Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
6,456개의 평가
1,513개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,496개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Tarang B

Jul 07, 2017

It is an enriching experience. This was my first ever attempt in understanding certain nuances of philosophy. The course got my mind blown as it changed my way of looking at things. Before taking this course, I had assumed certain things to be too obvious to be true. The array of examples and schools of different thoughts assimilated in the videos have made the whole learning experience more edifying. I don't know how much of this knowledge will I be able to retain. Initially, I had doubts over taking this course as I had no clue of what it will unfold but turns out that it was a correct decision. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to everyone behind this course.

교육 기관: Wiktor

Jun 29, 2020

If you are going to study philosophy online , do google" Coursera " platform and pick up "Introduction to philosophy " course .As a senior teacher of humanistic subjects at one of the best lycees in Poland I have to express my gratitude and thanks to the lecturers and workers of University of Edinburgh for their thorough expertise , the high level of professionalism and total dedication. Studying at University of Edinburgh has been a delightful experience.I do hope I will continue to pick up postgraduate studies over there. So please , do not hesitate to pursue your education with the fantastic team of excellent philosophers inEdinburgh.

교육 기관: Ed H

Oct 24, 2019

Es un curso que pone retos para explicar el como suceden las cosas, para comprender que de alguna forma estamos predeterminados en algunas acciones y circunstancias y que, si tenemos libre alvedrio o si somos los que elegimos de acuerdo a nuestras condiciones personales, podemos ser o no moralmente responsables de nuestras acciones.

Gracias a los brillantes expositores -filósofos de alto nivel- que en la argumentación de sus clases, despiertan en uno como participante de este curso, la inquietud de seguir profundizando en la búsqueda de la verdad a través del estudio de la Filosofía

Mil felicitaciones y un millon de gracias....!

교육 기관: Barbara M

Feb 26, 2016

I have really enjoyed this course and it has motivated me to learn more. I particularly liked the course as it showed us philosophy itself rather than a reiterated history of philosophy which is usual. It gave us hands on experience of problems and questions being asked.

The accompanying book has also been of great value to me. It enabled me to read the lectures before listening to them and will be a useful handbook to keep me in touch with the issues covered. The questions and further reading at the end of each chapter is also of great value to me.

A big thank you to all the team. I have been totally absorbed by the course.

교육 기관: Matthew S

Aug 29, 2015

I found this course immensely mentally stimulating, and tailored well to those of us who are new to philosophy. I found the weeks that covered the philosophy of mind and the philosophy of time-travel to be particularly engaging and mind-expanding for me. I feel like this course has really opened the door to help me further explore in more depth the philosophical ideas that it provided me a guided introduction to. I would love to see other, more specialized philosophy courses offered on Coursera that cover the topics discussed in week 3, week 4, week 5, week 6 and week 7 individually in more depth in separate courses!

교육 기관: Vern

Aug 19, 2017

This course provides a good and solid foundation for understanding what philosophy is, how it works, why we should philosophise, and, some of the major questions that philosophy continues to analyse today.

My main interests in philosophy would be: the philosophy of Science and the philosophy of Religion. I'd like to learn why we believe what we believe.

I'd recommend this course to anyone that seeks to understand what is philosophy and how we do philosophy.

Thanks to The University of Edinburgh, to Coursera, the professors, and all those who made this course available free of charge.

Cheers.

교육 기관: Irving M G

Aug 22, 2020

ME PARECIÓ EXTRAORDINARIO EL MODO DE ENSEÑAR DE ESTE CURSO. SUS PROFESORES EXCELENTES. ALGUNAS PREGUNTAS DE LOS EXAMENES DEBERÍAN EXPRESAR MEJOR QUE PUEDEN SER VARIAS OPCIONES EN VEZ DE SOLO UNA OPCIÓN, NO SIEMPRE PUDE ADVERTIRLO, ASUMO QUE QUIZÁ ME FALTA EXPERIENCIA EN ESTE MODELO SISTEMA EDUCATIVO A DISTANCIA.

INTENTARÉ PROBAR ALGO PARECIDO CON MIS ALUMNOS DE LA UNIVERSIDAD MONTEAVILA (CARACAS, VENEZUELA), EN LA MATERIA DE ETICA PARA ABOGADOS, YA QUE NO ES POSIBLE POR AHORA DAR CLASES PRESENCIALES. SIN LUGAR A DUDAS QUE TOMARÍA OTRO CURSO CON USTEDES. LO RECOMIENDO AMPLIAMENTE

교육 기관: Maya S

Jun 17, 2018

I took this course purely out of self-interest, because as a college student pursuing an engineering degree, my subjects tend to be more technical oriented, and a tab bit dry. This entire course, from start to finish, was nothing short of amazing. Each teacher taught their material with vigorous passion, and the topics covered were both interesting and educative. They were thoroughly explained but easy to understand, and overall, I would, with complete and utter certainty, do a course by this University again in a heartbeat. Thank you to all the teachers, for being so passionate.

교육 기관: Rhitansu G

May 06, 2017

I really needed answers to some questions about life about equality, justice, empathy, morality, etc. After finishing this course I still do not have the answers, but I feel I am in a better position to read and think more about these questions. These questions are not just for academic interest. I feel it is difficult to along in life without some answers about these fundamental aspects of our day to day life. Philosophy should be a part of our school curriculum. I really appreciate the way it has been taught in this course and the dedication of the teachers to their subject.

교육 기관: Leyla G

Nov 06, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed taking part in this course. The modules covered a multitude of diverse branches of philosophy which helped me to broaden my knowledge of the subject overall and the lecturers were incredibly helpful in explaining simply, and with useful examples, new information. The course has further deepened my love for the subject and the platforms of assessment were challenging, but did not feel labourly. I would without a doubt recommend anybody, regardless of former experience of the subject, to partake in this course and I am highly glad to have had the experience.

교육 기관: Surya N D

Jul 02, 2020

I am a novice to philosophy and concepts of it but I was always intrigued by philosophy although I viewed it as something abstract, undefinable in definite terms unlike science and engineering that years of education and experience ingrained in me. This course has cleared many of my misgivings and gave a solid foundation of introduction to philosophy and has piqued my interest to pursue this further, now more as a subject of interest than a curious hobby. Thanks to the exceptional videos put together by a gifted faculty. Kudos to Coursera and the University of Edinburgh.

교육 기관: Marly O B S

Jun 30, 2020

My name is Marly Balderrama, I am a Licenciatura student of Letras-Portugues here in São Paulo. This was my first contact with PHILOSOPHY, I am delighted with the Course. I thought it was difficult for me, and it was. I had to read and warm my brain to understand, understand many teachings that our mind is not aware of the details of life. Only by studying Philosophy that, with this discipline and through its definitions, defined and indefinite, concrete or abstract, allowed me to enter this concept of really studying everything in this life. You know what, I loved it.

교육 기관: Marius R

Jun 16, 2020

It was my very first course in Philosophy. Although my background is on electromagnetism and its application to various computer-based designs this course strengthened my view on social life and changed my way of looking at things are not yet revealed by science. Navigating through the concepts of philosophy from notions related to epistemology to concepts related to mind and free will intrigued my curiosity and spirit of continuous learning, by projecting myself to the reality I always sensed it and experienced it but never consciously acknowledged its source.

교육 기관: Yuki K S N

Jul 16, 2020

I've always loved Philosophy and thinking how to think/thinking as a whole. On top of that, in my real-life university, I double major in something else, so I don't have enough credits to take Philosophy on as a minor or a major. I'm so glad I have a chance like this to take on such a broad range of topics. This module is very, very ideal for those new to Philosophy, especially since it essentially functions as an exposure mod as you enter Philo with a broad range of topics. You can essentially choose what you're interested in to go more in-depth with it.

교육 기관: Alexandra C D

Jan 28, 2016

A nice and flexible course, in which you can explore the wide range of possibilities from the minimum basic level of subject to studying all the additional material and problematics. Rather interesting functional approach to the structure of philosophical knowledge. For the foreigners (as I am) the English is quite understandable (It is subtitled, but the subtitles are not necessary if you are above B2 / IELTS 7.0 level) and at the same time sufficiently sophisticated to acquire also some useful listening practice for academic IELTS / PTE Academic tests.

교육 기관: Mikhail R

Sep 03, 2015

Amazing introduction to the basics of philosophy - I wish I had such in university or at some other early point. It shows you breadth, scope and problems philosophy deals with. Course tries to maintain simplicity and clarity of explanations even for very complex things and this is exactly what you need for a subject which is normally deemed too complex for beginners or gives an explanations which for uninitiated do not add clarity and rather raise even more questions.

Loads of fun and topics which may make you think more and induce your curiosity.

교육 기관: Mohammad S S

Jun 30, 2020

This is by far the best course i've taken online . As a student of science I've always found philosophy to be very compelling . I was always interested in philosophy but I didn't want to change disciplines . I didn't have high expectations of this course but at the end I really got impressed of the amount of knowledge I'd accumulated along the way. This course touches on lots of subjects and teaches lots of valuable philosophical materials . This course improved my insight and fueled my interest for philosophy .I recommend this to everyone .

교육 기관: Altaf R

Mar 06, 2018

I must say its a wonderfully helpful short course for beginners. The best thing about this course to my understanding is that:

Its made easy for all those who want to study philosophy

Its modules are well wittingly selected to make such an enticing introductory course for all those who have rather a cynical opinion about philosophy as science or subject

and the free access to those reading materials and websites

I enjoyed truly every bit and parts of the this introduction to philosophy by the institute for which I will be evergrateful.

교육 기관: Sahir H

Apr 29, 2020

Great packed course talking about basics. The supplementary reading was really helpful in detailing out the concepts. The topic is something that is not taught as a regular course ins school or college and hence a lot of us have skipped it. I would urge a bunch of us to try the course. The university faculty did a good compilation on every topic.

I do have a couple of feedbacks. One is around discussing moral ethics in slightly more details. The other one interesting pedagogy would be to have open discussions around topical issues.

교육 기관: Sascha R

Aug 21, 2015

Great course to introduce non-professionals/beginners into major fields or topics of philosophy. Excellent quality of lessons: teachers were always good to understand, even for non-native speakers, and eager to get across main themes to disciples inexperienced in philosophical studies. Only critique: difficulty levels of exams could have been more evenly balanced.

I can only recommend this course to anyone interested in the study of philosophy; great job by the University of Edinburgh and its staff for organizing this on Coursera.

교육 기관: Antonio A

Dec 14, 2019

I loved the course, I've been reading, for many years, about economics, models of economics, Marx, Mises, Hegel, Hayek, anyway, suddenly, unintentionally I watched a documentary of classical Greek philosophy and began to think differently about of things; I started reading about moral philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, theory of knowledge, in short, I decided to make the course and I see it as a beginning to continue preparing in philosophy. As an academic, I have changed the focus of my classes in college.

교육 기관: Dan P

May 05, 2020

Having some unexpected time on my hands, I took the opportunity to explore a subject that I have had no previous experience of. I found this course liberating and took to it enthusiastically. Having spent over 40 years outside of the academic environment some of the concepts took some effort to understand, but the additional reading material helped to provide further clarity. I now find that I am thinking more clearly on most aspects of my life and would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to challenge themselves.

교육 기관: PACO S M

Mar 29, 2020

Thank you for putting together the information that kept me learning and away from the Corona Virus madness. I thoroughly enjoyed every lecturer and thank the Philosophy Department in Edinburgh for providing me the opportunity to listen and see you in my monitor. At 54 years old, your blessings have enlightened my way of thinking, and certainly today I might say, I have risen my level to what the first lecture establishes: Philosophy is a better way of thinking about things.... Gratefully yours, Francisco San Miguel

교육 기관: Gianfranco D

Feb 23, 2020

I've found this course interesting and engaging, as well as its lecturers. What I've appreciated most is the way as the course has been developed; questions for every single part of the lesson help the learner to reflect if the bulk of what you heard has been well understood; it's like when at school you raise your hand asking an explanation. In my opinion, I'd increase these moments of reflexion. Tests at the end of every single week allow the students to deepen into the topic. Congratulations to all.

교육 기관: Amit R

Mar 19, 2020

There is a lot in the Indian Philosophy but it revolves around existence of God. Provided we accept this, the other dimensions of thoughts in Philosophy, should be added in the course content. The different theories are nonetheless very abstract ideas, at least from point of view of a person who generally studies technology, like me. So I think that must also be studied and added in the course content. The course was really enjoyable and enlightening. Thanks coursera and all professors. Thanks again.