Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,512개의 평가
1,762개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

SF
2020년 6월 27일

It is an excellent course for anyone who is interested in knowing more about philosophy and philosophical questions. The lectures are short and very informative! I would highly recommend this course.

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,744개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Самойлов П А

2021년 4월 27일

Великолепная подборка философских проблем в кратком и интересном изложении, которые в совокупности действительно заставляют задуматься и мыслить - то есть в итоге сформировать свое видение, свой подход по проблеме. Особенно интересны были блоки: обязаны ли мы должны подчиняться закону, блок о знаниях и блок о детерминизме. Получил истинное удовольствие от курса

교육 기관: Jose A P M

2016년 12월 10일

I loved taking this course, although at the end it became a little difficult for me to understand the accent of that Italian Professor (for me particulally it would be easier if she spoke Italian, it's my second mother tongue!). It was the hardest test because I couldn't understand very well. But in general terms it was very nice! Thank you and congratulations.

교육 기관: Nicola F

2020년 11월 5일

It was a fantastic course. Even If I have a historical background, I was able to understand the various dynamics of understanding on contemporary philosophy. The professors of the course are well prepared. They have an excellent teaching of method with the aim of making us ask the questions and reflect on the answers concerning the human being understood.

교육 기관: Jocelyn A

2018년 11월 12일

Absolutely brilliant, thoroughly engaging and the topics lead perfectly from one to the other. Each teacher explained their topic in unique ways which I believe really kept the interest alive and as much as leaving this review may help everything's determined so does it really?

But really thank you for this course it was lovely to engage with and complete.

교육 기관: N.Srinivas

2020년 8월 4일

This introductory course is inevitably one of my best experiences so far. Topics such as free will, time travel, political obligations etc open your mind to a whole new ways of thinking. This course has given me lot of motivation to further deepen my understanding of subject. A big 'Thank You' to the wonderful professors at 'The University of Edinburgh'!

교육 기관: Jeeva J S

2020년 9월 18일

An excellent course that introduces its learners to the exciting world of philosophy, starting from the basics of what philosophy is and covering a wide range of topics from determinism and free will to artificial intelligence. Easily comprehensible classes, along with explanatory transcripts and abundant resources ensures a perfect learning experience.

교육 기관: Miryung S

2020년 3월 22일

The Introduction to Philosophy course was much more thorough and challenging than I expected. It developed an interest in Philosophy that I never had before and helped me gain new perspectives to knowledge. Thank you, Coursera for providing such a wonderful opportunity to continue my learning at the comfort of home. I couldn't ask for anything more.

교육 기관: Ayesha H

2019년 9월 28일

This was indeed a brilliant course that provided in-depth analysis on various philosophical problems. As I will be taking my philosophy major classes in a month, this course has proven to be immensely beneficial for elucidating on the basics of philosophy. The skills that i had learned through this course will definitely be a handy for my classes .

교육 기관: Pranav M

2020년 7월 22일

Being a complete novice in the field of Philosophy, this course provided a concise and intensive introduction about the different constituents of Philosophy. Taking up this course made me a better person. I would like to thank the concerned faculty members at the University of Edinburgh and Coursera for making this course available for the masses.

교육 기관: Rafael_Cheng

2018년 6월 10일

This course provides users with basic concepts about Philosophy, and it introduces the (typical) questions that are discussed by different philosophers and related sub-fields in philosophy. As an introductory course, it focuses on giving learners a "big picture". I would recommend this course for learners who have little or no basis of philosophy.

교육 기관: Agnieszka H K

2020년 9월 6일

In this course there are a lot of ways we can work out our own way of thinking about world. I am very happy that I could be on that course. I have learned not straight about history of philosophy, but about: how to work out way of thinking. I recommend those lessons to everyone, who want distance oneself from usual way of thinking. Thank You!

교육 기관: Maria E R

2021년 1월 11일

Definitely worth taking and I honestly recommending taking the time to check, at least some of, the bibliography the professors indicate for each topic. I'm a physicist and felt like going deeper into philosophy after taking this introductory course.

Thanks to all people at the University Edinburgh involved on making this online course possible.

교육 기관: John B

2020년 11월 27일

Extremely interesting! I really liked the format of giving a short intro to the basics of philosophy and then going into example questions instead of a survey of the history of philosophy. Personally, I did all the modules instead of just choosing one per week. I didn't always agree with the arguments, but found them fascinating. Nice job!

교육 기관: Jim M

2020년 10월 31일

This course was a wonderful introduction to what philosophy is. The lectures and notes were excellent. I appreciated the numerous assessment sprinkled throughout the videos and the review assessments were helpful. I have an understanding of what philosophy is and I plan on pursuing more philosophical studies in specific topics. Thank you.

교육 기관: Sharmeishtha S

2020년 2월 21일

I absolutely love the balanced approach to so many areas of philosophy in such a short course. The reading lists are pretty comprehensive so we can read up on topics we love. I wish we had looked at Calvinism and the debate around free will and its consequences in a little more depth. Nevertheless, glad to have been born in the time of MOOCs.

교육 기관: Suvajanee A

2020년 5월 31일

As for those who interested in this course, you should try. All the topics are very complicated to understand and you need to really think and really try to think again and again to understand the concepts. For me, some topics are so complicated that I have no idea how someone can come up with it, but still, it is an enjoyable course anyway.

교육 기관: Irshan A

2015년 12월 31일

So far this course has been very very instrumental in my learning. I still feel it should be divided in shorter videos of max 5 minutes each. that is what makes an online Mooc special i.e classes of hours are not forced into you. In anycase, this course was mostly fit for being a well designed and defined MOOC and worth a take by everyone !!

교육 기관: Helena A

2021년 3월 12일

Thank you for the opportunity to study this amazing, interesting and thought-provoking course! I had never even thought about the subject before, thinking it was for genius boffins only. The lectures and notes were easy to follow and understand, although I had to read over them quite a few times to "get it". Now I am keen to study more!

교육 기관: Annie W

2015년 8월 26일

Excellent course, interesting topics, the instructors all teach in a clear but professional way. Thank you Professor Richmond for spending so much time helping us on the discussion boards! In the future, I would love it if there was more recommended reading, and not just strictly related to the topics in the lectures. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Lisbeth K

2018년 3월 12일

A great introduction to philosophy. Enthusiastic teachers, and the class overall certainly creates much interest in going further. The classes keeps you on your toes, the quizzes and tests are just the right level of challenging. I learned so much, and most of all, lost my fear of philosophy studies! And, I loved the Time Travel part!

교육 기관: Good S

2021년 1월 7일

A little bit of something for everyone, questioning reality and the different methods of how we rationalize reality, what constitutes as alive and thinking, what should be the moral ground and why, time-traveling logistics. It won't be 100% what any one person likes, but it's perfect for finding more sources of the stuff you do like.

교육 기관: M. C O

2020년 5월 6일

The content of this course is wide-ranging, clear and well-structured; hence I would definitely recommend it to my colleagues.

I would rate the performances of every Professor as excellent; they have definitely made me quite easy, a first approach to Philosophy.

Thanks to the University of Edinburg and congratulations on this course

교육 기관: Michaela M

2015년 11월 22일

I am studying Philosophy at university next year and wanted to have a idea as to what it would be like. This course was perfect and gave me a taster of the vast number of fields included in Philosophy. It was interesting and challenging I would definitely suggest it to anyone, the course really gives you some things to think about!

교육 기관: Oliver R

2020년 10월 11일

The fact that each topic is explored by a different philosopher makes it a truly enriching way of looking at the questions and answers posed. Each topic pertains to a whole field of study in itself, for which abundant reference materials are provided. All in all a very accurate and well executed overview of philosophical problems.