Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
8,259개의 평가
1,925개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

2015년 10월 7일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,924개 리뷰 중 1826~1850

교육 기관: Abhishek D P

2020년 5월 3일

Good content

교육 기관: Krishna K

2019년 8월 6일

Great course

교육 기관: Bishal D

2020년 9월 21일

It was goos

교육 기관: Abhishek M

2020년 8월 14일

It is okaay

교육 기관: Sunil K M

2022년 3월 14일

The best!

교육 기관: Josué M

2020년 6월 6일

very good

교육 기관: soumik g

2020년 5월 21일

Very good

교육 기관: Luis E E

2018년 11월 24일

excelent

교육 기관: Nicanor B

2017년 8월 15일

Excelent

교육 기관: Anisha R

2021년 4월 4일

AWESOME

교육 기관: MD I H

2021년 2월 6일

not bad

교육 기관: JUAN C S P

2020년 8월 21일

Chevere

교육 기관: Yash S

2020년 1월 29일

Awesome

교육 기관: Niranjana.C

2021년 6월 11일

g​ood

교육 기관: Debanjan D

2020년 7월 6일

great

교육 기관: Erick J S B

2017년 2월 16일

é bom

교육 기관: Bibhim m s

2021년 5월 30일

NICE

교육 기관: Indranil S

2021년 2월 12일

good

교육 기관: VISMI V

2020년 5월 19일

good

교육 기관: swapnil c

2020년 5월 12일

nice

교육 기관: test'"><test

2018년 5월 17일

asd

교육 기관: Md S M

2020년 6월 16일

9

교육 기관: José L D J

2015년 10월 6일

M

교육 기관: Dhwani R

2020년 7월 7일

Although I greatly enjoyed the teaching in Week 5 of this course, and that part of the course alone has boosted up my rating from a 2 star rating to a 3 star one, I felt like the concepts argued were far from introductory - perhaps even pedantic for someone who was not exposed to the methodology of philosophy beforehand. Examples such as aliens made out of wood, or harping on the tiny difference between the words 'comply' and 'obey' seemed to me at least an insufficient method of explaining concepts, and until I reached week 5 I felt I didn't gain insight into the course. That said, The review assignments were great and the faculty did for their part try to cover as many diverse domains in philosophy as possible in this short duration. The week 5 modules were particularly enjoyable as they seemed to be more relatable, and with more solid arguments that a beginner could grasp more easily. I am glad to have finished this course, but I hope these small issues could be fixed in further versions of the course.

교육 기관: Hrish

2022년 1월 23일

T​his could have been a very enjoyable and intriguing course. However, the difference in teaching styles between the weekly modules makes it hard to understand some of the topics. For example, I found the first week to be very engaging but cannot say the same about Week 3 (Should You Believe What You Hear?)​

All the instructors are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, but some talk too fast and could have explained some of the harder to understand topics better. Also, the forums don't seem to be visited by the instructors any longer. The modules themselves also seem to be have been reorganized from a previous version so some modules in the 4th week for example refer to the wrong week.