Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,166개의 평가
263개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CG
2020년 2월 10일

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
2020년 6월 24일

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 262개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Valentine N

2019년 2월 6일

A great subject it is thanks for enabling me go through it. I have gained some insight into cognition!

교육 기관: Gaelle R

2021년 2월 2일

Absolutely fantastic. Would love similar classes that build on this please, especially re: evolution!

교육 기관: Vincent W

2018년 9월 10일

I learned some really interesting things from this course that I will be using in an upcoming project

교육 기관: jorge e r g

2018년 5월 2일

This course I help myself to updating concepts and to be to the forefront in the area of philosophy.

교육 기관: Abdulkader K

2020년 3월 29일

It is a great course which introduces great facts and theories given by a great team of professors.

교육 기관: Belakhdar A

2020년 4월 19일

great cours and good teachers with aewsome plan and universitys, but ist verry small and beginner!

교육 기관: Fuyad b h

2020년 9월 25일

I want to thanks all of you who have involved with this course directly or indirectly to succeed.

교육 기관: Natascha I

2017년 10월 20일

Muy bueno. Claro. Conciso. Al alcance de quien desee aprender sobre esta interesante temática!

교육 기관: Jimena P L

2020년 10월 2일

Super interesting! It is simple but not to a level that becomes boring to hear the lectures.

교육 기관: Prerana H

2019년 3월 20일

Excellent introduction to important concepts, with clear lectures and good reading materials

교육 기관: J Y T

2017년 12월 16일

Short and informative, full of food for thought for behavioural and social science students.

교육 기관: Ramlal S

2020년 12월 31일

Excellent, this is my third course on Philosophy from UoE - super helpful. Thanks a lot !

교육 기관: Clare H

2018년 1월 12일

I thought this was a great overview: well-produced, engaging, and thought-provoking.

교육 기관: Lucas B P

2020년 7월 1일

Course that offers highly specialized knowledge in a very simple and concise way.

교육 기관: Proinsias R

2020년 2월 4일

Very enjoyable journey of insightful philosophical and scientific exploration.

교육 기관: Tang S S S

2018년 1월 9일

I am a full-time postgraduate student and have found this course very useful!

교육 기관: Alexander S

2017년 2월 13일

Very interesting material with really demonstrative examples and experiments.

교육 기관: Liliana

2019년 5월 13일

I loved! Too bad there were only 2-3 videos per week - could have been more!

교육 기관: Vikash M

2020년 7월 8일

A great overview of the twinning between cognitive sciences and philosophy.

교육 기관: Josip C

2017년 9월 4일

Excellent course, concentrated presentations, easy to follow, fun learning.

교육 기관: D.Scott V

2017년 9월 3일

Very informative and enjoyable. Thanks to all who taught and participated.

교육 기관: J-Man

2018년 9월 14일

An insightful and intriguing course with great further reading material.

교육 기관: Sasidharan M

2020년 11월 4일

The course helped me to have an outline of what is cognitive science.

교육 기관: THAER A

2020년 5월 25일

A fantastic way to venture into cognitive science and its philosophy!

교육 기관: mariana w c

2017년 12월 2일

very intersesting course, made easily understandable for everybody.