Chevron Left
Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
422개의 평가
102개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Philosophy and Religion’, is the second of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series, and in this course we will ask important questions about the age-old debate between science and religion, such as: • What kind of conflicts are there between religion and science? • Does current cognitive science of religion effectively explain away God? • If there is a God who has made us so that we can know him, why do some people not believe? • Is belief in science also a kind of fundamentalism? • What makes us good at getting, giving, or sharing, knowledge? Is this different when it is religious knowledge? The first course in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series, 'Science and Philosophy' was launched early in 2017 and you can sign up to it at any time. The third course —‘Religion and Science’—will be launched early in 2018. Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion I: Science and Philosophy https://www.coursera.org/learn/philosophy-science-religion-1/ • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Upon successful completion of all three courses, students will: (1) Understand the main parameters at stake in the current debate between science and religion. (2) Have some familiarity with the relevant areas of science that feature in the debate—including cosmology, evolution, and the neurosciences—and will have begun to engage with them conceptually. (3) Have encountered key philosophical approaches to the interface between science and religion, and will have had the opportunity to engage them in practice. (4) Have embarked constructively in cross-disciplinary conversations. (5) Have demonstrated an openness to personal growth through a commitment to dialogue across intellectual and spiritual boundaries. You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

최상위 리뷰

B

2020년 5월 29일

The course was really beneficial especially for people who want to know deeper information about the truth of the begging, the main argue and how people are different in thinking.

AM

2021년 2월 3일

Crate course, aimed at a relatively basic level but a very good overview of the topic and very enjoyable. Recommend a course to anyone relatively new to philosophy. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion의 103개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Звездная Е С

2019년 10월 21일

хороший

교육 기관: Aditya C

2020년 8월 18일

best!

교육 기관: autice

2021년 3월 3일

good

교육 기관: Gariyasi G

2017년 12월 22일

It was an amazing course, filled with philosophical debates, with a balanced point of view most of the time. Most of all, it certainly got me thinking!

The course covers a myriad range of content, and brings together knowledge from various experts belonging to different countries and disciplines. It is easy for anyone to find their particular expected information. Content is organised excellently; is easy to follow, along with extremely interesting discussion forums. Had an amazing ride, and this course is definitely one you need to do with other people who share common interests, because there is so much to discuss, debate and share. Would have enjoyed more passionate instructor experiences, and am looking forward to more.

교육 기관: Bob M

2020년 7월 2일

Generally very stimulating and interesting. There were obviously high points and low points, and occasionally the philosophy became a bit too abstract to take seriously, but nearly all the material was cogently presented and the presenters managed to remain impressively impartial when dealing with potentially contentious material.

One observation I do have though. Before doing this course worked though the Science-Philosophy course. That struck me as more like Science vs Religion. This to some extent felt more like Philosophy vs Science. Admittedly trying to discuss two of the ideas without mention of the third is tricky, but looking simply at the course contents I’d have struggled to decide which was which.

교육 기관: D S

2018년 2월 5일

Super course, brings some clarity to the issues at hand. In my opinion, it does "dance" around the convergence of truth (small t) as something that can be derived form one, the other , or both routes: Science and Religion. However, does not distinguish enough (IMHO) between the cultural/social/political footing of "religion" and the core belief aspect of "god" (small g) in personal psychology: these are mutually reaffirming factors treated as a single "faith".

교육 기관: Magali C B

2020년 10월 21일

Very good readings, lectures and professors, the content was not what I initially expected but I ended up learning a lot and understanding epistemology. Only thing is most reading are in word documents which is somewhat inconvenient.

교육 기관: In-Ho K

2022년 6월 15일

In general, this course is well designed, covering most recent issues in philosophy and religion. As a beginner, a couple of weeks are very challenging and honors quizes are too, although these are optional.

교육 기관: Mark A D

2020년 1월 12일

Good course but it seemed to end abruptly. It was missing some type of conclusory module that tied the segments together. Overall, the course was interesting and worth the time.

교육 기관: Elsie C

2021년 5월 10일

Another good course from the University of Edinburgh on Philosophy. Some parts were a little bit more in depth than I expected, but a good range of topics and mix of lecturers.

교육 기관: Lucy

2020년 9월 15일

Very informative and useful information to support my school learning. I found the use of examples and metaphors useful to help contextualise the information.

교육 기관: Michael B

2022년 5월 2일

I enjoyed the challenge of new ideas totally foreign to my way of thinking. It made my brain creak at times - which is good for me!

Michael Barnes

교육 기관: Mohammad S A

2020년 5월 10일

Islam is the second biggest religion in the world and is one of the Ibrahimic religions. There should be some more research done on it.

교육 기관: A. F M

2021년 4월 20일

An engaging and thought-provoking course. Week 5 (Scientism) was of especial interest to me and was very well presented.

교육 기관: Ms. S A

2020년 8월 17일

It was a wonderful experience indeed! It helps to widen up the analytical power of a learner.

교육 기관: John T R

2021년 2월 26일

The course expanded my knowledge, thus ratifying my reason for taking the course

교육 기관: barry f

2020년 11월 30일

Very good content. Lecturers were OK but have seen better.

교육 기관: Fernanda V

2020년 10월 15일

The course is nice, I did not get too involved though.

교육 기관: Keith S

2020년 1월 14일

Excellent lecturers, very clear.

교육 기관: Nathan P

2020년 9월 5일

Very Interesting course.

교육 기관: Judith A

2020년 10월 24일

Some segments were excellent, especially the one dealing with neurobiology and religious experience. Others, particularly the latter ones, were less clearly presented and did not seem as relevant to the topic.

교육 기관: Leonardo R C

2020년 8월 11일

My expectations about the course were others (I thought that It would be more esoteric than other thing)

교육 기관: Lisa B

2019년 3월 9일

Interesting topics but it may have been helpful to focus the course a bit more.

교육 기관: john d

2020년 2월 4일

Really good. Taught me to carefully examine the path knowledge takes.

교육 기관: Julio C N P

2018년 3월 7일

GOOD