Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,844개의 평가
1,840개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
2021년 4월 10일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,833개 리뷰 중 551~575

교육 기관: Jonathan M

2020년 6월 12일

Great intro course with wide ranging topics. great for a foundation and springboard for further research and learning

교육 기관: Yahya K G

2020년 5월 24일

Amazing course. Nice materials and content. But some web links which are suggested for further reading are not valid.

교육 기관: Ralph R F

2019년 5월 20일

Simple and entertaining. The materials are well-thought of and presented in ways that are relevant to everyday lives.

교육 기관: Christi M

2018년 2월 23일

Excellent overview of some specializations within the field of philosophy. Summaries are presented in an engaging way

교육 기관: Jose R G F

2017년 9월 23일

Disfrute mucho profundizar en temas muy interesantes de la filosofia, disciplina de la cual soy fan hace muchos años.

교육 기관: Hemswaroop R

2021년 6월 29일

​It was a wonderful approach. Really widened my ideology. Would surely take one of these in the future at some point

교육 기관: Hargyo T N I

2020년 5월 23일

I feel so enlightened by this course. It is very recommended for those who want to start getting to know Philosophy.

교육 기관: Niyaz A G

2020년 5월 20일

It has been an excellent learning experience for me. The topics covered and the approach of teachers is appreciable.

교육 기관: Alberto d l F M

2019년 11월 21일

Interesantísima introducción a varios de los temas candentes en la Filosofía actual. Muy recomendable y disfrutable.

교육 기관: Sue L

2019년 10월 19일

it's my first finished course here. it's clearly, logical, helpful for me to learn language and philosophy knowledge

교육 기관: Theodore H

2018년 2월 12일

Very thought provoking and informative. A great 'introduction' to some fairly deep concepts. I very much enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Valéry B

2017년 5월 6일

Superb. A great introduction to many concepts. The Free Will and time travel on week 5 are fascinating.

Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Bheki L

2020년 9월 9일

The course dealt with questions that we grapple with on a daily basis. I found it very enlightening and empowering.

교육 기관: Fahmi A S

2020년 5월 29일

It give us very basic concept of philosophy, even everyone who doesn't study deep in philosophy can join this class

교육 기관: David L B

2020년 5월 25일

Really brilliant. Thanks to everyone involved. Looking forward to reading the Philosophy for everyone book.

Cheers!

교육 기관: Paula M

2019년 3월 8일

Great introduction! covers a great deal of information and gives you enough resources to keep learning on your own.

교육 기관: Kathryn B

2016년 8월 7일

I thought that this course was a very good introduction. It gave brief glimpses into different kinds of philosophy.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2015년 8월 24일

Good introduction to Philosophy. Course length is appropriate and assignments are at the right level of difficulty.

교육 기관: Brian J G G

2020년 11월 9일

I really loved it!!!! It shows you different and interesting points of view about things in life. Thank you a lot.

교육 기관: Saqib

2020년 5월 2일

I really enjoyed the course. All the instructors were great. Would love to be able to meet them in person one day.

교육 기관: Asuman A B

2020년 11월 19일

I especially enjoyed the last week's course on Time Travel. It has been such an intriguing experience, thank you!

교육 기관: Ivania E D

2020년 5월 23일

I like this course very much because i learned about a lot of themes around the big theme which is the philosophy

교육 기관: Hemanga

2017년 4월 21일

Great course.

Great to the starting philosopher. And anyone who wants to learn a bit more about how we all think!

교육 기관: Philip M

2016년 2월 25일

This is an enjoyable course that covers a few of the basic ideas in philosophy and how to think philosophically.

교육 기관: Joel P

2021년 9월 17일

I loved it, thought-provoking and very well laid out, and easy to follow while presenting hard questions! 10/10