Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
602개의 평가
134개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

NV

Feb 06, 2019

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 132개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Edson S M

Nov 12, 2017

Very interesting!

교육 기관: Jorge R

May 02, 2018

This course I help myself to updating concepts and to be to the forefront in the area of philosophy.

교육 기관: damarillier@gmail.com

Oct 11, 2017

E

교육 기관: Lexy C M

Nov 26, 2016

Excelente plataforma para aprender.

교육 기관: Karanveer S

Jun 03, 2017

An amazing course where you get introduced to concepts like cognitive science, philosophy of mind, consciousness, etc. Simple and crisp content matter.

교육 기관: Francisco A M

Sep 26, 2017

Fantastic experience. I really enjoyed the explanation of such complex topics. It is really a unique opportunity regarding philosophy of science.

교육 기관: Phillip C

Nov 22, 2017

Wow, definitely worth taking. You will be treated to a broad multi-dimensional view of cognition that is not biased towards any specific view point. You will be exposed to several perspectives of the philosophy and emergent science of cognition. If you're interested in philosophical exploration in this area this is a must-take.

교육 기관: D.Scott V

Sep 03, 2017

Very informative and enjoyable. Thanks to all who taught and participated.

교육 기관: Biani P S L

Aug 03, 2017

It is a simple and clear introduction to the current topics of philosophy of the cognitive sciences. Videos and additional readings are very interesting!

교육 기관: Nguyen V L

May 19, 2017

This course has boarden my point of view and it also has shown me the link between artificial intelligent and philosophy.

교육 기관: Sanjog S

Nov 20, 2016

Good resource to learn Philosohpy of Cognitive Sciences

교육 기관: Juhi S

Feb 24, 2017

Changed the way I think about the human mind.

교육 기관: Gabriel V J

Jan 28, 2017

excellent

교육 기관: Mario S S

Mar 15, 2018

It is great!

교육 기관: Raid A

Jul 02, 2018

Great intro to philosophy of cognition world!

교육 기관: Roberto R

Nov 05, 2016

very interesting,thanks

교육 기관: Diana M

Jan 21, 2017

good course

교육 기관: Ritika N

Feb 18, 2018

Great Learning!

교육 기관: Meini S

Jul 28, 2017

good organized

교육 기관: Clare H

Jan 13, 2018

I thought this was a great overview: well-produced, engaging, and thought-provoking.

교육 기관: Grzegorz N

Jul 07, 2018

Really well designed and conducted introductory course to philosophy of the cognitive sciences. A lot of complementary material in form of articles and videos. Well balanced quizzes help to organize new knowledge and to find out what need additional attention to properly comprehend course material.

교육 기관: Malhar B

May 14, 2017

Amazing experience and learned a lot about mind and body.

교육 기관: Naz Y

Sep 01, 2017

A perfect introduction course ! Lecturers, subjects, and slides are intriguing; the sources and further readings at the end of each week are amazing and rich.

교육 기관: Jeff T

Apr 08, 2018

Very inspirational

교육 기관: Ilias P

Aug 14, 2017

A course for anyone interested in gaining a theoretical background about cognition,the brain and their links to artificial intelligence and robotics!