학생용
Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,270개의 평가
1,696개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
2015년 10월 7일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,679개 리뷰 중 1626~1650

교육 기관: ISHAN S

2020년 7월 7일

The ideas behind certain theories were explained but the basics of how to formulate an argument and checking its validity and soundness were not given. This is what I was expecting from and introductory course.

교육 기관: Syed N H

2016년 12월 5일

Too complicated for those who are new to philosophy. The basic concepts not very clearly explained. It seems that teachers had the assumption that students already had some previous knowledge of philosophy.

교육 기관: Vincent G

2020년 4월 29일

Contenido interesante y instructivo, bien presentado, con un pelín de humor y un buen orden. ¡Que pena que sea sólo con voces en inglés! Me cuesta mucho leerlo en español y luego tener preguntas en inglés.

교육 기관: Luisa B

2020년 7월 7일

Overall, I found the topics to be interesting, but many times the videos seemed boring as there is no coherence between the modules nor much depth as I expected into the philosophycal questions.

교육 기관: İlker G

2015년 9월 7일

The course does not have much videos and some of the lecturers (especailly week 5) talk TOO FAST. The subject is abstract and hard enough and talking too fast makes it harder.

교육 기관: Renan C C

2017년 10월 24일

Great topics and teachers! The tests could be a little more exigent, I guess, nevertheless, it's a well built and interesting course open to anyone!

교육 기관: Julia Z

2018년 2월 24일

The first couple of tutors sounded interested in what they were doing and like they knew what they were saying. The rest didn't.

교육 기관: DJ

2018년 5월 13일

As an introductory course this was sufficient and provided an excellent insight into the numerous areas of philosophy.

교육 기관: Manoj J

2016년 1월 24일

I have a mixed feeling about it. Sometimes I felt, this course was trying to deliver more content in short time.

교육 기관: James D

2016년 3월 30일

Some brilliant videos, but some leave much to be desired. Nice introduction but don't get too hung up on it.

교육 기관: Tsering S

2017년 1월 19일

There were a number of different instructors and it was great to have a taste of varying topics from them.

교육 기관: Jasmine F

2020년 9월 17일

Interesting topics. By the way, the university’s logo on the certificate is not printed correctly.

교육 기관: Ilan M

2017년 7월 7일

The course gives you a basic introduction to various topics in Philosophy, but lacked depth.

교육 기관: Nils A

2018년 6월 3일

The Audio recording quality of certain videos literally gave me headaches, had to skip them

교육 기관: Kyu K K

2020년 7월 1일

The lecture is short and very informative. It is a good course. I strongly recommend it.

교육 기관: Ellenoor S

2020년 6월 2일

I liked the course topics but some of the instructors were less captivating than others

교육 기관: Sarthak N

2020년 6월 19일

It is a good course and I loved it. But sometimes it seemed boring in few modules.

교육 기관: Federico

2016년 2월 11일

The course was interesting but overall very wide and didn't make a clear point.

교육 기관: Kassie-Anne K

2020년 5월 1일

It was a really enjoyable and deep course. I've got a lot to think about

교육 기관: Milly C

2016년 3월 7일

An interesting overview, but I wish it had been a bit more rigorous.

교육 기관: Hamza A

2020년 9월 10일

Very good but it threw less light on science elated philosophy

교육 기관: Estefanía A C

2017년 6월 9일

no se enfoca tanto en que es la filosofía, se va de las ramas

교육 기관: brian d f

2019년 12월 20일

Very basic with muddled explanations and weak examples.

교육 기관: Umair A

2020년 5월 2일

Difficult to understand but interesting