Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
693개의 평가
147개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CG

Feb 11, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 146개 리뷰 중 126~146

교육 기관: Troy

May 02, 2019

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

교육 기관: Guruswamy S

Feb 14, 2019

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

교육 기관: Sidney C

Jun 21, 2017

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

교육 기관: Derrick J R

Aug 05, 2017

I love these topics and all of the implications.

교육 기관: Dr C J W

Jan 25, 2019

I came to update my existing knowledge of Cognitive Science (which dates from the 1990s), and this short course worked well enough for that.

However, it was a bit variable in quality for me. Andy Clark was okay, I got annoyed with the Philosophy of Consciousness lecture (probably not the lecturer's fault, more the terms of the debate), but I really loved Series's lecture on the Bayesian Brain.

The quizzes will not leave you feeling you have achieved great things, however - too easy. I won't be purchasing a certificate for my wall.

교육 기관: Marcel D S

Jun 16, 2017

Nice introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. As a psychology undergraduate, I have seen some of the material before but still, I've learned a thing or two. My biggest problem with the course is that it's very short and the quizzes are no real challenge. It took me three days to finish this course with 100% accuracy which diminishes the value of the certificate. However, the course recommends some interesting readings with which I'll spend a bit more time with.

교육 기관: Zhou Y

Jun 18, 2017

The course is just a brief introduction to the topic. The content itself has some sparkling points. The main issue is that, there isn't a lot of correlation between the course itself with the quizzes. Making the quizzes not a very good way to self-evaluate and self-reflect on the content.

교육 기관: Esther R

Dec 17, 2018

It is an introductory course, it makes you curious about the topic but I found the last essay too complex for the level taught in the course. I would have liked it to be longer and that the weekly lectures were more linked.

교육 기관: Heike P M

May 08, 2018

Very interesting and mind opening course. I highly recommand it to those who are interested in the cross field of psychology, philosophy & technology.

교육 기관: Avi

Jan 20, 2018

Interesting videos, but quite basic. Would be good to include more cognitive psychology experiments and cases involving patients

교육 기관: Cliff S

Sep 19, 2016

Very nice course, active forum, no issues technical or otherwise -but- it is more about science than Philosophy.

교육 기관: Cindy G L

Jan 13, 2019

Interesting subject, but the course is only a quick introduction and doesn't go into much detail.

교육 기관: Antoine G

May 12, 2018

The course was interesting but I would have liked it to be more comprehensive and detailed.

교육 기관: Lavinia W

Aug 01, 2017

I would have liked more information on the development of the capacities of the brain.

교육 기관: Oldrich S

Feb 15, 2017

not so interesting and boring

교육 기관: manas s

Jul 24, 2019

make it more rigorous.

교육 기관: Jose A V B

Nov 20, 2016

Not very deep

교육 기관: Dorothy H

Sep 22, 2017

I'm really into the Cognitive Sciences - but not into robotics.

Thsi course is really about robotics.

You'll probably really enjoy it if you like robotics - but the course really needs a more accurate name.

교육 기관: 梁楠

Jan 11, 2017

I hope this course can be more systematic in terms of the structure on the concepts and lecturers.

교육 기관: Rich I

Aug 20, 2018

I expected more philosophy and psychology to be covered in this course. I completed this course.