Chevron Left
Particle Physics: an Introduction(으)로 돌아가기

제네바대학교의 Particle Physics: an Introduction 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
809개의 평가
240개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

최상위 리뷰

VL

2021년 3월 26일

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MK

2017년 8월 4일

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

필터링 기준:

Particle Physics: an Introduction의 240개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Cao S S

2017년 9월 23일

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Dr.S S

2021년 6월 21일

Excellent Course

교육 기관: Dr. S K J

2020년 5월 11일

Excellent course

교육 기관: hassan a

2017년 12월 5일

Very Good Course

교육 기관: Raphael G C

2022년 1월 30일

Awesome course!

교육 기관: Arko P S

2020년 6월 28일

Great Course

교육 기관: Ryan C

2020년 10월 5일

Amazing!!!

교육 기관: Manuel H R

2020년 7월 29일

Very good.

교육 기관: Hrishit M

2021년 9월 23일

Excellent

교육 기관: natchimuthu V

2020년 9월 22일

thank you

교육 기관: Sunday O C

2020년 7월 5일

Very Good

교육 기관: Soumil G S

2020년 6월 20일

Excellent

교육 기관: Vikram M

2020년 5월 4일

Thank You

교육 기관: SAHIL A M

2021년 9월 24일

Great

교육 기관: SaIkat D

2021년 9월 24일

Great

교육 기관: 2K19/EP/103 V G

2022년 5월 5일

good

교육 기관: ROHIT N

2018년 4월 13일

Best

교육 기관: Tanmay G

2020년 6월 28일

nil

교육 기관: Dr. M A L G

2022년 4월 25일

-

교육 기관: Alicia m

2022년 5월 9일

This is the best coursera course I have taken. Unlike most of the science courses I have taken on coursera, this class moves beyond high school level content. It is still not at the level of the courses I took for my undergraduate physics degree - the homework and exams were difficult at university, while these questions are easily solved without much math. My main complaint about the course is the amount of handwritten equations - it is often hard to distinguish different characters in the handwriting. This was also a concern at university, but since these lectures are created for online learning, and not given in an actual classroom with a blackboard, it would be better to present typed equations.

교육 기관: Jean S

2019년 3월 5일

Excellent course, I recommend it. You will need to review the material offline and do some outside research occasionally to understand the material, but overall, it is quite comprehensive. The optional videos are sometimes more interesting than the course videos, so don't skip them!! Martin Pohl is really fantastic as the main presenter and interviewer. Mercedes Paniccia has a heavy accent and intonations which make it difficult for us north americans, but she is obviously quite competent at the research level. I just wish the presentations were more interactive than static. Overall I give it 4 stars for the material covered and quality.

교육 기관: Lane W

2020년 8월 25일

NOT AND INTRODUCTION

I feel badly giving this course anything less than four stars because the instructors put a lot of time into making it and I am VERY thankful that they offered the course for free to the world. I think it is a very noble thing.

There was value in the course for me for the first 2 or 3 modules but after that I hardly learned anything except some conceptual points about the Higgs Boson and Dark Matter because it was WAY above an entry level course. To get the most of the course you'd probably need to have either been exposed to it before or have a degree in it.

I am very thankful that they put it together though.

교육 기관: Tyler C

2017년 7월 18일

Fascinating course covering the fundamentals of the standard model up to current research. The material is dense - I often had to look back at previous videos to remember terms and concepts. The key mathematics is provided and gone over, but was a little fast paced for me. Most derivations are left out except for a few optional videos which cover simple ones. You don't necessarily need to understand the details of the mathematics to pass the graded assignments which just ask a few questions covering the main concepts. Overall this course is challenging but incredibly instructive.

교육 기관: Jana A

2020년 8월 12일

Very interesting course, but not for beginners. The information provided in the videos presupposed some knowledge in this field, which I unfortunately did not have. To understand the topics, I had to look for other sources. I would also welcome a terminological glossary explaining frequently used terms. A big problem for me was the English pronunciation of one lecturer. Otherwise, I rate this course very well. A number of things that interested me were clarified and I think it could be a good basis for further study.

교육 기관: Samy S

2017년 9월 17일

It is a very nice introductory course which is supported with laboratory session which is an awesome idea, but the mathematics used in this course is somehow higher level to me, so I recommend if there is any source to learn the mathematics behind this lectures. last but not least I would like to thank all the staff working on this course especially Dr. Martin, Dr. Mercedes, Dr. Anna for their attractive and elaborating way of lecturing