Chevron Left
Particle Physics: an Introduction(으)로 돌아가기

제네바대학교의 Particle Physics: an Introduction 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
809개의 평가
240개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

최상위 리뷰

VL

2021년 3월 26일

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MK

2017년 8월 4일

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

필터링 기준:

Particle Physics: an Introduction의 240개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Yokesh S

2020년 12월 11일

Many videos were hard to follow, mostly because of the language and accent of the instructor.

교육 기관: Harshit A

2020년 10월 23일

Content was good but the way of explaining was not up to the mark.

Content- 5/5

Teaching- 3/5

교육 기관: saurav d

2018년 4월 12일

B

e

s

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

f

o

r

u

n

d

o

r

understanding

P

a

r

t

i

l

c

l

e

p

h

y

s

i

c

s

.

T

o

M

e

r

c

e

d

e

s

p

l

e

a

s

e

i

m

p

r

o

v

e

your

e

n

g

l

i

s

h

교육 기관: Gustavo P

2017년 10월 8일

This course is quite good, I liked it a lot and learnt a lot from it.

교육 기관: Anirudh S

2019년 3월 6일

The number of questions should be increased in every section!

교육 기관: Prasanna K S

2020년 12월 4일

Really set of amazing series of lectures. Nicely explained.

교육 기관: Sahil A

2019년 8월 9일

It would be great if there were numerical problems

교육 기관: Saphilous S

2019년 6월 18일

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

교육 기관: Мясников В А

2020년 6월 9일

french accent of mercedes is not that good

교육 기관: Ayan B

2020년 9월 28일

The course is very informative indeed.

교육 기관: Richard K

2018년 7월 7일

Fast paced but informative.

교육 기관: Natnael M

2020년 8월 27일

It is a very nice cource.

교육 기관: Samantha S

2018년 3월 23일

i love the material

교육 기관: Ogunnaike F E

2020년 7월 9일

very easy to grasp

교육 기관: TARIT G

2017년 10월 15일

Very good approach

교육 기관: Ali H

2021년 6월 27일

.m

교육 기관: jose

2017년 12월 2일

v

교육 기관: Jacqueline T

2020년 8월 1일

Interesting material and good breadth. The difficulty level varies a lot between weeks - some weeks are very in depth while others seem like filler in comparison. There are a lot of equations introduced which require more knowledge of physics than I had expected from the course description and seem to be beyond the scope of an introductory course. Fortunately, following these equations is generally not necessary to understand the course objectives, but it does make following the lessons needlessly complex. Additionally, some of the quiz questions require memorization of specific numbers/values that are only tangentially related to the week's topic and don't help to further understanding of the subject matter.

교육 기관: Christian T

2021년 2월 3일

I prefere courses with more explanation in detail. For example calculations actually done in real time. Good example would be the University of Australias courses about cosmology on EdX. Back of the envelope calculations are done in detail.

Just videos of presentations are a bit boring. I rather read something.

I do not see the point of all the numbers and calculations in the presentations but the tests are just about the theory. I would rather have a course with less material but more depth or more general but easier to understand. The additional video about Feynman diagrams was my favorite. I would like more of that.

교육 기관: Hamza I

2020년 8월 28일

The course was very informative and finely detailed. I would say, however, that some parts or concepts were made a bit complicated and that they could have been easily explained/demonstrated.

교육 기관: Samuel L J

2017년 8월 7일

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

교육 기관: Egor A

2021년 12월 28일

The course is about just sitting and listening for a person reading a textbook on a camera. The only interesting parts are vodeos from the actual labs.

교육 기관: mrityunjoy s

2020년 7월 11일

there is a translation issue in some videos especially the ones with others (except Martin and Mercedes) and also the explanations are a bit monologous

교육 기관: Egemen B

2018년 8월 8일

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

교육 기관: Wei-shun B

2017년 9월 28일

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.