Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
613개의 평가
135개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

NV

Feb 06, 2019

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 133개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Yohann C

Jul 08, 2018

Very Interesting

교육 기관: Essaq A R

Mar 20, 2018

At the first I would like to thank you from Edinburgh university to offered and especially thank you from all of my teachers

교육 기관: Jonathan A H

Jun 11, 2017

This course was a great introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. Though I have been finishing a feature film called One 2 Zero which contains much of the philosophy and science presented here, I was happy to find there is always more to learn. Once the film is completed I am looking forward to beginning my graduate education in this field. Thank you!

교육 기관: Frank R

Apr 24, 2017

Outstanding introductory philosophy course, taught in an accessible format by knowledgeable instructors. This is a rewarding and enjoyable course.

교육 기관: Eric R P

Jun 13, 2018

Los temas son fundamentales para iniciarse en el estudio de la cognición, a parte de los videos, las lecturas complementarias me parecieron excelentes.

교육 기관: Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

very interesting stuff.

교육 기관: mariana w c

Dec 02, 2017

very intersesting course, made easily understandable for everybody.

교육 기관: Stevanus L

Apr 07, 2017

Fun and great course!

교육 기관: Danny G

Jan 17, 2017

Simply yet informing and concise

교육 기관: Yingyi Z

May 16, 2018

A very good introductory course to the philosophy of mind and machines. Ideas are well explained and very easy to follow.

교육 기관: Ihsane E H

May 06, 2018

a very good/ useful mooc

교육 기관: Daniel S

Jun 14, 2017

SUper course, well worth the time to invest in this learning.

교육 기관: Héctor A L F

Jun 05, 2018

Very well articulated course.

교육 기관: Rigoberto J M A

Oct 26, 2016

Excellent.

교육 기관: Małgorzata S

Aug 06, 2017

An extremely informative course with a lot of optional readings for further study if one wishes to. Very accessible in terms of explanation. I can highly recommend to anyone interested in any aspect of cognition and perception.

교육 기관: FRANCISCO D C P G

Apr 17, 2017

The course focuses the top issues involving philsophy of sciences at present time, it is hosted by top figures in the field. Great course!

교육 기관: Harshit V

Jun 28, 2018

The interdisciplinary nature of cognitive sciences takes away a backseat when televised via the philosophical aspect of nature and reasons. The course opens up beautifully, skillfully inspiring the various approaches to the umbrella branches under cognitive sciences. AI, Consciousness and the philosophical approach binds and explains the fragility we are at this very space in time.

교육 기관: Wajdee C

Aug 24, 2017

<3 <3 ..

Enough to have a third eye !

교육 기관: Glenda F

Jul 21, 2017

Muy interesante e ilustrativo. Te permite intriducirte en aspectos complejos de las ciencias cognitivas sin demandar una especialización en este campo. El sistema de evaluaiones por questionarios es efectivo.

교육 기관: Andrew E D

Sep 19, 2017

I LOVED this course, I learned so much about cognitive Science!

교육 기관: Thomas J H

Jun 27, 2018

Highly recommended. Clear on what is science, what is philosophy, and what the convergent areas of inquiry are. High on sense, short on bombast, and deeply intellectually responsible. (The anti-Daniel Dennett approach). Much appreciated.

교육 기관: Aleksandra C

Feb 07, 2018

It was pretty interesting!

교육 기관: Agata Z

Nov 16, 2017

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Karina R J

Jul 09, 2017

Thank you for a great and interesting course. It gave a lot of inspiration and new angels to how our brain thinks!:)

교육 기관: Javier P M

Dec 22, 2017

Loved it. Never thought it was going to be this insightful. Grateful for running into this one and will tryout some more from this university.