It seemed like they were not used because they were good examples for teaching, but because they were readily available.

The transcription was autogenerated by a transcribing engine and had many mistakes and misspellings, including the names of the scientists, proteins and enzymes. No one had taken the time to read the transcription and make the needed corrections.

The technical aspects of the course...the audio quality and the video quality...were good.

I still like the topic and the idea of using this topic in a Coursera course. But the execution of the teaching was not good enough to warrant spending much time on this.