Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
602개의 평가
134개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

NV

Feb 06, 2019

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 132개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Tang S S S

Jan 09, 2018

I am a full-time postgraduate student and have found this course very useful!

교육 기관: Bart S

Aug 10, 2017

great survey class, please repeat it!

교육 기관: Kermit B B

Mar 19, 2017

Awesome!

교육 기관: Josip C

Sep 04, 2017

Excellent course, concentrated presentations, easy to follow, fun learning.

교육 기관: Pablo G A

Jun 21, 2017

I think this course is a great introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. I recommend it to everyone who is interested in philosophy. Also, I took advantage of the course for practising English language. Thanks!

교육 기관: Alexander S

Feb 13, 2017

Very interesting material with really demonstrative examples and experiments.

교육 기관: Nat T

Nov 04, 2017

Excellent overview of Philosophy and the Cognitive Sciences. Week three was especially interesting. There were only a couple lectures I found lacked sufficient explanation for me to fully grasp the concepts. The additional reading suggestions were excellent! Thank you so much the instructors and coordinators for this course!

교육 기관: Carlos M

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

교육 기관: luis j

Apr 20, 2019

Fascinating, the course catches you from the first instances, the story is agile, interactive, enjoyable and very professional

교육 기관: Michael T

May 09, 2019

Great. Very interesting, not an overwhelming amount of work, but a great starter for anyone interested in philosophy of the mind.

교육 기관: Liliana L J

May 13, 2019

I loved! Too bad there were only 2-3 videos per week - could have been more!

교육 기관: Robert C C

May 21, 2019

I found this course to be a challe

교육 기관: Pranali R

Aug 10, 2019

Such a great learning experience!

교육 기관: Alain Q R

Dec 10, 2018

Very good course. Its topics are really well chosen. So the readings recommended. Its lecturers are well chosen too divided between more theoretical and more practical thinkers when the topic makes this distinction make sense or between a follower of some theory and a follower of an opposite (in some way) theory.

교육 기관: James D R

Mar 18, 2019

I found the first three weeks to be great. The final week felt rushed and underwhelming. It was a shame to end on a whimper.

교육 기관: Guruswamy S

Feb 14, 2019

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

교육 기관: tuba y

Jan 19, 2018

Great as an introduction, but requires a lot of more in-depth individual research on the part of the novice learner, which could be facilitated by providing seminal readings - to let beginners know from where to start. Thank you

교육 기관: Derrick J R

Aug 05, 2017

I love these topics and all of the implications.

교육 기관: Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course, however some of the lectures were a bit slow or somehow loose. Evenso, I think this is a very good introductory course to a fascinating topic.

교육 기관: Daniel F

Apr 17, 2017

Extremely interesting topics; it is a quick and broad survey, so very superficial, though. Just a series of 10-15 minutes presentations introducing each aspect of the field. Don't be discouraged if you find the first week's presentation lacking/unengaging: it gets better.

교육 기관: Allison B

Sep 03, 2017

I think they should give us harder/more in-depth readings than just internet encyclopedia articles. It would be nice if they directed us to seminal papers that developed some of the ideas presented here instead of just summaries.

교육 기관: Stefan V

Feb 08, 2017

Wonderful course! It's a great introduction to the topic of embodied cognition. My only suggestion is to expand it for the people who are really interested in these topics.

교육 기관: Victor J M C

Dec 09, 2017

This was a good course, and I have learned new things by taking the course, but it would have benefitted from more depth. It is, however, a course for which it must be stressed that the title contains "introduction". By taking the course, one gets an overview of different areas of Cognitive Science and how different researchers might do research in those areas. This is all very good, but I had expected more depth. The course requires one to understand what the researchers are saying - nothing more than that; one does not learn to think in a new way or to analyse cases. Overall, it is an interesting course, but it is more like a documentary with quizzes to test, if one has paid attention, than it is like a course, in which one needs to really understand the content.

교육 기관: Sidney C

Jun 21, 2017

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

교육 기관: Tan K Q

May 06, 2017

I am reading up on cognitive sciences for my PhD dissertation on cognitive narratology and space. The contents of this course are mostly very clearly presented. The topic is engaging, and I like the examples cited in the presentations.