Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
4,054개의 평가
919개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 907개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Rahul K

Aug 17, 2017

Great introduction to the breadth of philosophy. A great place to poke around if your considering any sort of fundamental knowledge on philosophy

교육 기관: Zakiyya M

Feb 28, 2016

It took me a long time due to time limitation but happy to finish. I learned a lot and love to go back and listen to the lessons again and again.

교육 기관: Eliud V H V

Aug 10, 2017

Excellent program to introduce several contemporary themes of philosophy, with a broad perspective but at the same time accessible and rigorous.

교육 기관: Phil W

Jul 11, 2019

A very good introduction. It gave me a good overview of the range of the subject and allowed me to see where I want to go with my studies next.

교육 기관: Patrick K

Jan 12, 2016

Great presentation of the history of philosophical thinking with a focus on how to find your way through competing and contradictory arguments.

교육 기관: Alax K J

Sep 18, 2015

I am learning a lot in the course and it's kind of interesting seeing the logic behind how we think, what we think, and how we perceive others.

교육 기관: Tamia B M

Aug 03, 2016

Great for Philosophy beginners, but it does require a lot a alone reflection in order to apprehend the concepts. Give it an enthusiastic shot.

교육 기관: Henrique N

Jun 19, 2016

A good introduction to philosophy. Also a life changing experience to start think the whys of everything you do. I recommend this to everyone.

교육 기관: Sadie P

Feb 15, 2016

This course is excellent! The instructors are very interesting, the topics covered are fun to learn, and the course format is very manageable.

교육 기관: Daniel V

Oct 26, 2015

After years of technical readings, this course was a breath of fresh air for me.

I absolutely loved all the subjects that this course offered!

교육 기관: Maruf L

Jul 23, 2019

I have really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot of stuff.. I really appreciate the guys, and thanks for putting this introduction together

교육 기관: Dinesh K

Oct 23, 2017

Beautiful thought provoking course that introduces several topics in philosophy. Highly recommended for people beginning to learn philosophy.

교육 기관: XiuWen B

Jun 26, 2016

very interesting course, it provides several question and relative theory in history. And it would make you to think. So i like this course.

교육 기관: Thomas J

Jan 18, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. It gives a good basic insight in philosophical thinking and the main topics. Good basis for further learning.

교육 기관: Dina W

Jan 06, 2020

It was very interesting and the lecturers delivered each lesson very well. I learned a great deal and enjoyed it very much. Thank You..

교육 기관: Elisa R G

Nov 04, 2016

Very well presented and structured course. I found the subjects to be deeply interesting and it stimulated my thinking. Food for the mind.

교육 기관: Vladislav L

Sep 29, 2016

I would suggest this really very good introductory course as a starting point to everyone interested in different philosophical questions.

교육 기관: howardavery

Feb 03, 2016

Really helpful and gives me the overall idea of what philosophy is! I even applied for university of Edinburgh after taking this course.

교육 기관: Alma G A R

Nov 27, 2015

Las lecciones son muy claras y abarcan los temas de manera suficiente, además dan las herramientas para continuar el estudio. Excelente.

교육 기관: Guo R

Sep 15, 2015

Very good course with interesting cases and different theories. And also a very good opportunity to think and learn the way of thinking.

교육 기관: agustin E

Nov 15, 2017

Excelente! Muy recomendable entretenido y audaz. Algunos videos no tienen traduccion pero con un poco de audacia se puede resolver.

교육 기관: Joel Z

Mar 18, 2017

Gives a very brief and intelligible introduction to philosophy. The course eliminates the need for previous experience with the subject

교육 기관: Aleh-rodriguez@hotmail.com

Oct 09, 2016

The Teacher´s are amazing, the help material is very completed.

I very happy for this course.

Thanks by share your knowledge with us.

교육 기관: GERMAN C M

Jun 01, 2016

Excelente curso que nos permite conocer realmente el significado de la Filosofía y su importancia en el mundo en el que interactuamos.

교육 기관: Michalina G

Feb 28, 2016

Great course not only for those interested in philosophy, but also for the ones skeptical about its importance. Beginner - friendly :)