Chevron Left
Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
132개의 평가
36개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

최상위 리뷰

VS

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

GM

Jun 01, 2020

Loved it! Doing the whole 4 courses specialization. And the entire series is extremely interesting, quite fun to go through, and last but not least, very useful!

필터링 기준:

Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language의 36개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Michele D

Jul 04, 2017

Excellent course! Covers best practices for organizing a persuasive speech, as well as effective phrasing. Also addresses the use of "um" as fillers. Prof. McGarrity is an excellent teacher and keeps things fun and interesting.

교육 기관: Goralowski

Jul 05, 2017

Well done Matt. The course is full of practice tools how to prepare ourselves to convince others to our initiatives, thought etc.

교육 기관: felicia a

Jul 21, 2017

very interesting and helpful course, taught by a great professor in a lovely, easy and sometimes even funny way.

교육 기관: Shyam P

Jun 21, 2017

i love the professor. He is great! I took all of his classes on coursera. I hope to meet him in person one day.

교육 기관: Sharath K

Sep 06, 2017

Fantastic beginning course on Rhetoric.

교육 기관: LATHRO

Nov 11, 2018

Many useful tips to be a good speaker.

교육 기관: Aniceto P y M

Jul 20, 2017

Great McGarrity, as always

교육 기관: Juan T

Jun 06, 2017

Great course!

교육 기관: Muhammad W A

Sep 21, 2019

This course so so helpful and very easy to follow. Especially our teacher is very professional and He knows what He is doing and I am really impressed by his communications skills. I am very happy that I finally completed it. Thanks a lot for everything.

교육 기관: Santosh S

Oct 16, 2017

I think this is one of the best on persuasive speaking. THis is I feel also best of this specialization.

I was working on my persuasive speech for Toastmasters (CC#9 - project 9 of competent communicator manual) and this helped me lot!

교육 기관: Vincent S

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

교육 기관: Guillaume M

Jun 01, 2020

Loved it! Doing the whole 4 courses specialization. And the entire series is extremely interesting, quite fun to go through, and last but not least, very useful!

교육 기관: María d C O R

Apr 06, 2018

Muy buen curso, es excelente que al fin de cada video aparezca el recuento de lo tratado, esto facilita una revisión de lo aprendido.

Muchas gracias!!!

교육 기관: Prerna S

May 10, 2020

I liked it and I can say for sure it clears the doubts of a speaker and gives a clear understanding of how one can write effective speeches.

Regards

교육 기관: Mona e

Jul 18, 2020

Really recommend completing this course, gives great tips on how to convey your point across in a comprehensive and persuasive manner!

교육 기관: Panagiotis S

Oct 03, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

교육 기관: Ronald L W S

Jun 03, 2020

Great course! I highly recommend this if you're looking into improving your communication skills, especially communicating ideas.

교육 기관: Kellyn C

Jun 03, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Professor has a good sense of humor. He did a good job at explaining what makes a persu

교육 기관: Oleksandr T

Dec 23, 2017

This is the 3rd course of this specialization completed so far. Very interesting and entertaining.

교육 기관: Florence G

May 11, 2020

Very interesting course mainly for argumentation part. Thanks to Matt Mc.Garrity.

교육 기관: Rebeca C

Mar 20, 2020

thank you so much for all of your professionalism

교육 기관: Muhammed N A

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent. Matt is good teacher ever!

교육 기관: Venkata N C

Nov 02, 2017

Very practical and insightful

교육 기관: Muhammad A

Jul 01, 2020

very good course

교육 기관: Nhat Q L

Jul 02, 2019

Great Course