Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
6,678개의 평가
1,559개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,546개 리뷰 중 1476~1500

교육 기관: Nicanor B

Aug 15, 2017

Excelent

교육 기관: JUAN C S P

Aug 21, 2020

Chevere

교육 기관: Yash S

Jan 30, 2020

Awesome

교육 기관: Debanjan D

Jul 06, 2020

great

교육 기관: Erick B

Feb 16, 2017

é bom

교육 기관: VISMI V

May 19, 2020

good

교육 기관: swapnil c

May 12, 2020

nice

교육 기관: test'"><test

May 17, 2018

asd

교육 기관: MD S M

Jun 16, 2020

9

교육 기관: José L D J

Oct 07, 2015

M

교육 기관: Dhwani R

Jul 07, 2020

Although I greatly enjoyed the teaching in Week 5 of this course, and that part of the course alone has boosted up my rating from a 2 star rating to a 3 star one, I felt like the concepts argued were far from introductory - perhaps even pedantic for someone who was not exposed to the methodology of philosophy beforehand. Examples such as aliens made out of wood, or harping on the tiny difference between the words 'comply' and 'obey' seemed to me at least an insufficient method of explaining concepts, and until I reached week 5 I felt I didn't gain insight into the course. That said, The review assignments were great and the faculty did for their part try to cover as many diverse domains in philosophy as possible in this short duration. The week 5 modules were particularly enjoyable as they seemed to be more relatable, and with more solid arguments that a beginner could grasp more easily. I am glad to have finished this course, but I hope these small issues could be fixed in further versions of the course.

교육 기관: Fernando B A

Jul 18, 2017

Very informative and interesting overall, I can certainly recommend it. Yet, the absence of loci to discuss ideas, asking questions, and sending feedback is a bit irritating. For example, I found an error in the tie-in book written for this course, yet found nowhere to report it. It was only through cross-checking the material that I was able to confirm it. I appreciated the selection of topics for this introduction, with the exception of the metaphysics lesson. Apparently, the time-travel thing was supposed to be a background idea to discuss metaphysical issues. However, it seems to have occupied almost the entirety of the discussion (fascinating as it may be). In that sense, it was a bit dislocated in the midst of the other lessons, which were broad outlines of major areas of contemporary philosophy. These are the two points that displeased me. I am not one for hot-headed discussions, but having nowhere to discuss complex ideas, in order to better understand them, made the experience poorer for me.

교육 기관: Eduardo V

Aug 16, 2015

It is a very entertaining broad introduction to the topic of philosophy in general. The lecturers are very knowledgeable and are very good teachers. However, I wish there would be a more detailed treatment of the topics in question. I look forward to their future course on Philosophy of Science, as I believe that by focusing on a more narrow topic, they will be able to go a bit more in depth.

교육 기관: Regina P Z

Aug 27, 2015

I found the course a little hard to follow mainly because the video lectures would not load. I found I spent more time trying to get the course material working than actually absorbing it.

I really liked the lectures once they were working though. Its a very nice introduction to a way of thinking and the examples used to argument the theories were very entertaining.

교육 기관: gcitroen

Aug 23, 2015

The way of presenting topics of philosophy is refreshing and inviting for further reflection. The tests however are focusing on nitty gritty differences or features in the presented videos. Less motivating to submit the tests and invites me to focus only on the preseed video and excellent links to other extra sources.

교육 기관: Monique S

May 13, 2017

i don't really care for different people doing this module but, i understand that there is a lot of information so it has to be broken up. Its kinda hard to keep up due to everyone's different styles. i had to actually print out the transcripts in order to understand certain topics or revise videos more than 3 times.

교육 기관: Madara u

Dec 04, 2016

This course teach you how important is to have philosophical mind.The overview of what philosophy is in the first lecture is awesome. In further lectures they go into tools of philosophy and major questions and arguments for them.But you have to read the hand outs and have to work yourself through the course.

교육 기관: Tiara L

Mar 05, 2018

A good overall (modular) introduction to Philosophy and worth completing, but it lacks a more complete development of any of the presented topics. Definitely worth watching the lectures, but in-depth independent work and thorough readings are a must if you want to get more out of this course.

교육 기관: July C S P

Mar 09, 2020

Los aportes de cada uno de los profesores es muy diferente, algunos de ellos tienen sesiones realmente interesantes y muy bien elaboradas, mientras que en otros las ideas son muy básicas y poco profundas, además de que no se hacen entender bien. Hacen falta las transcripciones en inglés.

교육 기관: Raúl B

Jan 02, 2016

The classes were pretty good, but the bibliography was not. The bibliography consists of encyclopedia's articles which are not necessarily written to a beginner. It is quite discouraging for someone starting with philosophy to read articles which lacks a pedagogic approach.

교육 기관: Alix R D

Nov 20, 2015

Interesante pero tal vez demasiado amplio para ser una introducción y por lo tanto demasiado general.

No capté el criterio de selección de los temas, y los temas presentados no eran los que esperaba.

Muy buenos los profesores, muy entusiastas de su materia.

교육 기관: ISHAN S

Jul 07, 2020

The ideas behind certain theories were explained but the basics of how to formulate an argument and checking its validity and soundness were not given. This is what I was expecting from and introductory course.

교육 기관: Syed N H

Dec 06, 2016

Too complicated for those who are new to philosophy. The basic concepts not very clearly explained. It seems that teachers had the assumption that students already had some previous knowledge of philosophy.

교육 기관: Vincent G

Apr 29, 2020

Contenido interesante y instructivo, bien presentado, con un pelín de humor y un buen orden. ¡Que pena que sea sólo con voces en inglés! Me cuesta mucho leerlo en español y luego tener preguntas en inglés.

교육 기관: Luisa B

Jul 08, 2020

Overall, I found the topics to be interesting, but many times the videos seemed boring as there is no coherence between the modules nor much depth as I expected into the philosophycal questions.