Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
902개의 평가
200개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CG

Feb 11, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

Jun 25, 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 199개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: FRANCISCO D C P G

Apr 17, 2017

The course focuses the top issues involving philsophy of sciences at present time, it is hosted by top figures in the field. Great course!

교육 기관: Michael T

May 09, 2019

Great. Very interesting, not an overwhelming amount of work, but a great starter for anyone interested in philosophy of the mind.

교육 기관: luis j

Apr 20, 2019

Fascinating, the course catches you from the first instances, the story is agile, interactive, enjoyable and very professional

교육 기관: Michael O

Jan 07, 2020

Very insightful introductory course on the subject with ample creatively shot video material and additional reading sources.

교육 기관: Essaq A R

Mar 20, 2018

At the first I would like to thank you from Edinburgh university to offered and especially thank you from all of my teachers

교육 기관: Yingyi Z

May 16, 2018

A very good introductory course to the philosophy of mind and machines. Ideas are well explained and very easy to follow.

교육 기관: Nguyen V L

May 19, 2017

This course has boarden my point of view and it also has shown me the link between artificial intelligent and philosophy.

교육 기관: Jamie H

May 03, 2020

Excellent course. I learned so much. Pairs really well with the first course on the philosophy of the physical sciences.

교육 기관: Jilly M

Sep 02, 2019

Awesome, I learned lots, loved the McGurk effect just for the name. Great intro to this interesting and growing field.

교육 기관: Karina R J

Jul 09, 2017

Thank you for a great and interesting course. It gave a lot of inspiration and new angels to how our brain thinks!:)

교육 기관: Salvatore F

May 07, 2020

Very fascinating tutorial. An open mind point of view about our brain and its relation with the world surrounding it

교육 기관: Laura V

Apr 22, 2020

It is a great introductory course, covering a vast variety of topics. I truly enjoyed taking it! Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Omar S

Aug 03, 2020

I enjoyed this course. It was a fun experience and I got some basic information on what cognitive sciences cover.

교육 기관: Shradha K

Jan 14, 2019

Amazing.

Really useful and I understood all of it even though I do not have a background in this subject.

Thanks

교육 기관: Ian B B

Apr 27, 2020

Very interesting introductory course on Cognitive Sciences. I hope there'll be more related courses on this.

교육 기관: Blair K W D

Apr 29, 2020

Really enjoyed the course. I enjoyed learning about how the brain works. And how Cognitive Science works.

교육 기관: Peter

Aug 30, 2018

Very good overview into an interesting topic. Takes into account different views off the topic. Liked it!

교육 기관: Valentine N

Feb 06, 2019

A great subject it is thanks for enabling me go through it. I have gained some insight into cognition!

교육 기관: Vincent W

Sep 10, 2018

I learned some really interesting things from this course that I will be using in an upcoming project

교육 기관: Jorge R

May 02, 2018

This course I help myself to updating concepts and to be to the forefront in the area of philosophy.

교육 기관: Abdulkader K

Mar 29, 2020

It is a great course which introduces great facts and theories given by a great team of professors.

교육 기관: Belakhdar A

Apr 19, 2020

great cours and good teachers with aewsome plan and universitys, but ist verry small and beginner!

교육 기관: natascha i

Oct 20, 2017

Muy bueno. Claro. Conciso. Al alcance de quien desee aprender sobre esta interesante temática!

교육 기관: Prerana H

Mar 20, 2019

Excellent introduction to important concepts, with clear lectures and good reading materials

교육 기관: J Y T

Dec 16, 2017

Short and informative, full of food for thought for behavioural and social science students.