Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
600개의 평가
134개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

NV

Feb 06, 2019

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 132개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Sidney C

Jun 21, 2017

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

교육 기관: Derrick J R

Aug 05, 2017

I love these topics and all of the implications.

교육 기관: Steven v d G

Nov 22, 2016

A good and informative course on the philosophy of cognitive sciences. Judging by the lectures and quizzes, the course does seem to be more on a high school level, than an undergraduate level.

교육 기관: tuba y

Jan 19, 2018

Great as an introduction, but requires a lot of more in-depth individual research on the part of the novice learner, which could be facilitated by providing seminal readings - to let beginners know from where to start. Thank you

교육 기관: Stefan V

Feb 08, 2017

Wonderful course! It's a great introduction to the topic of embodied cognition. My only suggestion is to expand it for the people who are really interested in these topics.

교육 기관: Manolis P

Nov 28, 2016

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

교육 기관: Allison B

Sep 03, 2017

I think they should give us harder/more in-depth readings than just internet encyclopedia articles. It would be nice if they directed us to seminal papers that developed some of the ideas presented here instead of just summaries.

교육 기관: Victor J M C

Dec 09, 2017

This was a good course, and I have learned new things by taking the course, but it would have benefitted from more depth. It is, however, a course for which it must be stressed that the title contains "introduction". By taking the course, one gets an overview of different areas of Cognitive Science and how different researchers might do research in those areas. This is all very good, but I had expected more depth. The course requires one to understand what the researchers are saying - nothing more than that; one does not learn to think in a new way or to analyse cases. Overall, it is an interesting course, but it is more like a documentary with quizzes to test, if one has paid attention, than it is like a course, in which one needs to really understand the content.

교육 기관: Karin F

Mar 22, 2017

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

교육 기관: Jim K

Dec 19, 2016

I like the subject and the topics of each week are also interesting. However, the 4 weeks' content can only cover limited topics. And the course in Coursera can be improved by making the parts in each week clearer and reducing some subtitle mistakes.

교육 기관: Robert L

Sep 08, 2017

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

교육 기관: Rahul K

Apr 04, 2018

A very brief, concise, and fun-to-learn course. It helped me bridge the gap between AI cognition and human cognition. Love the presentation style of the lectures!

교육 기관: Troy

May 02, 2019

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

교육 기관: yan l

May 06, 2019

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

교육 기관: Ignacio J B P

Aug 12, 2019

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

교육 기관: Christopher W

Jan 25, 2019

I came to update my existing knowledge of Cognitive Science (which dates from the 1990s), and this short course worked well enough for that.

However, it was a bit variable in quality for me. Andy Clark was okay, I got annoyed with the Philosophy of Consciousness lecture (probably not the lecturer's fault, more the terms of the debate), but I really loved Series's lecture on the Bayesian Brain.

The quizzes will not leave you feeling you have achieved great things, however - too easy. I won't be purchasing a certificate for my wall.

교육 기관: Cindy G L

Jan 13, 2019

Interesting subject, but the course is only a quick introduction and doesn't go into much detail.

교육 기관: Esther R

Dec 17, 2018

It is an introductory course, it makes you curious about the topic but I found the last essay too complex for the level taught in the course. I would have liked it to be longer and that the weekly lectures were more linked.

교육 기관: Avi

Jan 20, 2018

Interesting videos, but quite basic. Would be good to include more cognitive psychology experiments and cases involving patients

교육 기관: Zhou Y

Jun 18, 2017

The course is just a brief introduction to the topic. The content itself has some sparkling points. The main issue is that, there isn't a lot of correlation between the course itself with the quizzes. Making the quizzes not a very good way to self-evaluate and self-reflect on the content.

교육 기관: Jose A V B

Nov 20, 2016

Not very deep

교육 기관: Antoine G

May 12, 2018

The course was interesting but I would have liked it to be more comprehensive and detailed.

교육 기관: Heike P M

May 08, 2018

Very interesting and mind opening course. I highly recommand it to those who are interested in the cross field of psychology, philosophy & technology.

교육 기관: Lavinia W

Aug 01, 2017

I would have liked more information on the development of the capacities of the brain.