Chevron Left
Parallel programming(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Parallel programming 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,762개의 평가
268개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

최상위 리뷰

AL
2018년 4월 23일

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC
2017년 8월 24일

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

필터링 기준:

Parallel programming의 258개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Aliaksandr P

2016년 7월 16일

I like the course. I learned some nice ideas for parallel computations, not just Scala specific API.

To polish: sometime lectures and tasks contain many complicated but not significant details. And some important ideas are not emphasized. I had to filter the content carefully.

교육 기관: Krishna A

2017년 6월 12일

A very good course which teaches the techniques of Parallel Programming. Anyone wishing to upgrade their knowledge about Parallel Programming, should take this course. The principles are applicable universally, so you can take back the learnings and apply them in your work!

교육 기관: Santiago A A

2019년 7월 30일

Unbelievable. This course is a must for those who are looking to work in depth with data parallel intensive applications like Spark and want to understand the mathematics underlying the parallel computing. Thank you very much Viktor and Aleksandar!

교육 기관: Артем К

2017년 10월 15일

Nice course. Very interesting subjects, but have some cons. One is significant usage of imperative programming, also assignment`s difficulty level like a roller-coaster. Some was so easy and some was hard. Anyway, five stars for galaxy! :-)

교육 기관: Evgeny P

2016년 11월 13일

Quality of course material is great, the way of presenting material is also great. For those who liked first course by Martin Odersky I highly recommend to do this one. I had a real pleasure watching lectures and doing assignments.

교육 기관: Stanislav T

2018년 6월 26일

The topic is well explained in the videos and the assignments are challenging and fun. I really enjoyed how they (the assignments) are usually put in a context, e.g. they are part of some project and you can see some outcome.

교육 기관: Roman

2016년 7월 29일

This is very interesting course that contains a lot of useful information related to parallel programming. Assignments are challenging enough and it is also interesting to tweak some code in assignments even after submitting.

교육 기관: Anton M

2020년 4월 5일

Great course with challenging concepts to learn !

You'll study all fundamental ideas behind parallelism in Scala.

As a down sides, it's feels really short - only 4 weeks and sometimes instructors do not dive deep into details.

교육 기관: Nicolas D

2016년 8월 31일

This course shows different techniques for parallel algorithm and is quite advanced. It succeeds to be deep yet understandable, challenging yet achievable. All in all it is very well taught with very interesting assignments.

교육 기관: William H

2017년 8월 13일

The 3rd part in the set of scala specialization courses falls into place. This course is an introduction to the challenges of big data sets and the parallel computing solutions available to tackle it.

An excellent course.

교육 기관: Török E

2017년 1월 4일

Presents Scala's parallel collections, and how they work under the hood. The prefix-sum algorithm is quite mind-blowing, and so are Conc-Trees. The algorithms are presented with plenty of detail, step by step, I enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Jong H S

2017년 8월 19일

This course is a gem. The instructors' knowledge is of the highest quality, the contents are of the highest quality and the programming assignments are of the highest quality. All in all, this course is of Rolex quality.

교육 기관: Ashvin L

2018년 4월 24일

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

교육 기관: ravi c

2017년 8월 25일

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

교육 기관: viktor o

2016년 12월 19일

excellent course, a good way to showcase how scala is well suited to patallel programming.

The course itself is very practical and the instructors are very knowledgeable

교육 기관: Eric L

2016년 8월 14일

A worthwhile course. I enjoyed the lectures a lot. Really good grounding on principles which can be applied in other languages/platforms in addition to Scala.

교육 기관: Wiktor D

2016년 9월 23일

Very good introduction to the topic. Examples and programming exercises were very good, although last assignment was visibly less polished than earlier ones.

교육 기관: Tony H

2017년 10월 4일

Very deep. I learned a lot of useful techniques.

But I know it will take me many years before I can say I have mastered subject touched in this course.

교육 기관: Aleksander S

2017년 11월 18일

I learned a lot about parallel processing algorithms, way more than I expected. Even after spending over 10 years programming parallel data processing.

교육 기관: Janis R

2016년 6월 17일

Week 2 assignment was very interesting, thanks. Week 4 assignment was extremely hard to debug. Could you perhaps add more unit tests to BarnesHutSite?

교육 기관: Ivelina G

2016년 7월 5일

A very good course, the theories are explained well in the lectures and the assignments cover the learned information without being too difficult

교육 기관: Bruno M

2018년 12월 3일

Very good introductory theoretical foundation for parallell algorithms, and background for

the Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark course.

교육 기관: 张诺舟

2017년 2월 21일

very good course. It will be better if more reading material could be offered. The content in the lecture is a little bit hard to understand.

교육 기관: Michael D

2018년 5월 10일

I learned a lot about improving algorithms to run in a parallelized manner which is more efficient when having more than one cpu/computers

교육 기관: Rohan V

2019년 11월 26일

More emphasis on Parallel Data Structures is needed, course is relatively simple as compared to previous courses from same specialisation