Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
6,484개의 평가
1,518개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,501개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Enya F N

May 17, 2020

I feel so glad I have been able to finish! It hasn't been easy, but I have to say I loved this course, and I have recomended it to my friends, I feel so glad I had the opportunity to do it.

교육 기관: Horacio M C

Feb 20, 2019

Excelente Curso, el nivel es mucho mejor de lo que pensaba, me sera muy util, soy docente de filosofía y me permite incrementar mis recursos filosóficos en mi práctica docente, felicidades.

교육 기관: Jose R

Aug 29, 2015

Excellent introduction to the the discipline of philosophy. The professors are experts and very accessible in their presentation of complex ideas. I am very happy to have taken this course.

교육 기관: Maria F T

Feb 15, 2017

This was a very good introduction. Many important philosophical concepts are explored with very well thought out examples, and the quizzes really make you reflect on what you have learned.

교육 기관: Lorly P

Oct 22, 2016

it helps me a lot in my studies....

upon enrolling this online course it's a big help in my Philosophy subject here in my school. hope that you may continue to help more student like me.

교육 기관: Dickson

Feb 21, 2019

I´m pleased to conclude this magnificent course. Besides learnig so many new things, it also helped me to understand some hard philosophical approaches. I highly recommend it. Thank you.

교육 기관: Enzo P B

Jul 17, 2020

Excelent course. The main difference in here is that we are not interested about learning The History of Philosophy, but we want to improve our vision about what is the act of Thinking.

교육 기관: Luis E B C

Jun 28, 2018

i like all topics in this moment, i think the philosophy it's fundamental for every moment of decision, and i start to think to "see" the "all picture" thanks and regards from Colombia.

교육 기관: José M T

Feb 11, 2018

This course was great. I really enjoyed every minute of the lectures. It has sparked the curiosity in philosophy once more in my life. I want to continue studying more about philosophy.

교육 기관: Sahil Y

May 19, 2020

this was my first philosophy course and for beginners it is very interesting and interactive course. i really liked it and i think is a very good course for introduction to philosophy.

교육 기관: Pushpaja V

May 03, 2020

I am able to understand the content and whenever i am in doubt, I can refer to the videos that have the further discussion, so as to better grasp and comprehend the doubts that I have.

교육 기관: 18BVC131_ N R

Aug 06, 2020

This philosophy course is very useful for my life beyond my career.There has been a beautiful understanding of life.Many important moments in life are very useful for decision making.

교육 기관: Recep E

Sep 05, 2015

A real philosophy course in the sense that it prompts you to do philosophy (along with the help of the history of philosophy) rather then just teaching you the history of philosophy.

교육 기관: Atul J

Aug 24, 2015

A wonderful course that makes you understand what it means to think. Provides you with new perspective altogether of looking at things in the world. I'm absolutely loving the course.

교육 기관: Samson B

Jun 15, 2019

Course was excellent, because of the skilled lecturers I quit animation school and I went on to further study. I am now almost finished double Ba degrees in Philosophy and Theology.

교육 기관: Tay J

Dec 07, 2016

It is a short course that covers fewer topics than what you would expect in a normal offline freshman philosophy course. However, the content is very interesting and well-organized.

교육 기관: Vicente G W

Oct 23, 2016

Tem sido muito instrutivo para mim, apesar de ser um conhecimento já estudado em sala de aula no ensino médio, é um excelente compilamento e instrução para novas pessoas no assunto.

교육 기관: PAVITHRA H K

Aug 23, 2020

Highly Recommended course if you are new to philosophy but have interest in it. The simplicity and ease of learning is definitely encouraging, happy to have done this course! :)

교육 기관: Maxim T

Jul 14, 2020

I very much liked this course because it opened a whole possibility of critical thinking of fundamental principles which govern our understanding of the natural world and society.

교육 기관: Epshita J

Dec 01, 2016

The course was really interesting. The modules were taught by different professors. They were all very engaging. And I specially liked Professor Michela Massimi and Dr. Dave Ward.

교육 기관: Hamidreza F

Apr 06, 2020

Absolutely mesmerizing review of philosophy, with topics ranging from Free Will and Moral Philosophy to Time Travel! Recommended for everyone who want to know more about knowing.

교육 기관: Theo D

Jul 27, 2017

Good range of topics; appropriate level of difficulty and well structured and delivered. Gave a broad introduction, but also showed ways in which learning could be taken further.

교육 기관: x

Jan 16, 2016

Very interesting class with very competence professional!

Was a honor learn introduction to Philosophy offer by the university of Edinburg, see u guys in next courses!

Edvim Borges

교육 기관: Lian S

Sep 11, 2020

I like how the course divides different components in such a way that we will be able to understand topic by topic, bit by bit. The lecturers are great in delivering the course.

교육 기관: J S

Aug 21, 2020

El curso describe una introducción a temas de gran importancia para la filosofía como lo es la filosofía de la mente, la filosofía del lenguaje, filosofía política entre otros.