Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,892개의 평가
1,848개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
2021년 4월 10일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,842개 리뷰 중 426~450

교육 기관: Chui A

2017년 9월 18일

It is a nice course for those who are interested in philosophy , included me . From the week 1 , i had been learnt to think things on the right way ...

교육 기관: Cecilia M

2015년 9월 11일

It was very confusing some of the things for me, but I guess is just some topics are hard to understand thank you for this experience i learned a lot !

교육 기관: Jack W

2021년 8월 5일

B​rilliant introduction to many branches within philosophy with well laid out supra-curricular tasks at the end of each topic. Would highly reccomend.

교육 기관: Alistair W

2020년 8월 4일

An excellent reintroduction to this fascinating subject, which I last studied decades ago. This course was much more interesting than my previous one!

교육 기관: MD. A R D

2020년 7월 14일

It was an amazing and interesting journey. I had no idea about philosophy prior to this course. This course modules were easily described. It was fun.

교육 기관: Brian S

2020년 6월 26일

This class was exceptional! I have taken many MOOCs. This is the best that I have had. Fascinating material, excellent lectures... It is all here.

교육 기관: Marlon M

2018년 1월 25일

Very good course to have a general overview of the different philosophical disciplines, I invite its creators to subtitle it also for Spanish speakers

교육 기관: Alex H

2016년 10월 3일

This courses is a nice broad though light introduction to a series of current topics in Philosophy, introduced by philosopher focused in those topics.

교육 기관: Lama M

2017년 4월 13일

Loved this course very much. The professors truly allowed the student to understand the material fully with a great amount of quiz's and assignments.

교육 기관: Kyra R

2020년 10월 25일

I learned immensely. It was a great introduction to the famous philosophers I have been hearing about. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge.

교육 기관: Richard W

2020년 5월 9일

An absolutely fascinating course. The amount of stimulating information packaged in such short sections is incredible. It has really made me think!

교육 기관: Temchit C

2021년 10월 17일

The Best of "Introduction to Philosophy" non-credit online course! I've learned a lot of things! from Greek to Free Will and Time Travel. So funny!

교육 기관: Sandra W

2020년 8월 17일

A great course for improving your powers of logic and understanding through the critical examinatiion of many Philosophical Theories and Arguments.

교육 기관: Frank M N

2020년 3월 16일

Absolutely wonderful! a broad introduction into many questions of philosophy. An excellent thoughtful companion for corona quarantine! I want more!

교육 기관: Ednaldo C M G

2017년 8월 19일

Ótimo curso introdutório à Filosofia, pois apresenta de forma didática e, ao mesmo tempo, rigorosa, os protocolos de leitura crítica comuns à área.

교육 기관: Maxime H

2016년 12월 6일

Great Mooc, apprendre une partie de l'histoire de la philosophie que je n'ai pas encore etudier. Les professeurs sont intéressant et passionnant !

교육 기관: Faith D A

2020년 5월 18일

I will totally recommend the course to any one whose background in philosophy is lacking. And to anyone who wants to learn something interesting.

교육 기관: Lynne T

2020년 5월 10일

An absolutely excellent introductory course. Engaging and thoughtful facilitators and videos and well-structured assessments. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Marcelo R

2020년 1월 12일

This is the 1st MOOC I have ever completed! It has engaging lessons with interesting subjects. I have really enjoyed taking this course. Thanks!

교육 기관: Rahul K

2017년 8월 17일

Great introduction to the breadth of philosophy. A great place to poke around if your considering any sort of fundamental knowledge on philosophy

교육 기관: Zakiyya M

2016년 2월 28일

It took me a long time due to time limitation but happy to finish. I learned a lot and love to go back and listen to the lessons again and again.

교육 기관: eli e

2017년 8월 10일

Excellent program to introduce several contemporary themes of philosophy, with a broad perspective but at the same time accessible and rigorous.

교육 기관: Hamed K

2020년 12월 28일

Good materials to obtain some familiarity with basic discussions in Philosophy. Specially the Determinism vs. Libertarianism topic outstanding.

교육 기관: ARASH S S

2020년 12월 2일

As a scientist without any experience in Modern philosophy, it was really a helpful course, helping me refresh my mind and it's way of thinking