Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
stars
3,918개의 평가
884개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 872개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Richard B

Nov 13, 2017

A wonderful experience. My most important takeaway was thinking more about the questions beyond the asked question. This course will make me a better and more informed reader, especially combined with my readings about rhetoric.

교육 기관: Ujjawal S

Nov 09, 2018

Great Course. I loved the content, it covered few of the topics i used to wonder about. Really engaging teachers, they seemed that they were passionate about their topic and also had a deep understanding of the matter. Thank You.

교육 기관: Halim G M

Sep 28, 2015

Such a eye-opener. Philosophy was a hobby until I ran into this course. It structure my thinking. It made me realize the schools of thought that have tackled the questions I've dived into are as many angles to view a given issue.

교육 기관: Manuel G P R

Mar 27, 2019

Es perfecto para quien le gusta y quisiera tener una idea organizada de la filosofía. Las conferencias son con profesores calificados y utilizan un lenguaje claro. E invita a seguir profundizando en la materia o esta actividad.

교육 기관: Benjamin M C P

Apr 14, 2017

It is very complete and wide in the optional themes treated on the course. Also you are provided with link to forums, debates, guides, and bibliography to investigate further more what caught your interest. Highly recommended!!

교육 기관: Alexis O

Dec 14, 2015

I love the way this course let you embrace the basics notions of philosophy.

The only bad thing it's that I haven't found a course like this (That talks of philosophy) in this site, so I think Coursera need more of this courses.

교육 기관: marc k

May 28, 2019

The course was a good introduction to parts of philosophy allowing for a non philosopher to begin learning the thought processes needed to want to take the next steps in a philosophic education. Thank you to the entire staff.

교육 기관: Martín

Jan 26, 2018

Very interesting class. Includes several pathways to engage understanding of philosophy in classical and contemporary ways. The videos are clear and effective. The quizzes are really interesting. A great introductory course.

교육 기관: Esra B

Dec 29, 2016

Dave is a great narrator. He talks in an impressive way. So, everyone who watches the videos can understand it more easily. In addition to videos, there are also helpful documents. It was a very enjoyable course for me. :)

교육 기관: mahmood s m

Dec 01, 2018

great course , and i would love to thank the teachers of Edinburgh university , they helped a lot to understand and pass the course , i had a great time with those great teachers and subjects ,

thank you thank you so much

교육 기관: Francisco P

Oct 30, 2015

I really enjoyed this course because contents were very interesting and contemporaneous. Reading about travelling time was a real pleasure. Teachers nice, quizzes and texts supported well my development. Congratulations.

교육 기관: Norma J

Feb 20, 2018

This class provides a terrific, concise overview of basic terms and ideas, key philosophers over time, and arguments raised for and against. I appreciate especially the many links to free quality online references.

교육 기관: Trang M N

Mar 04, 2017

I appreciate how some of my messy thoughts about the world is organized and justified when I finished this course. I would like to learn some more advanced courses because there are still many unanswered questions.

교육 기관: Vibert A M

Sep 18, 2015

A basic teaching of Philosophy. The idea of having specialists lecture in thei indivvidual concepts was a direct enhancement in the themes presented. I consider that the course will be repeated ,for several years.

교육 기관: Tamsin C

Jan 19, 2016

Excellent first week! Promises to be a very interesting course. Unfortunately, I won't get back to it for a while, due to other pressing projects, but I'm looking forward to exploring it more later in the year.

교육 기관: Ana K

Jan 09, 2016

Very interesting course with different approaches and topics on philosphy. Nice way to refresh knowledge or to get a new ones. Everything is really understandable with good videos and course materials provided.

교육 기관: Graeme C

Jan 02, 2016

Excellent introduction to the subject from a great cast of different and interesting characters. Subject covered to a depth that was accessible enough to a novice yet deep enough to be interesting and valuable.

교육 기관: Peter B V

Nov 30, 2015

This was a most interesting short course which I found most useful as a "taster" to help me understand what philosophy was about. I especially liked the fact that we had a specialist tutor for each subject.

교육 기관: Athicha C

Feb 03, 2017

Great theories. Thoughtful. Many different perspective from philosophers on a topic. There are options of the course each week for your interest. Great explanation. Gain a lot of knowledge from this class.

교육 기관: Aditri B

Jan 12, 2020

I think this course works well as a broad introductory overview, and exposed me to a multitude of subfields of philosophy, effectively allowing me to figure out which aspects I'd like to explore further.

교육 기관: Seemin M

Nov 01, 2015

Excellent course. Well paced and very well explained. All the teachers have the ability to explain complex things in a simple way that is easy for a philosophy beginner to understand. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Germán K

Oct 23, 2019

Es un curso que me permitió conocer otra manera de entender filosofía. Con buenos profesores abriendo el juego a las preguntas. Me gustó transitar ese camino por el conocimiento.

Saludos para todos

교육 기관: André R d C

Oct 07, 2019

This is an excellent course for those who wish to perform the first dive in philosophy. The content is wonderful and the teachers are very didactic. I really enjoy my "Introduction to Philosophy"!

교육 기관: Sourav D

Jul 04, 2019

This course is my first ever serious attempt to know Philosophy and it has been an excellent opportunity to know about different facets of modern Philosophy. I am curious to know more now! Thanks!

교육 기관: RISSER-MAROIX

Sep 24, 2015

Highly rated course.

For all people who think it is important to understand Life and for it to learn from nicer teachers and great philosophy trends. Thank you to Coursera and Edimburgh University.