Chevron Left
Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
98개의 평가
23개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

최상위 리뷰

VS

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

PS

Oct 03, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

필터링 기준:

Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language의 23개 리뷰 중 1~23

교육 기관: Sharath K

Sep 06, 2017

Fantastic beginning course on Rhetoric.

교육 기관: Juan T

Jun 06, 2017

Great course!

교육 기관: Shyam P

Jun 21, 2017

i love the professor. He is great! I took all of his classes on coursera. I hope to meet him in person one day.

교육 기관: Michele D

Jul 04, 2017

Excellent course! Covers best practices for organizing a persuasive speech, as well as effective phrasing. Also addresses the use of "um" as fillers. Prof. McGarrity is an excellent teacher and keeps things fun and interesting.

교육 기관: Goralowski

Jul 05, 2017

Well done Matt. The course is full of practice tools how to prepare ourselves to convince others to our initiatives, thought etc.

교육 기관: Aniceto P

Jul 20, 2017

Great McGarrity, as always

교육 기관: felicia a

Jul 21, 2017

very interesting and helpful course, taught by a great professor in a lovely, easy and sometimes even funny way.

교육 기관: LATHRO

Nov 11, 2018

Many useful tips to be a good speaker.

교육 기관: Vincent S

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

교육 기관: Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

교육 기관: María d C O R

Apr 06, 2018

Muy buen curso, es excelente que al fin de cada video aparezca el recuento de lo tratado, esto facilita una revisión de lo aprendido.

Muchas gracias!!!

교육 기관: Santosh S

Oct 16, 2017

I think this is one of the best on persuasive speaking. THis is I feel also best of this specialization.

I was working on my persuasive speech for Toastmasters (CC#9 - project 9 of competent communicator manual) and this helped me lot!

교육 기관: Oleksandr T

Dec 23, 2017

This is the 3rd course of this specialization completed so far. Very interesting and entertaining.

교육 기관: Venkata N C

Nov 02, 2017

Very practical and insightful

교육 기관: Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

교육 기관: Hao W

Sep 28, 2018

Completed

교육 기관: Panagiotis S

Oct 03, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

교육 기관: Nhat Q L

Jul 02, 2019

Great Course

교육 기관: Muhammad W A

Sep 21, 2019

This course so so helpful and very easy to follow. Especially our teacher is very professional and He knows what He is doing and I am really impressed by his communications skills. I am very happy that I finally completed it. Thanks a lot for everything.

교육 기관: Linda E

Aug 13, 2019

Really rigorous. Learned alot. Final assignments were a bit redundant.

교육 기관: Marcelo B Y

Nov 09, 2017

Good corse, great practice with the vídeos. The interaction in the forums and groups is quite low, I thiink because s

교육 기관: GIOSUE P

Jun 13, 2019

A bit better than the previous courses, yet again: too many videos that do not provide consistent tips and strategies to improve the analysis and the production of speeches. Sometimes the videos are boring and the content non-stimulating.

교육 기관: Astrid P D

Aug 06, 2017

I prefer to stop the course because I can't longer watch more video with this professor. I am totally sorry but the way he speaks without pause, silence is very disturbing for me.

I prefer to give up and focus on other MOOC with the same topic but a more accessible presentation.