학생용
Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,095개의 평가
1,659개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
2015년 10월 7일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,642개 리뷰 중 1401~1425

교육 기관: stephen l

2017년 6월 10일

a good clear intro to the subject. Buy the book too, but may be not in kindle format. Paper format is better as flipping back and marking is easier for Philosophy.

교육 기관: Sidney C

2015년 8월 17일

I am compelled to maintain interest in the lectures and I have so far completed the second week. I think it is a good class and hope that it can only get better.

교육 기관: Colleen M

2015년 8월 31일

A very good introduction to some of the fundamental and important ideas in philosophy, delivered in an engaging and straightforward fashion. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Timotheus K

2019년 5월 7일

This course is structured around relevant contemporary topics as opposed to the history of philosophy. I truly appreciated the practical syllabus of the course.

교육 기관: Ong S Y

2020년 6월 4일

I think that this is a very good introductory course. Does not delve too deep, but deep enough to learn something and grasp some basics. Loved Suilin's videos.

교육 기관: Kjartan I A

2020년 4월 20일

I like how I have unfluence over what areas to explore and I wasn't railroaded into a specific path just as the course explains about free will. Very fitting.

교육 기관: Ritwik C

2020년 5월 17일

It's a great starter course for philosophy enthusiasts, the faculty does a great job in explaining the fundamental concepts of different areas of philosophy.

교육 기관: Chantel J

2018년 3월 7일

This course is very interesting and insightful, it quite amazing to see the different ways Philosophy is looked at, and the tutorials are very good as well.

교육 기관: Abril X

2020년 6월 22일

I learned so much from this course. Now, I have a completely different perspective. Personally, I really enjoyed "Do We Have Free Will and Does It Matter?"

교육 기관: Pedro Z

2020년 8월 5일

To learn how to think and how to hold arguments is a good beginning. But I prefer here and now philosphy (i.e. philosphy with high impact in real life).

교육 기관: Nathalie F S

2018년 5월 30일

Pretty good course. The beginning lectures were good, but then they got boring, but the last three lectures definitely peaked my interest in philosophy.

교육 기관: Swathi

2015년 12월 13일

'Introduction to Philosophy' is very insightful. The fundamentals of philosophy is explained in a way which is so easy to understand. Very good program.

교육 기관: Steven K

2015년 8월 18일

It was very fun and educational, some of the people where a little hard to understand but I liked the fun approach to learning and the material covered!

교육 기관: Jorge A H G

2017년 11월 12일

Muy buen curso, pero esta muy mal el hecho de que te digan que esta en español y algunas partes, entre ellas el trabajo final sean únicamente en inglés

교육 기관: Eshraful P

2020년 8월 10일

This is an excellent programme for students who is interested for online learning. I enjoyed this programme although this is my first online course.

교육 기관: Sneha P

2020년 5월 27일

It is very informative course which includes so many interesting topics. I liked the last week of this course especially the part of 'time travel'.

교육 기관: Evelien M

2017년 8월 13일

I found this course really interesting, learn full and it provided me with a broad knowledge about several general important aspects of Philosophy.

교육 기관: Anas F I

2020년 6월 30일

this is a good start for anyone interested in philosophy, but it is unfortunately too short and does not cover so much. otherwise, great course!

교육 기관: Pati10

2018년 9월 24일

Very good course - I think there could be more surnames, more facts, dates and titles, but it was okay. Thank you and I am waiting for more.

교육 기관: Zack E

2018년 3월 20일

Covered a variety of important philosophical topics with clear steps and consistent information directly reflected in quizzes and templates.

교육 기관: Abdiaziiz I A

2020년 9월 24일

First I thanking for all the teachers those prepared for course of philosophy and those who try to teach for courses so thanks all of you

교육 기관: Fok s k

2015년 8월 14일

Raise some philosophical questions for brain storming. However, not much direction of exploring further where philosophy should go.

교육 기관: Adam b K F

2020년 7월 6일

Really good course for someone like me who is just getting into philosophy. Really gives a lot of perspectives into consideration!

교육 기관: Ramez T

2018년 11월 16일

Excellent introductory course that covers a lot of the basics. Would have liked to learn a bit more about different philosophers.

교육 기관: Sabrina H

2016년 1월 2일

I really like this course so far. The Instructors do a great job in explaining the material. I look forward to learning more..