Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
492개의 평가
96개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? This is the first part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Physical Sciences. Scientific research across the physical sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the physical sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. We’ll consider questions about the origin and evolution of our universe, the nature of dark energy and dark matter and the role of anthropic reasoning in the explanation of our universe. Learning Objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the natural sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Reading To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

DL

Nov 27, 2017

Many of the mathematical elements were beyond me, but the instructors presented the material in such a way that it really demonstrated the art of philosophical thinking about the field of science.

KK

Jun 07, 2018

Nice slides.Lectures are well prepared .Quizzes are relevant to the subject and thoughtfully worded so that even wrong choices also contribute to the knowledge of the study material.

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences의 95개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: William B S

Jul 21, 2019

Question Your Assumptions

Science is a process, conducted by human beings over many years, decades and centuries. Scientists are influenced by who they are, where they were educated, who influenced them, what they believe, and the assumptions they hold. Yesterdays “science” can sometimes be tomorrows “garbage”. There is a long list of these, dead and abandoned ideas in all scientific professions and fields. This course has demonstrated that scientists are often wrong and for many reasons. This is a good thing because science is self-correcting, and therefore we do not worship science or scientists as it is not a religion, with “gods”. Our concept of the universe, and the “creation” of the universe has changed over many millennia. This is all to the good. It is important to be skeptical, and use critical thinking and logic. Some of the most brilliant scientists, i.e., Einstein, can be wrong or partially wrong. We live in an exciting time, when everything is being questioned (although creating some stress and anxiety): the “big bang”, the cosmological constant, the multiverse, string theory, and many other concepts. This course has made this very clear. It even has implications for religious belief, i.e., concepts as: the “beginning”, “creation”, the concept of “nothing”, quantum mechanics, the concept of cause and effect and others. The presenters did an excellent job in presenting these many controversies, without bias. The presenters also presented good example between theory and experimental evidence. There is bow a controversy that much of astronomy and cosmology is being unduly influenced by mathematics rather than experimental evidence. However, string theory for example is difficult to demonstrate experimentally. Finally, one must always question one’s beliefs and assumption, even thought that can be emotionally and psychologically difficult (i.e., Einstein and Bohr), but that is science, a process not a religion. Therefore, I am also taking the other course, on the philosophy of science: cognition. William B. Secor

교육 기관: Beatriz A T

Jun 15, 2018

Excellent course! The subject matter is fascinating and so well taught! The lectures are very interesting and the transcripts and PDF files provided, make the understanding of basic cosmological concepts more manageable especially for people like me with no previous knowledge on the subject matter and English not being my native tongue. I really appreciate all the extra links with information for each week topics. I certainly will take time now (that I’ve finished answering all the quizzes), to read the articles and watch the clips from the resources link ! I am definitely taking Part II of this course. C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S!!! Awesome faculty team & content!

교육 기관: Basalat K

Jan 12, 2019

This was FIRST EVER philosophy of science experience. Never been a part of that field until now. The course was extraordinary great with plenty of knowledge. Although some information was so advance for me that it took me sometime to understand a few things. I had to go through some other sources outside of the course to understand what our professors and lecturers are presenting because I am a total layman in philosophy of sciences. Thank you so much for such an informative course. Looking forward to continue learning similar courses.

교육 기관: Riccardo D C

May 24, 2018

A very enjoyable tour across the history of philosophy and the science, with some very exciting talks on the current state of knowledge. Whets the student's appetite to delve more in depth into the issues postulated throughout the course. Prof. Michela Massimi has mastered the topics so well that she can deliver the lectures effortlessly. This course is a must for the beginner, and highly recommended for those who know the subject but want a fresher perspective.

교육 기관: Ben B

Oct 06, 2019

This course will interest physics and cosmology buffs as well as philosophy enthusiasts. It discusses deep philosophy-of-science topics, like "how do we know that we know" and "how can cosmology be a science if you can't really create experiments"; it does this through an interesting and accessible explanation of the latest in cosmology.

The course is challenging but accessible and provides a good glimpse into both cosmology and philosophy.

교육 기관: Haaran A

May 10, 2017

This course is suitable for anyone who is passionate about learning Cosmology in detail because to learn Cosmology, you need to know how it came to being how it is today. History is important, and we should know the history of the things we are passionate about. Thank you for the wonderful experience I had while taking this course's lectures. Good Work by the whole team.

교육 기관: Christopher L

Sep 22, 2018

Sometimes difficult to follow due to the amount of math, this course is eye-opening and inspiring. It's nice to know that those of us who spend more time questioning and hypothesizing than actually "proving" theories are inspiring more scientifically-minded people; and, it's exciting to know that those people have made such strides in these fields.

교육 기관: Talal K

Nov 05, 2019

This course challenged the idea of Cosmology as Physical Science and argued whether it should be regarded as physical science or not. This course used Scientific Theory and problem of underdetermination of evidence for modern cosmology to test theories or hypothesis to understand the inflation of universe or existence of dark matter or energy etc.

교육 기관: Kevin L S

Jun 26, 2018

New terms and definitions are always a challenge, but I really enjoyed this course and I found the course stuck with the important information; I also liked that this course was geared for those interested in Cosmology, as I am. The videos are well done and engaging.

교육 기관: Małgorzata S

Aug 06, 2017

Extremely interesting with lots of additional readings for further study. For someone whose knowledge of physics is rather limited (and long forgotten from school) it was still accessible, which shows great teaching skills. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Edmund B

Sep 05, 2018

High quality presentation and materials for these topics. Haven't had this much fun in a while with philosophy and science. Dark Energy and Dark Matter will continue to be topics I am interested in. Congratulations University of Edinburgh.

교육 기관: Katherine M K

Jul 04, 2017

I have always felt kind of "Dumb" when it came to physical sciences, but this course gave me a different perspective to understanding the physical science concepts that I was unaware of previously. Very engaging and well put together.

교육 기관: Emiel d J

Nov 29, 2018

A great course introduction on the philosophy of science and cosmology. I found it to be very complex because I am somewhat unfamiliar with cosmology. But still the explanations were good and eventually I got it.

교육 기관: Rolando V B R

Jan 29, 2017

Un curso muy completo y fácil de digerir sobre la cosmología y el principio antrópico, muy recomendable para la comprensión que se tiene sobre el universo actualmente y la razón de nuestra existencia.

교육 기관: Doug L

Nov 27, 2017

Many of the mathematical elements were beyond me, but the instructors presented the material in such a way that it really demonstrated the art of philosophical thinking about the field of science.

교육 기관: Thomas J H

Jun 27, 2018

Great fun! Yes, challenging but also thought-provoking. Very responsible coverage of the science, and useful (not merely clever) philosophical discussions of key related concerns.

교육 기관: Sandun P

May 04, 2019

it was an amazing experience working through this course, Material and lectures were very interesting and made me want to pursue further in the world of philosophy

교육 기관: Ellen W

Mar 18, 2019

I loved this course! I have a particular interest in the philosophy of science (specifically epistemic beliefs), but found that I got so much out of this class with the cosmology connections. Admittedly, I do have a background in both physics and philosophy, so I was able to follow the material easily, but others may require more attention to the videos themselves. However, this is THE FIRST MOOC that I have taken the time to complete; well, done!

교육 기관: ruth p

Jul 10, 2018

En mi opinión, encontraré este curso muy interesante, alto nivel académico de sus instructores. Esta introducción a la Filosofía de las Ciencias Físicas forma un enfoque completo del tema. Recomiendo estos cursos a cualquiera que ame el conocimiento. Me siento muy agradecido con los instructores de los cursos y la plataforma de Coursera.

교육 기관: Javier M

Jun 29, 2017

A comprehensive course for a specific subject. The videos are easy to follow and the additional readings provide even more depth to the corresponding topics. I find that the course is very interesting not only for the philosophical/scientific minded, but for most people in general.

교육 기관: Pablo G A

Jun 18, 2017

I enjoyed so much this course! I think it is very well scheduled and structured. I also liked a lot the introduced scientific topics.

I am also taking advantage of these courses of the University of Edinburgh for practice English language, and I highly recommend them.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Krishnamoorthy.R

Jun 07, 2018

Nice slides.Lectures are well prepared .Quizzes are relevant to the subject and thoughtfully worded so that even wrong choices also contribute to the knowledge of the study material.

교육 기관: Rodrigo d S R

Aug 25, 2019

Amazingly mindblowing and interesting. Even though some of the explanations on dark energy and why it has an expanding effect on the universe are quite hard to understand and grasp.

교육 기관: Felipe A Á O

Feb 12, 2018

Un curso muy útil para todos aquellos interesados en la relación entre física y filosofía. Entrega herramientas precisas para reconocer los problemas filosóficos de la cosmología.

교육 기관: luis j

May 04, 2019

Excellent course, with the contribution of professionals,

that manage to transmit not only the knowledge but the questions to solve, Transmitted in excellent form.