Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,839개의 평가
869개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 856개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Shiri R

Dec 14, 2017

This is a very clear and easy to understand.

교육 기관: Zully N F M

Sep 12, 2017

es excelente, tuve conocimientos de algunas temas que ignoraba

교육 기관: sushree p

Jun 09, 2018

Really thought provoking and interesting course

교육 기관: Bennett S

Jan 18, 2017

Nice

교육 기관: Jiali S

Apr 26, 2017

I like this course a lot and have spent several days following all the lectures, for a feeling that the whole course is formulated not with a historical/overwhelmed view but aims to inspire a true interest in the ways of thinking. A discursive thought path and I've really enjoyed it. Thank you for your sharing knowledge and kind design. Besides, the materials for independent learning are good guide! At least, I know where to find trustworthy information. THANKS!

교육 기관: Fegie P M

Nov 12, 2016

Our mission for this module is to try and understand a little bit about what philosophy, as a subject, actually is. What makes it different from other subjects? What are its distinctive aims and methods? We'll think about two claims that are often made about philosophy: that it deals with questions that are, in some sense, fundamental; and that it deals with questions that are of some special importance. We'll also look at how philosophy is actually practiced by exploring some of the criteria philosophers bring to bear when assessing the success of philosophical arguments. Finally, we'll finish by briefly thinking about how two very influential philosophers - David Hume (1711-1776) and Immanuel Kant (1724-1804) - attempted to answer the question of how we can know whether, in any given case, there really is a right way of looking at things.

Resources

A handout for this module is here.

A large format handout for this module is here.

Assessment

In addition to the in-video quizzes, there is a short review quiz for this module's material. Also, why not take some time to introduce yourself to your coursemates on the discussion forums, and chat about the lectures from this module. Did anything not make sense? Was there anything you found especially interesting? How would you answer some of the questions raised in the lecture?

Additional Resources

There is an interesting selection of philosophers attempting to give their own definitions of philosophy at Philosophy Bites, here.

For a detailed historical survey of different conceptions of philosophy have a look at this article from the Internet Encyclopaedia of Philosophy.

Both of these are excellent resources, and well worth browsing for material relevant to the rest of the course.

If you'd like to think more about the argument concerning free will, then this Internet Encyclopaedia of Philosophy article is a good place to start.

If you would like to read more about Hume and his work have a look at this article from the Stanford Encyclopaedia of Philosophy, as well as this article from the Internet Encyclopaedia of Philosophy. Moreover, If you fancy having a go at reading some of Hume's works you can find selected texts at this page, part of Jonathan Bennett's fantastic project Early Modern Texts.

If you would like to read more about Kant and his work have a look at this article from the Stanford Encyclopaedia of Philosophy. Selected works of Kant can also be found at Early Modern Texts. Be warned, however, they can be pretty heavy going!

For a slightly more irreverent view on Hume, Kant, and the question 'Why do philosophy?' have a listen to the linked podcasts from The Partially Examined Life. Warning: contains occasional strong language!

교육 기관: Smailey B

Feb 20, 2017

Os professores e os materiais de suporte são ótimos. O tema reflete exatamente o nome do curso, tratando-se de questões introdutórias à filosofia. Foi um tempo muito bem investido. Recomendo.

교육 기관: Joseph C I

Dec 05, 2016

Great Course !!

교육 기관: Norhata S A

Nov 05, 2016

helpfull

교육 기관: Conroy F

Sep 22, 2017

Great course to improve critical thinking and analytical skills

교육 기관: Angela B

Nov 28, 2017

VERY USEFUL AN EASY TO ACCESS

교육 기관: Sumit D

Mar 26, 2018

A great introductory course on philosophy. It is designed and organized in a pretty scholarly manner which makes it accessible to everyone providing a clear and simple understanding of the subject. Nonetheless, I must say that this is a fairly short course, there is much more that could be added into it—such as thoughts of contemporary(20th century) philosophers. I highly recommend this to the newbies; it should provide them with an academic-like head start in the realm of philosophy.

교육 기관: Sergio A C

Oct 20, 2016

good

교육 기관: Stephanie C

Sep 24, 2017

excellent teachers, clear method, great involvment.

교육 기관: Jose G

Jan 10, 2018

Really good information!

교육 기관: Vinay M

Jun 04, 2018

This is a really engaging course that discussed several interesting old and recent questions in philosophy. One really great thing about it is that each week you have an option of doing one or both out of two different topics, based on your interest — and there's something for everyone. But the topics and presentation are so interesting that you'll probably do all of them anyway!

교육 기관: KaZ A

Mar 14, 2018

Very enjoyable. Gave me a lot to think about regarding further pursuits in philosophy. Helped me to pinpoint the type of philosophy that I find most useful. Would love to have more exposure to Socrates, Buddha, Confucius, Nietzsche, Sartre, Brecht, science, humanist and existential philosophers.

교육 기관: Theo L

May 16, 2018

Very insightful and

교육 기관: Christi M

Feb 23, 2018

Excellent overview of some specializations within the field of philosophy. Summaries are presented in an engaging way

교육 기관: Altaf R

Mar 06, 2018

I must say its a wonderfully helpful short course for beginners. The best thing about this course to my understanding is that:

Its made easy for all those who want to study philosophy

Its modules are well wittingly selected to make such an enticing introductory course for all those who have rather a cynical opinion about philosophy as science or subject

and the free access to those reading materials and websites

I enjoyed truly every bit and parts of the this introduction to philosophy by the institute for which I will be evergrateful.

교육 기관: Lucas R P

Aug 30, 2015

Really informative and interesting course, learnt a lot and enjoyed it

교육 기관: Yasmin A H A

Apr 15, 2017

I've enjoyed this course greatly, and look forward to delve further into philosophy. I loved all of the talks by all the lecturers, and found their follow-up videos to be particularly helpful. Unfortunately, that also meant that there was no forum to access and discuss the questions posed by the lectures with other people taking the course, which I believe would have helped to hone my argumentative skills, which I believe is necessary to have (and further develop and enhance), when learning about philosophy.

Thank you very much for this amazing course. If you could introduce more philosophy courses (particularly ones that are more advanced and in depth), that would be great!

교육 기관: Lan Q L

Feb 13, 2017

Well prepared materials that provide simple, basic understanding of philosophy. Great effort from the team! Big thanks!

교육 기관: Omar A

Feb 01, 2016

Good course.

교육 기관: Hui J H

Sep 27, 2015

When I enrolled for this course, I was really just looking for a definition for the word 'philosophy'. Boy did I get more than what I bargained for!

Instead of going down the usual historical path and looking at the philosophers in just chronological order, the lecturers at the University of Edinburgh have divided the topic into broad strokes, covering the big ideas (and their related writers) that have driven philosophical debate till today. They made sure every topic linked up, so we could understand materialism as the opposite of dualism, rather than in isolation from other avenues of thought. If I want to, I could definitely take my studies in philosophy much further, knowing now where to look!

My only minor gripe would be the strong focus on Western philosophers and little mention of other cultural views, however, it would be unrealistic to ask for short online lectures to cover all of human thought endeavours. Hopefully other courses exist so all students can take a global approach to philosophy!