Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
8,272개의 평가
1,926개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG

2021년 4월 10일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,925개 리뷰 중 1626~1650

교육 기관: Piyathida C

2020년 5월 2일

I gain a lot of knowledge about philosophy through this course. Until I ask myself after finishing, do I really know anything? Or I didn't know anything at all? HAHAHA! GREAT COURSE! Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Shashank S

2020년 8월 8일

Great course! Explained the basic concepts of philosophy in an extremely clear way. My thanks to all the professors for the lectures and for everyone responsible for this course to be available.

교육 기관: Nishtha A

2020년 5월 10일

The course can be considered enriching and fulfilling for the curious soul. It can get monotonous at times but with firm determination one can gain a new sense of perception and thought from it.

교육 기관: Nymoom S

2020년 5월 16일

I enjoyed the course a bit. But in middle i got stuck for some lectures which were designed in a bit difficult way to understand. Otherwise the rest of the materials were great. Learnt a Lot!

교육 기관: Ming E L

2019년 12월 18일

Abstract thinking and questioning of what we do know versus what is unknown to us. There isn't precise answers to everything but the exploration is what matters. Think, think and think again.

교육 기관: Jonás H

2017년 5월 5일

Excelente curso y maestros, solo recomendar que hay videos que no están traducidos al español creo que son 3, y que los exámenes no estén en español afecta mucho el desempeño. Pero muy bien,

교육 기관: Divyadarshan c

2016년 1월 31일

It was very interesting and of great relevance to many aspect of my fields of interest. They even had a special lecture on the philosophy of time travel that was a cherry on top of the cake!

교육 기관: sophia

2020년 5월 18일

I really like the course and contents are very interesting, but tricky sometimes to understand. Unfortunately I've got to de enroll due to new work commitment but will try and rejoin later.

교육 기관: Alan A S

2016년 1월 14일

Very interesting but the video ended abruptly when I was expecting a question. There appears to be no link to the next part of the course. I would have found a facility to rewind helpful.

교육 기관: Rubin S

2017년 7월 8일

Super good course. The course gives a birds' eye view of philosophy, various substrata of thinking within the field and really gave me a deeper understanding of what philosophy is about.

교육 기관: Gervasio C

2020년 7월 31일

Interesting class, makes you think about possibilities which I would not have expected. Also, great course to force you to think critically and objectively about questions and issues.

교육 기관: Muhannad Z

2017년 6월 2일

I was not too much interested in Philosophy, but I really enjoyed some parts of this course. It has been conducted in a simple way with keeping the reach content. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Bruce F

2020년 7월 2일

Tremendously enjoyed presentations and content. Must say, organizational structure of course and modules were not always easy to follow. Would I recommend this course? Absolutely.

교육 기관: Christopher L

2016년 3월 30일

Very well done. Most of the instructors use introductory language and do not refer to advanced theories, philosophies, and philosophers with which students may not be familiar.

교육 기관: David E

2016년 4월 20일

The course material is mostly good if a bit basic at times. If the notes went a little more in depth, or the suggested resources were a little less bulky, it would be 5 stars.

교육 기관: Pedro A F G

2015년 9월 1일

Great material, greta program and greta discussion. I really enjoyed this class and learned a lot. I recommend this to any one who wants to be challenge out of "confort zone".

교육 기관: CHRISTOPHER K

2022년 2월 19일

Good introduction if you are thinking of studying Analytic philosophy but if your main interest is Continental Philosophy, then this course does not inlcude any introduction.

교육 기관: Luke P

2016년 9월 11일

Great introduction to Philosophy! I think the last couple of weeks could've been done a bit better as they're quite niche forms of philosophy but other than that it's great.

교육 기관: TOMAS C

2020년 9월 1일

Vale la pena , quienes no habiamos incursionado en este tema, nos da la posibilidad de aprender algo mas . Me siento satisfecho por haber realizado el curso introductorio.

교육 기관: Vanshaj G

2017년 2월 6일

Great course, it exposed me to quite a few ideas but i only felt that we could've gone deeper into the topics. For an introductory course, it was quite informative though!

교육 기관: Alex O

2018년 4월 24일

A very good introductory course for anyone. It should'nt stop just by completing it but by reviewing the content when needed. Thans a lt fot this course to all lecturers.

교육 기관: Genise W

2015년 9월 30일

Great job on this course!!. It honestly stretched my critical thinking and even frustrated me greatly. Glad to pass this !!! Highly recommended for critical thinkers !!

교육 기관: Mihaela D

2020년 9월 6일

An interesting course but I was expecting more references of classical philosophers. I really enjoyed Michella Massimi part, very attractive way of teaching.

Thank you!

교육 기관: Saurav P

2020년 4월 13일

Great introduction to a field i was quite clueless about but always fascinated with. Its given me a different perspective with which i can look at the world around me

교육 기관: 杨洋

2020년 2월 27일

It is a brief and useful class for learning the most basic yet also most important topics in philosophy area. And it also helps develop the critical way of thinking.