Chevron Left
Parallel programming(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Parallel programming 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,764개의 평가
270개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

최상위 리뷰

AL
2018년 4월 23일

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC
2017년 8월 24일

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

필터링 기준:

Parallel programming의 258개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Luca D S

2017년 12월 1일

The course got me a bit lost on the most theoretical parts about folding, because the explanations and the whole concept take a while to arrive to a completion, being quite complicated. I had to re-run over those a few times. Nevertheless, all the comparison between aggregators and lego blocks help quite a lot

교육 기관: Agustín B S

2017년 6월 19일

I find the contents (theory behind) more challenging to follow than previous courses on the specialization, the nice thing is that the practical exercises are built so that they are still manageable and a good help to understand the lessons. I am missing Scala's actor model in this course, why is not there?

교육 기관: Mike D

2016년 8월 21일

The course achieves its objectives, but the assignments require too much effort for solving general problems, and relatively little for parallelism-related tasks. In other words, understanding what the problem is takes far more time than solving it. The Lego-assisted teaching is a definite plus though!

교육 기관: Romanna K

2017년 1월 1일

Would be good to introduce more about Scala native solutions like Futures, parallel data structures and best ways of using them on practice, cases and best practices how to work with shared data, avoid deadlocks, how to work best when you have to process large data or when you have massive calculations.

교육 기관: Алексей П

2019년 9월 13일

It would be great to have some tests for understanding algorithms (like in algorithms course), not only practice programming assignments. Assignments are really interesting but can't verify your understand material or not. Also it is possible to pass assignment event if you have mistakes in the code.

교육 기관: Álvaro L L

2016년 9월 24일

Some missed explanations in the first week (mergedSort implementation)

Tha last two videos are quite difficult to understand. The ConcBuffer structure seems to be poweful, but the explanation and examples are tight.

In this course, the weekly tasks are explained very well. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Sérgio T

2016년 11월 16일

It requires more effort on undestanding the algorithms involved in the problems, rather than paralelism and its techniques. Instead of 4 weeks it would benefit of an additional week - for those who take the course after the regular work hours at their job. So 5 weeks would be more adequate.

교육 기관: Valters V

2016년 9월 25일

I feel the concepts which are necessary to use in programming assignments are not discussed in the lectures enough. As result figuring out what the assignment steps are all about takes too much time. Some tasks are absolutely trivial, and others are simply too difficult.

교육 기관: Evgeny T

2016년 11월 10일

There are some really boring parts, like 10 first minutes of many videolectures. It's kinda difficult to watch list.map explained in detail, since it's a course supposed to be taken after the one on basic Scala.

Overall - it's really good, I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Viacheslav I

2017년 6월 3일

Interesting course, very useful to get to know concepts of parallel programming. Assignments could be a little bit simpler but involving more programming from scratch, not just filling in methods bodies. This would help more to understand concepts.

교육 기관: Stefano P

2016년 11월 21일

Some problems with downloads and to view videos on the mobile app (Android), with some videos recorded with a low volume.

Despite that interesting and I think would need more time to get deeper in the concepts showed.

교육 기관: Patrick L

2016년 8월 28일

I learned very useful programming techniques, but I'm a bit lost as to whether these techniques are "good practices" or if they are "existing parallel programming features in Java, transposed as-is in Scala"

교육 기관: Mateusz K

2016년 10월 2일

Appreciate the time spent by the authors to prepare all the course materials and the assignments. Everything clear and relatively self-contained. However, I still do not feel to be an expert in parallelism.

교육 기관: Kaushik N

2016년 8월 7일

The course was really good. Got to learn so much about parallel programming with that course. The explanation level is very basic and any Computer Science related person can easily grasp the concepts

교육 기관: Jean-Baptiste D

2020년 5월 21일

At its begining, this training doesn't look as polished and refined as the previous ones animated by Martin Odersky, but it quickly catch up with very efficient lessons and great practice exercises.

교육 기관: Martin K

2016년 6월 22일

Very good. Only things I wish were better is more comments in some assignments and more prepared tests. Also I miss not having "Statement of Accomplishment" like some other Scala courses :-(.

교육 기관: Steve N

2020년 7월 5일

I really learned to think of parallelism in different ways. My only issue was that a lot of the exercises required good spatial skills which are not my strength. Somehow though I passed.

교육 기관: Yihan S

2017년 5월 17일

The assignment could be optimized and avoid to be more academic since it may make student lost focus and spend too much time on the question itself rather than the parallel programming

교육 기관: Rodrigo D

2017년 4월 1일

Its a very good course! perhaps the in the practice code, before jumping into the problems they can provide a couple of simple examples/questions such that the main ideas are learnt.

교육 기관: Du L

2018년 6월 2일

Very challenging course, the assignments are more about practising using parallel programming, would be better to design an assignment to implement the parallel programming.

교육 기관: Gregory E

2018년 3월 29일

For this course you should have Advanced English level. Cause sentesce construction is so difficult and words so unusual that i had to some times google what i have to do.

교육 기관: Benoit P D

2016년 12월 20일

Very good course overall on the basics of parallel programming in scala. Would have been nice to talk a bit more on the low level setup (parallel and task construct code).

교육 기관: Tim G

2017년 10월 22일

Really good course covering some of the fundamentals of parallel programming, though for me I was hoping it would go into some of the Scala specifics a little more

교육 기관: Erkin U

2016년 10월 7일

Assignments are focused on problem-solving rather than the importance of parallelism, missing the point of the lecture. It is a Scala course, so it is always fun!

교육 기관: Rahul W

2016년 12월 11일

Good course but scala understanding is required for this course. So please register for prior course in the certification task to easily complete this course.