Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,043개의 평가
234개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CG
2020년 2월 10일

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
2020년 6월 24일

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 232개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Cristian F G O

2018년 8월 28일

Excelente curso

교육 기관: Ritika N

2018년 2월 18일

Great Learning!

교육 기관: Meini S

2017년 7월 27일

good organized

교육 기관: Mario S S

2018년 3월 15일

It is great!

교육 기관: Diana M

2017년 1월 20일

good course

교육 기관: LARISSA B D

2020년 6월 2일

VERY WELL!

교육 기관: Rigoberto J M A

2016년 10월 26일

Excellent.

교육 기관: Roberto C y L

2020년 8월 6일

Loved it!

교육 기관: Gabriel V

2017년 1월 27일

excellent

교육 기관: Jorge P

2020년 6월 15일

Great!!!

교육 기관: Kermit B B

2017년 3월 19일

Awesome!

교육 기관: Madison B

2020년 7월 19일

Great!

교육 기관: Oky T S

2016년 11월 20일

Superb

교육 기관: damarillier@gmail.com

2017년 10월 11일

E

교육 기관: Victor J M C

2017년 12월 9일

This was a good course, and I have learned new things by taking the course, but it would have benefitted from more depth. It is, however, a course for which it must be stressed that the title contains "introduction". By taking the course, one gets an overview of different areas of Cognitive Science and how different researchers might do research in those areas. This is all very good, but I had expected more depth. The course requires one to understand what the researchers are saying - nothing more than that; one does not learn to think in a new way or to analyse cases. Overall, it is an interesting course, but it is more like a documentary with quizzes to test, if one has paid attention, than it is like a course, in which one needs to really understand the content.

교육 기관: Alain Q R

2018년 12월 10일

Very good course. Its topics are really well chosen. So the readings recommended. Its lecturers are well chosen too divided between more theoretical and more practical thinkers when the topic makes this distinction make sense or between a follower of some theory and a follower of an opposite (in some way) theory.

교육 기관: Vijaya D

2020년 6월 6일

I learned a lot from this introductory course on Philosophy of Cognitive science.

Professors were very engaging and gave lots of example to make the understand the concepts better.

The course has made me so motivated and I am looking forward to learn more on Cognitive science.

교육 기관: Lucy B

2020년 8월 29일

It was filled with information, almost too much to absorb and would have been much easier to understand with less technical, complicated terminology and overwhelming examples and references. Maybe simpler and more direct? The first part was fine and enjoyable and satisfying.

교육 기관: Daniel F

2017년 4월 17일

Extremely interesting topics; it is a quick and broad survey, so very superficial, though. Just a series of 10-15 minutes presentations introducing each aspect of the field. Don't be discouraged if you find the first week's presentation lacking/unengaging: it gets better.

교육 기관: Emiel d J

2018년 8월 24일

A very interesting course. Some of the lecturers where a bit monotone. And the information is quite hard to digest if you have little to no knowledge about cosmology. However besides that the course is amazing. It is a great introduction to the philosophy of science.

교육 기관: Ben m

2020년 7월 9일

Both expansive and provoking course. The magnitude of the implications found in the evolutionary psychology component, reconfirmed in the bayesian statistic concepts re a mammalian brain augmented by predictive models.. staggering! Compelling and rousing.

교육 기관: Jim K

2016년 12월 19일

I like the subject and the topics of each week are also interesting. However, the 4 weeks' content can only cover limited topics. And the course in Coursera can be improved by making the parts in each week clearer and reducing some subtitle mistakes.

교육 기관: Tan K Q

2017년 5월 6일

I am reading up on cognitive sciences for my PhD dissertation on cognitive narratology and space. The contents of this course are mostly very clearly presented. The topic is engaging, and I like the examples cited in the presentations.

교육 기관: Allison B

2017년 9월 3일

I think they should give us harder/more in-depth readings than just internet encyclopedia articles. It would be nice if they directed us to seminal papers that developed some of the ideas presented here instead of just summaries.

교육 기관: tuba y

2018년 1월 19일

Great as an introduction, but requires a lot of more in-depth individual research on the part of the novice learner, which could be facilitated by providing seminal readings - to let beginners know from where to start. Thank you