Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
stars
3,925개의 평가
886개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 872개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: David M

Aug 17, 2018

Very engaging and well presented course. I enjoyed the video sessions and learned a lot about subjects I had no prior knowledge or training of. Thank you!

교육 기관: akshay r

May 29, 2018

I've always been curious about philosophy and this course was a great way to get immersed in this field and get a sense of the mechanics of how it works..

교육 기관: Reward E

Oct 29, 2017

it's quite concise and simple to understand as philosophy can be simple. Now I see myself learning and expanding in a number of areas I have always wanted

교육 기관: Dorothy L M

Jan 27, 2016

Wonderful course! I especially enjoyed the Time Travel modules, as I am a huge science fiction fan. The instructors are informative and thought-provoking.

교육 기관: Jakub H

Aug 31, 2015

Very interesting view to basics of Philosophy. Philosophy topics has in my opinion very modern concept. I like the attitude and enthusiasm of lecturers.

교육 기관: Carlos E G Z

Feb 21, 2019

A very great course. Well explained, full of useful material, readings and discussion.

Now I love Philosophy.

See you in next course.

Just amazing.

Thanks.

교육 기관: Chui A

Sep 18, 2017

It is a nice course for those who are interested in philosophy , included me . From the week 1 , i had been learnt to think things on the right way ...

교육 기관: Cecilia M

Sep 12, 2015

It was very confusing some of the things for me, but I guess is just some topics are hard to understand thank you for this experience i learned a lot !

교육 기관: Marlon M

Jan 25, 2018

Very good course to have a general overview of the different philosophical disciplines, I invite its creators to subtitle it also for Spanish speakers

교육 기관: Alex H

Oct 03, 2016

This courses is a nice broad though light introduction to a series of current topics in Philosophy, introduced by philosopher focused in those topics.

교육 기관: Lama M

Apr 14, 2017

Loved this course very much. The professors truly allowed the student to understand the material fully with a great amount of quiz's and assignments.

교육 기관: Ednaldo C M G

Aug 19, 2017

Ótimo curso introdutório à Filosofia, pois apresenta de forma didática e, ao mesmo tempo, rigorosa, os protocolos de leitura crítica comuns à área.

교육 기관: Maxime H

Dec 07, 2016

Great Mooc, apprendre une partie de l'histoire de la philosophie que je n'ai pas encore etudier. Les professeurs sont intéressant et passionnant !

교육 기관: Marcelo R C

Jan 12, 2020

This is the 1st MOOC I have ever completed! It has engaging lessons with interesting subjects. I have really enjoyed taking this course. Thanks!

교육 기관: Rahul K

Aug 17, 2017

Great introduction to the breadth of philosophy. A great place to poke around if your considering any sort of fundamental knowledge on philosophy

교육 기관: Zakiyya M

Feb 28, 2016

It took me a long time due to time limitation but happy to finish. I learned a lot and love to go back and listen to the lessons again and again.

교육 기관: Eliud V H V

Aug 10, 2017

Excellent program to introduce several contemporary themes of philosophy, with a broad perspective but at the same time accessible and rigorous.

교육 기관: Phil W

Jul 11, 2019

A very good introduction. It gave me a good overview of the range of the subject and allowed me to see where I want to go with my studies next.

교육 기관: Patrick K

Jan 12, 2016

Great presentation of the history of philosophical thinking with a focus on how to find your way through competing and contradictory arguments.

교육 기관: Alax K J

Sep 18, 2015

I am learning a lot in the course and it's kind of interesting seeing the logic behind how we think, what we think, and how we perceive others.

교육 기관: Tamia B M

Aug 03, 2016

Great for Philosophy beginners, but it does require a lot a alone reflection in order to apprehend the concepts. Give it an enthusiastic shot.

교육 기관: Henrique N

Jun 19, 2016

A good introduction to philosophy. Also a life changing experience to start think the whys of everything you do. I recommend this to everyone.

교육 기관: Sadie P

Feb 15, 2016

This course is excellent! The instructors are very interesting, the topics covered are fun to learn, and the course format is very manageable.

교육 기관: Daniel V

Oct 26, 2015

After years of technical readings, this course was a breath of fresh air for me.

I absolutely loved all the subjects that this course offered!

교육 기관: Maruf L

Jul 23, 2019

I have really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot of stuff.. I really appreciate the guys, and thanks for putting this introduction together