Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,964개의 평가
1,858개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
2021년 4월 10일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,849개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Peter B V

2015년 11월 30일

This was a most interesting short course which I found most useful as a "taster" to help me understand what philosophy was about. I especially liked the fact that we had a specialist tutor for each subject.

교육 기관: Athicha C

2017년 2월 3일

Great theories. Thoughtful. Many different perspective from philosophers on a topic. There are options of the course each week for your interest. Great explanation. Gain a lot of knowledge from this class.

교육 기관: Magdel C

2021년 9월 21일

Well spoken and knowledgable instructors, the course offers an interesting introduction into philosophy, without getting too technical on details. If asked about it I would recommed it without hesitation.

교육 기관: Gustavo S

2021년 5월 12일

I loved the course, it's pretty interesting and so well supported by additional readings, I was very interested in pursuing a career in philosophy and this course sums inspiration for achieving that goal.

교육 기관: Aditri B

2020년 1월 12일

I think this course works well as a broad introductory overview, and exposed me to a multitude of subfields of philosophy, effectively allowing me to figure out which aspects I'd like to explore further.

교육 기관: Seemin M

2015년 11월 1일

Excellent course. Well paced and very well explained. All the teachers have the ability to explain complex things in a simple way that is easy for a philosophy beginner to understand. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Amital P

2020년 9월 29일

Very interesting course that provides enough tools in order to understand the basics of the philosophical world. The tutors were very clear in their explanations and made much sense of what they meant.

교육 기관: Germán K

2019년 10월 23일

Es un curso que me permitió conocer otra manera de entender filosofía. Con buenos profesores abriendo el juego a las preguntas. Me gustó transitar ese camino por el conocimiento.

Saludos para todos

교육 기관: RISSER-MAROIX

2015년 9월 24일

Highly rated course.

For all people who think it is important to understand Life and for it to learn from nicer teachers and great philosophy trends. Thank you to Coursera and Edimburgh University.

교육 기관: HILLELA P

2020년 6월 22일

Thank you for this interesting course! I particularly liked the questions asked (both practice questions and quiz). It makes us think critically and not just stop with understanding the concepts.

교육 기관: nabha j

2020년 5월 20일

The professors of this course are exceptional! This course gives wonderful insights and encourages us to further explore the world of philosophy. I am very contented and happy I took this course.

교육 기관: Ấn P Đ L

2021년 10월 18일

G​ive all my thanks to the professors in Univerity of Edinburgh. I didn't realize I like Philosophy this much until I got into this course. I will continue learning and reading about Philosophy.

교육 기관: Leo T

2020년 7월 22일

This is a great course to start to learn about philosophy. It has truly made me think about many things and how my faith in God and the teaching of Jesus Christ is strengthened during the course

교육 기관: Jaime A

2020년 7월 17일

Excelente. Presenta un abanico de problemas de la filosofía. Pensar en ellos lleva a múltiples cuestiones que aun deben ser pensadas. Felicitaciones al equipo de docentes por tan excelente labor

교육 기관: Elena C H G

2020년 5월 14일

Clear, complete, rigorous, user friendly, open to different levels of engagement, great and wide extra materials and peer discussion, covers the Big Questions and the mains ways to focus them.

교육 기관: Cynthia S

2021년 4월 20일

As some things can be explained by science but our thoughts and feelings are based on the individual and sometimes the answers we seek may never be answered and this course has proven same.

교육 기관: Smailey B

2017년 2월 20일

Os professores e os materiais de suporte são ótimos. O tema reflete exatamente o nome do curso, tratando-se de questões introdutórias à filosofia. Foi um tempo muito bem investido. Recomendo.

교육 기관: Mahmood N

2017년 2월 4일

Actually I have enjoyed the course . I have learned about the problems were asked by previous philosophers and about how to think correctly by analyzing the prefaces to get logical results .

교육 기관: Nuno G

2020년 10월 12일

I really enjoyed this course. Proper use of time in videos, very good references, accessible language, clarity speech, interesting topics, coherence, I'm excited to get deep in the subject.

교육 기관: Enya F N

2020년 5월 17일

I feel so glad I have been able to finish! It hasn't been easy, but I have to say I loved this course, and I have recomended it to my friends, I feel so glad I had the opportunity to do it.

교육 기관: Horacio M C

2019년 2월 20일

Excelente Curso, el nivel es mucho mejor de lo que pensaba, me sera muy util, soy docente de filosofía y me permite incrementar mis recursos filosóficos en mi práctica docente, felicidades.

교육 기관: Jose R

2015년 8월 29일

Excellent introduction to the the discipline of philosophy. The professors are experts and very accessible in their presentation of complex ideas. I am very happy to have taken this course.

교육 기관: Maria F T

2017년 2월 14일

This was a very good introduction. Many important philosophical concepts are explored with very well thought out examples, and the quizzes really make you reflect on what you have learned.

교육 기관: Lorly P

2016년 10월 22일

it helps me a lot in my studies....

upon enrolling this online course it's a big help in my Philosophy subject here in my school. hope that you may continue to help more student like me.

교육 기관: Aparna R

2020년 11월 18일

The professors were excellent, especially those in Week 5 who spoke of time travel and free will. Overall, the course was wonderful and insightful and exceeded my expectations. Thank you!