Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
6,678개의 평가
1,559개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,546개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Pascal K

Jun 13, 2020

I highly enjoyed this course and the variety of professors that each explained their view and topic related to philosophy. Will recommend this course to ohers!

교육 기관: Maria

May 12, 2020

A very interesting approach - presents both obvious and interesting, niche topics and problems of philosophy, making this course appealing to a broad audience.

교육 기관: analia a

Nov 21, 2018

Muy buena introducción al pensamiento filosófico y además con ejemplos comunes para dar mejor entendimiento, deberían hacer cursos de cada corriente filosófica

교육 기관: Sara B

Sep 21, 2015

An excellent though-provoking introduction to several branches of Philosophy. You can tell the instructors love what they do - it makes it easy to love it too.

교육 기관: Khouloud A D

May 29, 2020

I can honestly say that this is one of thd best online courses I have taken so far. Thank you all for the huge effort you have made for the sake of knowledge.

교육 기관: L.R. L

Dec 31, 2018

I've found this course to be really interesting and thought provoking. The instructors explain the materials with reasonable precision and with good examples.

교육 기관: Leonardo A E L

Apr 02, 2016

Amazing course. I hope it can be extended to a more advanced level and I also hope the MOOC about philosophy and the sciences will be back soon. All the best

교육 기관: Poonyanuch L

May 31, 2020

I really love all the topics that are introduced here. They are very different from what I've learnt in the past. Learning this course is truly open my mind.

교육 기관: Azajul I N

Apr 05, 2020

This course is a Master of Philosophy. This online course is highly recommended for all the students who are interested in learning Philosophy. Just amazing.

교육 기관: FRANCISCO I D B

Aug 05, 2020

I really like the course. I learned so much about different aspect about philosophy.

I like the modality with different teachers with different specialities.

교육 기관: Walter M

Jun 07, 2020

Maravilloso curso!! Gracias a los profesores por hacer tan sencillo temas que leyendolos a traves de un libros suelen se inentedibles. SALUDOS CORDIALES!!!!

교육 기관: Wendy G

Apr 29, 2020

This was illuminating and fun. A great spectrum of questions to decide what I wanted to dig in to next. Very thoughtful lectures and explanations.

Thank you!

교육 기관: Claudia C

Dec 31, 2018

ES UN CURSO QUE PLANTEA EL DEBATE , EL CONOCIMIENTO Y LA INVESTIGACIÓN. ME GUSTA MUCHO Y SEGUIRÉ ESTUDIANDO EN ESTA PÁGINA.. MUCHAS GRACIAS!1

CLAUDIA COPPO

교육 기관: Laura D G

Feb 02, 2016

Fully satisfied with this course. Very good program and content, good videos, professional teachers... I really learned a lot. I recommend the course 100 %

교육 기관: Adam M

Nov 10, 2015

A smooth and engaging initiation into philosophical thinking with a practical path amid this world filled with so many semantics and distorting propaganda.

교육 기관: Gerard H

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent course. It gives in a very pleasant, well presented and clear way 7 essential topics of Philosophy which can be the base for further exploration.

교육 기관: Jiazhen T

Aug 26, 2015

I love the new way of thinking it introduced. It showed me how people have analyzed seemingly obvious concepts and help me to examine myself in retrospect.

교육 기관: David M

Aug 17, 2018

Very engaging and well presented course. I enjoyed the video sessions and learned a lot about subjects I had no prior knowledge or training of. Thank you!

교육 기관: akshay r

May 29, 2018

I've always been curious about philosophy and this course was a great way to get immersed in this field and get a sense of the mechanics of how it works..

교육 기관: Reward E

Oct 29, 2017

it's quite concise and simple to understand as philosophy can be simple. Now I see myself learning and expanding in a number of areas I have always wanted

교육 기관: Dorothy L M

Jan 27, 2016

Wonderful course! I especially enjoyed the Time Travel modules, as I am a huge science fiction fan. The instructors are informative and thought-provoking.

교육 기관: Margarita C

Jul 28, 2020

Me encantó este curso. Me ayudó a abrir mi pensamiento hacia e conocimiento y las preguntas existenciales que uno se plantea durante el paso por la vida.

교육 기관: Robin N M

Jun 12, 2020

It is great for people like me ,who watns to learn something about the actual problems of philosophy duscussions and to practice english at the same time

교육 기관: A. K M M I

May 17, 2020

Excellent course , well designed and organized. In such a short time we got so incredibly much from the highly enthusiastic, and knowledgeable teacher.

교육 기관: Thomas D

Feb 28, 2020

An excellent non-trivial but accessible introduction to philosophy presented by people who are both great at philosophy and at communicating its essence.